Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

DualityLD30

by evilentity - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Duality is born! You are an unholy abomination, angel/demon hybrid. Use the portals to switch planes of existence and overcome the enemies and obstacles! Duality is a 2d platformer written in Go and intended to be played in the terminal.

Check the source link for installation instructions or download Windows version! This is my first anything in Go, so the source is horrible. Sorry!

Im well aware about difficulty with the controls and im sorry about that! Best idea seams to be tapping repeatedly and not holding the button. Its all due to limitations of terminal input. One button at a time and delay while holding button down. Its fixable, but not in the given time frame, sorry again!

Again, im terribly sorry about the issues with the controls, but it is a system setting and beyond my control. There is a way to improve this. On windows you can decrease the delay:
Control Panel -> Keyboard -> Speed -> Repeat delay -> Short (About 200ms delay). There is no 'No delay' option. Im sure there is something similar on unix systems!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#581Theme3.22
#657Graphics2.95
#844Innovation2.78
#1009Mood2.33
#1032Fun2.44
#1060Overall2.60
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

SupSuper says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02am

Like the concept, the controls are really unresponsive though.

evilentity says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Yes, Im aware of that. Sadly there was nothing I could do about that. There is short delay in terminal before the keypress is repeated. You can easily check it by pressing a button for few seconds. Its like w wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww. Sadly changing it involves messing around with raw events that the termbox-go doesnt expose in any way. Maybe if I had more time I could fix that somehow. Thanks for comment!

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:23pm

The controls sadly make this a little frustrating to play :( I dig the terminal-style graphics; reminds me of ZZX and MegaZeux sort of games (or VVVVVVVVVVVVVVhowevermanyvsaresupposedtobethere)

tulevik.EU says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Love the ascii art!

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I like the designs of the sprites and levels a lot, and I love the way you approached the two different worlds. It's unfortunate about the controls, as has been said already.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Interesting concept, but like you said, the controls make the game quite difficult to play. Also, very short.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Very glitchy game!
Or these lags are must be as game idea?

maike says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:04pm

I love the fact that you implemented it in Go, but I agree with the rest that it feels quite unresponsive

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41am

Too bad the controls aren't responsive, it looks nice, and the gameplay seems interesting (probably enjoyable with responsive controls)

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:08am

Spend some time looking at the hard control repeat things, would have made this game 3x better.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:30am

Really neat oldschool graphics. I wish you've made text the same style as everything else. Very interesting game.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I can't really add much to the discussion, as it looks nicely retro and would probably play good, if it weren't for the console controls. Maybe consoles simply aren't the right platform for these types of games?

DarkCart says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:47pm

I love the early-DOS style graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]