Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ice, Fire and Cheese

by eemmbbeerr - Jam Entry

WASD to move, Mouse to aim and shoot.
Use numbers 1-7 to switch weapons and R to end level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#148Theme(Jam)3.66
#148Humor(Jam)3.13
#298Innovation(Jam)3.18
#468Fun(Jam)2.88
#470Audio(Jam)2.82
#557Overall(Jam)2.95
#594Graphics(Jam)2.85
#607Mood(Jam)2.64

Comments

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59am

The game is fun.

deathray says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55am

I got stuck on the 2nd level. I like the concept and the humor and art style, but I don't like the darkness -- it just adds one too many levels of complexity.

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:45am

I really like the direction of this! The upgrade system was neat. I occasionally had trouble stepping on the dimension-swapping button that I intended- maybe they could be spread out a bit more?

iona says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:10am

I love the music. Graphics were nice, and it gets too laggy on the 4th level to continue, but overall it's a lot of fun. Loved the added bit of nonsense with cheese being the third element, and the shop system worked well.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:00am

Pretty fun, but started to lag about three levels in...not entirely sure why. Good concept, and definitely entertaining.

sapermysz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46am

Good game , but lags start at level 3 and i can't play

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:28am

Hi there. I liked the cheese parallel dimension with mice/rats. Found it quite panic-inducing due to the flashlight visibility mechanic, which worked really well. Good job!

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Very original! I like the change of colors in the scene.
It's a little annoying to have to see first an adword to play online. Nice work!

snowconesolid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Haha I like that you can switch between the 3 worlds. The cheese world is the best. Nice idea and concept. Goes well with the connected worlds theme.

Controls were a bit wonky/too fast but eventually got use to them.

Overall, pretty good game entry!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Was fun until the game pretty much lagged out on level 4, really liked the concept

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Pretty good. I like the concept. I think it could be harder if it was like rock paper scissors style where you had to be one type to kill another but the third type could hurt you. While the type you were was a draw.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27pm

We are trying to identify the sources of the lag. There seems to be two: a burst when an enemy dies which requires some deeper analysis and another when a big number of enemies run their wall collision code at once. That one needs some optimization.
We realize that the lag can break it so we are working to fix it ASAP!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Great fun, this game! :D

barleyarley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Wouldn't load for me sadly :( anyone else having a similar issue?

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:39am

Lag issues are theoretically fixed/lessened.
Please tell us if they still persist, especially if you can narrow down the cases.
Enjoy!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Cool game, had some interesting features, and impressive amount of content. Well done!

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:15am

This is a nice top down shooter game. I like the controls and upgrades in the shop. Well done.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Really neat, however I wish it wasn't dark.

LesInk says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Nice game concept with lots going. Did not care for the flashlight visibility, but definitely keeps it challenging. Definitely like the multiple dimensions and how you had to use them all to defeat the enemies.

Ramiel says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Very impressive. Great idea, smooth gameplay.
One of the best games I have seen so far in this LD.
There seems to be an issue with the weapons somehow. I purchased the Railgun but I couldn't equip it until I also purchased the lightsaber.

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:07am

Confusing, not quite obvious what to do.

jellonator says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Everything changed when the cheese nation attacked...

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Good work !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]