Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Darkness

by kevinAlbs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS
=======

WASD to move/jump
R to restart
Click to shoot


Updates
=====

12:00am Aug 25th
Thanks for all the feedback. To those who've mentioned it's difficulty, if you cannot get through the ascension part you can skip directly to the boss fight here http://kevinalbs.com/darkness/#boss
It is more relevant to the theme, and you can see everybody's names!

8:14pm Aug 26th
kdunee - Good spot. I noticed this as well and should be rolling out a fix for this
Sounds will be coming out on the next version. I'll post a link when it's ready. I'd like to add music, but it might be too difficult.

11:22am Sept 7th
The server is currently down :( This is a personal server, of which I cannot ssh into (because it is physically off). I will fix by next weekend.

Development Notes
============
Unfortunately I didn't have much time to get this as polished as I would have liked. I plan to work on this after the compo and possibly post a link to the revised version.

I tested this on Chrome on Windows. More than likely bugs exist. This was really rushed towards the end. I'll be cleaning things up and posting this on GitHub.

Upcoming features:
- SOUND and (if possible) music
- Source on GitHub
- More intensity towards the end of the climb

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#289Fun3.38
#607Graphics3.03
#646Overall3.12
#657Mood2.87
#819Humor1.94
#976Audio1.55
#1029Innovation2.42
#1165Theme1.84

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:15am

this was pretty fun! kind of hard though but not in a bad way. I feel like I could spend a lot of time playing this.

Nsmurf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

Fun! I like how hard it is :) Can't really see what it has to do with the theme though...

robbiehunt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09am

This is definitely hard. I can immediately see that this is the kind of game I really liked to play a few years ago, really requires attention and precision and quick movements.

It creates a good tension.

Really would have benefited from sound. But it has a really good aesthetic.

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10am

I really dig the styling of the game. I don't think I've ever seen an edgy jumper game :P

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:15am

challenging but fun! I liked the fluent controls.

maad9 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Simple and very fun ;) good job!

IcyLava says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07pm

It's challenging, I like it! Took some tries but got to the boss. Had an interesting ending. Good work!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35pm

pretty cool, but how does it fits into the theme? the world of light and darkness?

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I must say, id wish you built the entire game about the end boss, that ending concept was so cool.

hirsch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Even though i am not used to control platformers with my left hand, it's a fun little game that i definetly enjoyed playing.

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Good game. Well made and well polished. Not sure how it relates to the theme though.

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Unforgiving game. Really hard! Love the minimalist style!

Eduardo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41am

The end was cool!

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:00am

Bookmark

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19am

Very hard after the checkpoint, but excellent and very fun game none-the-less. Loved the ending!

Canyon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

This is great. I died after a minute or two, but I can tell I'd really like this if I played more. A run animation and sounds would add so much!

Animated says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55am

Very tough but still fun

brodavi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:57am

I didn't get 'connected worlds' (maybe I didn't get far enough?), but it was pretty fun. Good use of pressure. Felt fair. I will have to come back and finish this. It kicked my butt :)

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:51am

Very challenging! I love the simple art direction!

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:00am

I love that if you destroy the platform the enemies are standing on you can make them all plummet to their doom... or so you think, until an elevator brings one of them back up and he snipes you dead!

Haha, lots of fun :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05am

Hi there... nice looking game. Shame no sound. I couldn't get very far due to my awful platform game skills. Good job

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Haha, now I loved that ending and I liked the look of the game. The game definitely fit the theme well in that regard.

While the graphics were simple I liked them a lot and I liked how you play the game in general. It was a hard game but I liked the idea.

Could use some sounds and music though but probably that is a byproduct of the time limitation.

Well done :D

oakus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Fun and hard. Some checkpoints would be nice. Also, I don't see the connection with the theme here.

kdunee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27pm

It felt for me like the platform animation was framerate dependent or just inconsistent, since the moving platform would stop at different places each time, sometimes out of my reach. Otherwise a nice, difficult platformer.

Retr0spectrum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Nice graphics, and an original take on the theme. I think this would be improved if the boss fight was more tactical - Maybe the boss's weapons could deal more damage, but be further appart (IMHO they are too close together to avoid at the moment). Maybe it would have been too much for only 48 hours, but it would be cool if the other players had more realistic AI, or were actual recordings of other players movements.

dix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Nice game :D

Artamus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Nice game, congrats!

siat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Not very forgiving. The controls were nice and smooth, though.

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Well that was pretty hardcore! Fun thing, good job.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Very fun game! Like the graphics as well. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]