Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Isles in the Sky

by Tanner - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey! My 3rd LD, and 1st 3D attempt. I have done HTML5 game using PlayCanvas. That was great experience! ...and also a nightmare.

* You are on the floating world. There are teleports which connects worlds together. To activate teleport you have to find and attach Crystal to it. Crystals are placed in the Sky. Build structures to collect them!

* Controls:
WASD + MOUSE
LMB: Pick up items / Craft / Place structures
RMB: Drop items
Q+E: Rotate structures
F: Remove structures

If you aim at sides of structures then elements should snap to each other.

* Recipes:
Wood + Wood = Wall
Wood + Wall = Ramp
Wall + Wall = Platform

Problems? Try Chrome or Firefox.

Good luck! Thanks for comments!
Tanner

ps. tylko javascript!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#699Innovation2.98
#807Humor1.96
#808Theme2.87
#950Graphics2.46
#964Audio1.61
#985Overall2.75
#990Mood2.42
#1062Fun2.36

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

Interesting levels :)

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36am

Good job! The movement is a bit hard to control, though.

superzac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:38am

Interesting, I like the crafting system because it doesn't follow the same pattern as [every other game with crafting].

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:40am

The crafting aspect is interesting. It's a cute game, and nicely done.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41am

Hm, could not figure out how to get to the first floating crystal.

elliottd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41am

Neat environment. It ran pretty slowly for me (15fps or so), and I think you might have had some frame dependency in your motion. it felt like huge inertia on the character, molasses to start and skating to stop. I didn't craft a stairway to heaven, but it seems like a cool mechanic!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55am

@varun, you have to click on it when you are close enough(10m range). Good luck!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:43am

Ran really slow for me but was interesting with the mechanic of crafting and liked being able to look up at the floating isles.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48am

Technically impressive, but not that fun for me. The controls feel a little slidey. I liked the green boxes that tell you when you can place. I've played too much minecraft so I'm sort of over collecting and building stuff, but other people might be into it.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44am

Excellent game!

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:08am

That was a bit weird.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:15am

nice

DarkEngineer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12am

Really good game, portals were working perfectly, building is interesting, only 3 recipes and you can do a lot with them!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56am

Wow I love Html5 games... Best platform choice ever. It is 3d, it has crafting... It works good on my ols computer. Like it. Level design is cool.

Larzan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:29am

Nice concept with the crafting, like it.
Movement feels a bit uncomfortable..

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:31pm

movement not perfect, but everything else is really interesting.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:08pm

impressiv!

grifdail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12pm

As a javascript game developer, i'm really impressed ! However the controll were really strange. Also, the cristal are far to high to be interesting. I spend about 20 minute of repetiting the same patern (plateform, ramp wall plateform... ) and i was at half the height of the first islande ! The crafting systeme is nice !

MrTambourine says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Great game! It has very slugish controls, but you can feel the need, the need for building towers and reaching the sky above your head! It feels a bit like Spyro. :)
Dobra robota!

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Clever and interesting! My laptop struggled to run it very quickly, but it's a great idea and has fairly deep gameplay!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Kinda rough movement, otherwise pretty good. Crafting is nice!

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Nice game. I like the crafting system that shows you where to put stuff. The game ran a bit slow though and the movement was a bit strange

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Some nice level design here :)

phi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:53pm

It looks like a really nice game, and you got it to work very well. But once I figured out how it worked, I was just annoyed by the clunky movement and the weird colors. Of course, you can't polish a game like this in 48 hours, and that's not the point of this. You've made a great game, but you can make it even better.

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52pm

This was cool!

LeftRight92 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Interesting concept and the crafting concept is novel. However, the inability to move more than one object around at once, the 'ice-rink' like physics and the relative muteness of the game meant it wasn't long before my attention was lost.
Unfortunately, when the game first loaded for me no trees spawned, so I was a bit confused at first.
However, ultimately, I feel like you've got a great kicking off point as the potential to expand on this and make it into a puzzle/platformer with a crafting aspect is definitely there. If you decide to go further with this, I look forward to hearing of future releases

MaesK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Interesting teleportings and islands. Controls were weird, maybe acceleration may be substituted by continuous movement for a better feeling. Good work.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Very impressive what you've done with HTML5 tech in a short time!

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:24am

Hard controls but neat concept! I enjoyed it the further I played

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32am

I wasn't able to figure out how to build more than a ramp and a wall (something in my browser?). Also, once I entered a world and no mushrooms were there. Anyway, I like the idea of exploration/collection through building.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12am

Game was confusing at first that I had to read the description. The construction mechanic is definitely a novel idea but the movement is so sluggish that I gave up with it. The concept has potential though. Goodluck!

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08am

Not fun for me but really good concept

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15am

I like what you've got going on! I only played as far as levels that simply increased the height of the crystal, so you may have changed this later on. But perhaps if you were to expand on this, you could add other floating obstacles to challenge the players crafting strategy. (Rather than simply crafting higher and higher each time.) Also, if you expanded on this, it would be great with a Myst-like soundtrack (I think we'd all like something like that, though : )

Oh, yeah, at one point I had to destroy one of my objects and it ended up removing multiple connected objects. (I just wanted to take away a ramp and it removed the ramp plus some walls)

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32am

Good job.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49am

building things is so addicting! I want to make a mansion in this :P Great job!

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:55am

Dude, this game. Playing it next to my friend, both of us are racing to the crystals and the fact the movement is "slightly buggy" is just making it ever more hilarious! Great job on the project!

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:26am

Not entirely sure why it kept asking to disable my mouse cursor (in Chrome), but this is a pretty cool show of how strong HTML5 can be so good work :)

Posva says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:39am

Nice concept, hard work. I found the movement weird and difficult, makes it too hard to build structures :(

Makio64 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:18am

Cannot rate it cause it bugs (chrome / mac osX) :
After the shader are load and display with "debug"
Uncaught SyntaxError: Unexpected end of input ld30.tanner.zone/code.playcanvas.com/ammo.3c2cc63.js:2571
Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'setValue' of undefined ld30.tanner.zone/code.playcanvas.com/playcanvas-0.153.0.min.js:623
Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'setValue' of undefined ld30.tanner.zone/code.playcanvas.com/playcanvas-0.153.0.min.js:465
128
Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'setValue' of undefined ld30.tanner.zone/code.playcanvas.com/playcanvas-0.153.0.min.js:623
745
Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'setValue' of undefined

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53am

@Makio64, can you try using Firefox? I have no idea what's wrong, it seems there is a problem with PlayCanvas engine or your computer :|

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:04am

Good game, only qualm is that the movement system is a little awkward.

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10am

Interesting game.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:54am

Good game with nice concept!

simonnaus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:48am

I really like this concept with the crafting. Would have liked some more control over my movement though.

slakhorn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:56am

2/5

The idea: Craft stuff, then use the stuff to build a structure so you can get a crystal. This works... at times, when you don't slip off the steep ramps (that are so dark it all becomes one black mess).

The crafting is simple and the way it's implemented follows suit: to make a wall, pick up a piece of wood, then pick up another piece of wood. It's nothing special, but it's there and doesn't get in the way.

What does get in the way is that you need quite a bit of wood to build your contraptions. to get this wood you need to punch mushrooms. I don't know why, but they just explode and leave wood behind, nicely cut into planks. to build these buildings you need to keep punching the muchroom, take another wall, platform or ramp up your stairs, place it, jump down and repeat.

There's no audio at all and that's a missed opportunity. Movement is abysmal. The game kinda ties into the theme. Jumping is all over the place; sometimes you jump 10 meters into the sky, and other times you jump half an inch.

Also, I got stuck between a 'shroom and wall in the 3rd section.

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50pm

That's pretty cool! I like the crafting!

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Nice work! Clever design , building is fun (Tried to build weird stuff instead of going to other islands). But i wish there was sound.

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Interesting game. The crafting controls feel like they need more polish, but this is good for a 48-hour compo. The tree things would also grow by me unexpectedly. Great concept, would look forward to seeing an expansion on this.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Hm.. not for me

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:34pm

wow, this turned into something much more elaborate and complicated than I expected!

breadstix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:51pm

After reading the instructions, I was quite impressed. Something that looks on the simple side has a lot more depth than I expected. Good job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Good technical achievement, and the "click to craft" idea is a good one. It would have benefited from being a lot quicker, that way you could probably have made some cool structures in no time at all

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:44am

Kinda hard to move around and I found the crafting system interesting. I have to admit that the first thing I did was to jump out of the island haha

Jacic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:23am

I like the idea, but it was very hard to control. The islands are interesting.

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:58am

Combining wood to make walls and then walls to make platforms occupied me and evoked other possible recipes. If you continue to develop this, have you considered making the first island to teleport have an immediately obviously different environment. At first I wasn't sure if I had teleported.

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:47am

Controls were a bit sluggish for me, and building things out of ramps and walls and platforms felt a bit tedious. I think if you kept going with that to craft bigger structures that could be really cool, and make the game a bit easier!
Here's the crazy structure that took a long time for the 2nd gem. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/16325832/ludum_dare30/IslesintheSky.png

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:56am

The controls are a bit glitchy in Firefox. Impressive idea with the building + linking. I did not figure out how to get the second crystal unfortunately -- is the idea to somehow build platforms into the sky?

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:31am

Could use a bit more instructions, but definitely interesting!

nilstastic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:37am

Pros: Felt like "The sentinel" on the Atari ST!
Cons: A bit hard to control, and a bit confusing.

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:15am

Ran slow like unplayable slow.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:43pm

awesome game. especially for your first 3D attempt! great work!

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:27pm

didn't work for me, I could jump, move, but the mouse did nothing :/ Firefox on a mac (Mavericks)

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

A refreshing take on crafting games. Well done for such a short development time!

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Looks interesting, but perhaps because it was running slow for me it took me a really long time to accomplish not much. I couldn't get the first crystal.

Yoni says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:15pm

It was not really clear how to play this game :(
I put a crystal in a structure and teleported to a second place, but then I didn't know what to do...

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Character movement is really slow and quality of graphics could be enhanced. Other than that, it's a quite innovative game.

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Trying to move around was painful, but the concept itself was interesting.

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Movement controls felt kinda slow, but it was an interesting idea

MintArcade says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Very innovative and fun. Movement little bit sluggish even for PlayCanvas. But Idea is super cool. I played it for more than normal for LD game. Very enjoyable and fun game.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Cool idea, more visual queues for the pieces would be nice. Keep working on it, I'd love to see more.

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Play Canvas! Cool! How is it to use? I met the CEO/developer once at an expo and it looked good. The game itself was a bit fiddly, walking around was like driving a hover craft and jumping makes you go really fast. Good job for 48 hours

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:18am

Interesting game. It was however very slow on my computer, and the physic is quite strange; different colours for the different structures would help to differenciate them too. The idea has potential.

stvr says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Not a bad 3D game for the browser, but my computer choked on it.

snooze82 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:09am

nice concept :)

JaJ says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Crafting works well for me, but I don't think this is my kind of game.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:17pm

A little bit confusing to be honest. And the controls are not responsive enough imo

Tanner says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Thanks for votes!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]