Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beyond the Rift

by Chaoseiro - Jam Entry

Ok, so we almost didn't made it on time, and still there is much we couldn't do, mostly because I (programmer) had too many real-life interruptions this weekend :/
We made our best to set on a feasible idea, and were on the right track, proven by the fact that Takeshi (graphics designer) finished all assets I could implement many hours ago...
Anyway, the game is highly unfinished, no sound, only a test map, only 4 monsters (there was a boss planned and at least 3 maps), but the main mechanic is working...
And sorry for the lack of main menu/quit button :X

Note: There's a really annoying bug where sometimes the input is not loaded, rendering the character immovable... @Edit: should be fixed now
@Edit 2: I am really sorry guys, I completely forgot to include the XInput dll in the zip... It should work fine now...

It's possible to play with keyboard:
Move axis/DPad: WASD
Left Trigger : Period
X : Comma
A : Space / W

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#341Graphics(Jam)3.48
#417Innovation(Jam)2.98
#459Fun(Jam)2.90
#502Humor(Jam)2.10
#588Mood(Jam)2.69
#636Audio(Jam)1.75
#638Overall(Jam)2.80
#671Theme(Jam)2.24

Comments

SilverToad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59pm

nice gameplay, but need a different levels +)

SilverToad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00pm

nice gameplay, but need a more levels +)

J-d-H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Wanted to play windows version. Couldn't because keyboard did not work at all.

Shmarah says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Really cool gameplay! I love how the different type match-ups change the amount of damage you can deal; the graphics/animations are awesome too

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Input doesn't seem to work on windows (tried both keyboard and xbox360 controller).

Aomeas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Nice to play, I wish you had more time to make it better :3

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:57pm

looks interesting but can't play it. On windows and trying to use keys.

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03pm

I'm sorry guys, I forgot to include the XInput dll in the zip, it should work now. I'm also including a direct download for the dll for those who got the zip without it.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Nice visuals, but the controls are a little chunky. Couldn't get the attacks to work when I wanted them to either. Also if you get caught in on of the corners, you're screwed. Wish you had time to polish it, so we could see how it was really supposed to play.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Worked great with my Xbox360 controller.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:33am

Pretty fun! Wished there was music, unless I just couldn't hear it. Good job overall!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:16am

Great graphics and interesting premise. Would have been great to see what kind of expanded puzzles and situations there could have been! A shame about the time.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:19am

Very nice visuals and fun gameplay, just wish there was more of it! Would love to see this extended or even turned into a full game.

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:37am

Ok, now it worked

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Controls feel floaty but I think that's what you were going for, neat game.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Nice concept! I had trouble figuring out how to play correctly, even with the controller, but otherwise it seems fine. Nice entry!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

The character design is very good

danidre14 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:52am

great gameplay, but if only there were some more levels. Then it'd be a more fun game than it already is!

barryrowe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Interesting mechanic. Took me a bit to figure it out, but I do like it. An indicator of what is coming up next would be very helpful. If I throw down all water tiles, and water enemies appear, then I have to reset everything before I can deal with them. Good concept.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:47am

Platformers are not my strong suit, so died horribly. But I did like the graphics and the idea! Good job!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:41am

Not bad, but there doesn't really seem to be a point to limiting abilities to specific tiles. Also, the recoil to taking damage got my pinned in the corners repeatedly.

pusheax says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Nice mechanic. When they get to you knockback is very bad.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Well-made movement, interesting main attack, nice art style. You have all the makings of a good platformer.

kristof says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:58pm

I like the idea of having to choose the correct elements to fight. I didn't quite get it at first though. Maybe you could add a bit more feedback on wether the choice of element was correct.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:05am

Cool mechanics, though it could be even better if it felt more necessary/gratifying. For example if you could have an idea of what enemies were coming in the next phase-and consecutive tiles increased the effect. So then if there were 2 elements coming in the next wave you could make one half of the field one element and the other half of the field the other element, or try to break it up further-which would benefit from a larger battle field. Still a really cool start to an as mentioned regrettably unfinished experience, was fun to try out :).

cardboard says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:17pm

The game mechanics are interesting. The game is unique and I enjoyed it, though there are a few things that could make it a bit better. I wish there was some music and sound effects, or only sound effects at the very least. The graphics and animations are nice. When hurt by an enemy, I think that the player should either be knocked back or become invincible for a short amount of time; I often was hit on both sides (or against a wall) and then died because I couldn't move at all to escape. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]