Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Multidimensional Bull Slaughter

by JNyknn - Jam Entry

Multidimensional Bull Slaughter is a game where you slaughter bulls to keep the balance up (don't ask). Unfortunately there are bulls from two different dimensions/worlds, so you have to change the dimension repeatedly if you want to slaughter 'em all! If you miss a bull, the balance will go down and eventually you will die. Creepy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#128Humor(Jam)3.24
#214Fun(Jam)3.33
#243Graphics(Jam)3.72
#366Overall(Jam)3.25
#390Innovation(Jam)3.02
#401Audio(Jam)3.00
#426Theme(Jam)3.07
#473Mood(Jam)2.93

Comments

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31am

I liked it quite a lot, it's funny without much text, and quick to learn (but actually quite hard).

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Great graphics and idea ;D... Except so much killing and blood ;<. Anyway, quite difficult and tricky ;p

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01pm

This is fun once you get the hang of it! Nice game!

kidanger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Fun game with nice graphics. Bulls are a bit too fast for me!

polyboxgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Haha, this is hilariously awesome.

reidrac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09pm

I won't ask!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Woah the switching weapon thing was hard to catch... but I liked the idea :D

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Hell, it's getting hard pretty quickly :) Nice job!

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:10pm

So innovative mechanics!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:40am

I suspect you preferred the day and night theme from the voting eh?

Damn this is actually difficult! But strangely compelling... sweet!

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Cool game! But hard. It's a memory game more than anything as it is now. Remembering which button holds which weapon. Perhaps making that more visual would make this easier to pick up.

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Great game. Switching between worlds took a bit too long in my opinion. But really fun when you get the hang of it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Didn't load for me (chrome, mac)

sputnik says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Nice idea and funny. A bit hard though.

Shmarah says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:09pm

I love the pixel art in this game! :)

runvs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Great Game! At first it feels kind of rushed and an easier learningcurve (perhaps unlock different enemies with time) but after i figured the controls its really funny!

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:15am

Great entry. difficult and/but frustrating in a good way

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Good game, it IS multidimensional, but it took me a while to learn which key controls which weapon, and I always ended up mixing them up.

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

Nice simple game! Like the pixel art.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:43am

That was fun, I liked the simple learning curve. This game would work nicely on the app market.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:12am

I like the cow evolution with the level increase funny and challenging.

I don't know how people play but in WASD configuration, I usually place three fingers on ASD, the fact that you use W to switch world require to use one of the three attack finger, which reduces a lot the comfort. Switching by using the space bar can increase the velocity of action hence the fun.

leafarz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:31pm

i liked the game. you need to get a hang of it but it was hard for me the first time i tried the game. well it was hard all throughout :))
nice game! good job!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Fun but REALLY hard! Graphics are awesome and loved the level of polish (particles, sfx, etc). Controls were a bit tricky for me because I'm used to WASD for movement but didn't tamper the experience.
Good job!

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:35am

When I saw "ASD" in the instruction screen, I realised that it was made for a qwerty keyboard. So I pressed alt+shift to switch my keyboard mapping, and BAM! i was in the game (despite the "press enter to play". Minor thing, I know, but still.

Nice game overall. The difficulty might be a bit too much at start, but it's okay.

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Just crazy game! Reminded me diablo2 - secret level :)

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Did much much better the second time. The extra-fast bulls were too much, though. Neat game!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:14am

A very difficult game, only for those with good hand-eye coordination (not me!). Nice graphics and concept. Good job!

Bronaldplo says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Really hard, but cool game tho.
Nice idea and art

klianc09 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Really fun game. Like the art and sound effects. And the fact that you have to slaughter bulls... for whatever reason.
But the controls...
Switching dimensions shouldn't be on W, but rather on Space or maybe right arrow key, so that you don't have to move your fingers from the keys all the time, which slows you down.
And I would really suggest displaying the three actions for the tree buttons on screen. You could still add a hard mode where you don't display them, but for the beginning it's a must.

defacid says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Great execution of the theme! I played it until I got a... decent hang of it! :P

I do have one note though: The dimension switching should be on a different key - it messes up my flow to have to move my fingers up when there are easily accessible keys like shift or space.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]