Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Heaven with Hell

by Kyle Mac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Control an angel and a demon as they collect the stars they need to keep them both alive.

Note that the game should work on Linux, but it hasn't been tested yet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#56Graphics4.19
#164Innovation3.72
#269Overall3.50
#376Fun3.25
#428Audio2.90
#457Humor2.48
#460Theme3.38
#475Mood3.08

Comments

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03am

Neaz game!I really like the concept!

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07pm

These controls were pretty cool. To actually use sinus curves as a way to control two characters simultaneously... brilliant!

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12pm

I enjoyed, and loved the mechanic. I feel like it's missing something though, but not sure what.

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18pm

@MaddeStudios I know what you mean. The game works well enough, but there's nothing specific that's really amazing about it.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Good Job! Very nice game :D

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Beautiful art e solid controls, it its pretty complete game. Using sinusoidal wave to control the characters is interesting, however the gameplay is not that good. It was a really good job.

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Probably not the best score but 2700. That was actually a nice fun game. I loved the art. It looked really cool and the music was almost right. I liked the tone but it felt it needed more work just to get right.

But it was good enough for the entry (understandable of course the limit of time).

Good work and good luck :)

gene-z says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Nice game, try extend

Lycaon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10pm

I like it! Using sine waves to control characters is a neat idea. I think the stars should have been stationary, though. It was really hard to judge where everything was going to be.

IgIzzy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11pm

What a great looking game. The movement on the sin waves was a very interesting twist that I enjoyed a ton...Great job!

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30am

It works in mac :)

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:28am

@ehtd Thanks for testing it!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Nice, cool character movement and I think your right that it needs something more, maybe another mechanic. I liked the concept though, and the graphics have a strong foundation for a compo entry; I could see them getting really good with some work because they have a nice feel about them.

One criticism is that unless I'm missing something then it isn't actually possible to get all the stars, since sometimes your characters happen to be crossing in the middle instead of at the top of a wave, which is frustrating, although increases the difficulty to a good level.

Oh! One thing I really liked was the score system and name input, which was great! I don't think it added much but somehow really helped my enjoyment. More games should have that feature!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Neat mechanic! It took me a while to figure out what was going on, though I think that my colourblindness was a factor. Definitely potential for it.

That music got annoying very fast.

leondryaso says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Very nice concept and mechanic, the gameplay is quite boring for longer time.

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:39am

@Liberal Games Thanks for your feedback. It actually is possible to collect all of the stars even when you're in the middle of the wave. If you shorten the period by pressing left, your characters travel along the sine waves faster. Though it's not exactly an intuitive mechanic...

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Nice game, sounds were way too loud :) I like the game alot! :)

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:32pm

+ highscore
+ gameplay
- background music (repeating to fast)

howkj1 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:56am

Very nice looking game. Complete with exit menu. Fullscreen didn't work well on Mac 1080p but windowed worked great. Had to install JDK to play. Glad you put a readme in the download. The music gets old quick, but the sound effects give it a nice arcade feel. Great job! The ending made me chuckle, so you get some nice humor points. :)

For more angels in games, checkout the maze and climb the stairs in "Jacob's Ladder" :
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=41421

Shide says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:51am

Well-done game with a great idea, it's simple and so not very addictive though. Maybe adding some more objects would be a good idea

gnerkus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:32am

This is a very beautiful game. I love everything about it.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Cool audiovisuals, though I don't like mixing pixelated style with smooth vectors. The gameplay itself was alright, though nothing outstanding (I'm not a fan of games where the only goal is to get the best score possible, myself, and the gameplay itself is rather simple). Overall very decent, but not exceptional. ^^"

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:12pm

This was a really great game. Solid and polished. I really feel that this could be good for mobile market with few mre mechanics added. Nice job.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Cool graphics, interesting game! I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/5xO0Ucfr9co

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]