Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Souzou Cliff

by PixlWalkr - Jam Entry

Update:We fixed a lot of minor bugs, add space bar option to continue dialogue, arrow keys option for movement and divided the long level instead of putting checkpoints.

"I will always remember that day..."
"The day when we made our promises."
"The feeling of cold winds that pass against us..."
"How the fireflies illuminated the dark path"
"The enchanting stars that fall from the heavens"
"Even if we came from different worlds..."
"There's still a place where our hearts will always meet.."
"A place where worlds connect..."
- Souzou Cliff

Souzou Cliff is a story about a guy named "Edan" who one day got lost and happen to find himself exploring another world. On his way to find out where he is, he met a girl named "Estelle", a native to that world. The game is all about telling a story of boy meets girl, inocent feelings, promises and getting back together after a few years have passed.

The game features a refreshing storyline, lovable characters, wonderfully crafted pixel art world. With platforming as its base gameplay put together with storyline elements you are sure to relate to and love. Dual platforming with split screen portraying two different worlds at once. Move two characters with a single controller and help Edan and Estelle meet once again!

Game Designer & Artist: PixlWalkr(pixlwalkr.com)
Game Programmer & Level Design: Mipzeemallows
Character Art & Illustrations: Apple Paddle
Game Writer: Nicekriem
BGMs are not ours,
Title Screen/Cutscenes BGM: Dancing Breeze - Di Evantile
Ingame BGM: Absorption

We hope you guys finished and enjoy the game :)

Controls:

WASD/Arrow Keys - Move
R - Restart Level
Click/Space Bar - Next dialogue box

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#56Mood(Jam)3.90
#110Audio(Jam)3.69
#111Graphics(Jam)4.14
#248Overall(Jam)3.41
#267Theme(Jam)3.42
#502Humor(Jam)2.10
#530Fun(Jam)2.79
#640Innovation(Jam)2.49

Comments

gwa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20am

super graphics realy like it.

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:16pm

This game is great overall. I like the art style, the music, and the overall mood. Really great work. My only complaint is that the movement keys didn't work every time. I had to press them multiple times to get the character to move.

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18pm

I like the story aspect. Fix a few typos and speed up the story telling just a bit and it will be very enjoyable. I had trouble with the platforming, but I think that is just me. Controlling 2 characters is interesting, though. Love the feel of the world, graphically it is very pleasing. I really like the audio as well. Thanks for sharing!

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Love the mood and the art style. It got some problems with collision box but overall it is well made. Good job!

mipzeemallows says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Sorry for the platforming and collision problems guys. We didn't had enough time to actually test out the game during the jam. We we're too busy just to finish the game out. >_< really sorry!

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Update: We changed the the link because some experience trouble with the 960x600 resolution @gamejolt. we will try to upload a windows build also :)

goosetickler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Great graphics, music and atmosphere. Seems like there are some performance and collision problems to sort out but its still a neat little game.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:24am

The graphics were really nice, I really liked the trees, great job with the story :)

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:11am

Very nice game. I really liked the music and art a lot.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:00am

The game is very atmospheric and pretty, especially the background art was great and the music fit the mood well. Cure characters.

The platforming itself is pretty rough, the characters slip around a lot on the second part with both characters the boy disappeared and the game didn't go anywhere after getting the girl to the end of the level, so I couldn't finish it.

pansapiens says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Wonderful artwork, both the pixel art (love those trees!) and the character busts / concept art. I did find the double platforming pretty tough (the slippery ol' Unity CharacterController capsule doesn't help :/ ). It shows that you have a dedicated writer thinking about the story and dialog too - great work.

Minor nitpicks, and somewhat personal preference - I'm not a fan of pressing "up" as jump in platformers. An arrow key + X or space to jump option would be welcome. Also it would nice to be able to advance story dialog boxes with a key rather than grabbing for the mouse.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Thanks for the feedback guys! we appreciated it :)

igoramendola says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Nice game! The pixelart is awesome and the music gives a mood that fits well with the story. Also, I liked the idea of using other type of art to the characters on the dialog.
I got stuck with in same problem of AdventureIslands... the boy disappeared and the game didn't go anywhere. I'll try again later because I want to know how finish that story ^^

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:11pm

I will tell our programmer about the boy disappearing bug. strange it only happens to some.

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Really liked the music and the art, and the linked platforming gameplay was also pretty cool! Overall it reminded me of "To the moon" which is great! Unfortunately in the second linked level the guy just didn't appear so I could finish it :/

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Also had the boy disappearing. If it's helpful, running on SRWare Iron browser which is based on Chromium, version 35.0.1900.0.

From what I did play: the pixel art is beautifully atmospheric. The audio is really lovely. The story is nice - the writing's a bit simple, but hey, it's a jam game. I'd like to have had more platforming between the few dialogue scenes at the start, after the first platforming sequence with just the boy - those bits felt a bit tedious just waiting to click through the text.

With some polish and balancing (seeing other people mention some gripes with the platforming collisions), this could be a really lovely game. Please keep working on it and release it fully! ^.^

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Few complaints : clicking text boxes to skip text is not very handy, I would suggest using space or something like that. Also, not sure why pushing blocks is so slow! It break a little bit the natural flow of the game. Anyway, the game is well polished regarding characters controls and overall mood, so that's very nice. I liked the little cut love story, but unfortunately it appears that the game crashed after the first level with both character playable. I entered the 2nd level but there were only the girl ... I finished it normally but nothing happened and the game was like frozen :/ A bit disappointed not to have the closure of the story, but it's solid work anyway. Congrats.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I gave up pretty quickly... the story moves too slowly, and the second level really needs some checkpointing if you're going to have the snow slip you around, disappearing platforms, whatever. Not so much a difficulty curve as a difficulty cliff (a Souzou Cliff?). I really wanted to like this, but I feel like it's somewhat overwritten as well. Cute characters who don't get much chance to develop, but do get a lot of dialogue...

Anyway, I liked the concept and you've got some really pretty graphics. Great character portraits! It takes a lot of time to get multiple consistent expressions down. Props to you.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Had the same problem as AdventureIslands and igoramendola so I did not finish it. It's also somewhat sad that everything in this game is good and nice, except for the gameplay which fell way short. I guess you really can't have everything.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Hi guys, The link is now updated and the bug has been removed, turns out the last link is not the updated build :/

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Beautiful graphics. The music really made the atmosphere. Could use closer checkpoints.

rnlf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I have the same bug with the boy disappearing in the second level :-(

Up to that point the game was really beautiful. Really cute story so far, need to find out how it's gonna end. I sure hope for a happy ending for them.

There are many "play-to-characters-with-the-same-commands" this LD, but this is the most beautifully made one I have seen yet!

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:15am

Cute

SoupWithBits says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:43am

Wish there were checkpoints in a level. I liked the mechanic and the story was really interesting.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:00am

Nice art! Takes a bit to long to get to the "real" gameplay though

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:10pm

New Update: Our programmer fixed a lot of minor bugs, add space bar option to continue dialogue, add arrow keys option for movement and instead of checkpoints .. we just divided the long level into smaller, separate levels. :)

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:21pm

added* xD

Tommislav says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Amazing pixelart! Liked the game design as well (although it was quite a long introduction). Challenging and fun. Seen this mechanic in a few other games, but this is my favorite so far!

lightsoda says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Cute story and characters, was almost expecting a sad ending.

KayZ says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

A touching story and perfectly fitting music and art. Loved it.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:21am

Beautiful art and a story so sweet it can make you puke rainbows (just kidding :P) The music gave me some "To the Moon" vibes which is good too. My main problem with it came when it turned into more of a game, more specifically the controls, which felt unresponsive sometimes and combining that with having to restart the level was a bit of a bummer. Also, in the intro level where you learn to move crates, I took advantage of a bug in the physics that let's you stick to the walls, because the crate I was supposed to jump from I dropped it into a pit accidentally :S But, in any case, you did a lot of good work!

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:44am

The writing and story is super cheesy (no offense), but the platforming felt really solid and the art was beautiful :)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:05am

It's a really lovely game. LOVED the mood, graphics and the music. It was pretty emotional and cute at the same time.

I'm not quite a fan of the "simultaneous platforming" section, though. It was really frustrating to start from the beginning just 'cause one of the characters randomly decided to give up and fall to the void. Perhaps checkpoints or shorter "levels" could help there. I'm actually not even sure if it was needed at all since the story and the game world already "covered" the LD theme quite well.

This is the first game I've played this round that has some kind of character development and a story that is told from beginning to end, which is quite a feat for a game made over a weekend and something that I really enjoyed.

A great game, definitely one of my favorites so far!

maloki says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Great graphics and music. :D I didn't like the slippery feel of the ground collision. Sometimes the character would bounce down steps and then fall. In this platformer, I didn't feel like I was control. It make the lengthy levels needlessly more frustrating to navigate.

Otherwise, wonderful effort here. Story intrigued me and kept me going. Music helped a lot in capturing the mood too. Good job! :D

mipzeemallows says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:21am

The slippery ground was actually intended in the first build (seeing the theme of the boy's world is ice") but later reduced because it made the game unbeatable. XD

Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Graphics and story are very cute (the changes of expression could have been smoother, it isn't too distracting though) but the music gets repetitive a bit fast, I wouldn't have minded at least an extra track. The "connected" part was a bit tedious at times but quite fun.

A nice little game overall =).

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Nice graphics... but I got stuck pretty soon and couldn't continue further. Second box I think got stuck in there.

Sometimes I could jump on the wall... sometimes not.

Story seemed interesting & got my attention: made me want to start playing.

mipzeemallows says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:50am

Guys if you ever get stuck on a level. You can press R to restart it :D

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Nice! Love the graphics, although the player animations look a bit wonky.

Raphy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Nice pixel art, overall nice mood! Also it's a cute story :)

There collisions feel a bit weird, but I guess you will fix this somehow!

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:38pm

The snowy world looks especially good, nice work! The story is pretty good, but the pacing is a little too slow in my opinion. Coupled with the tutorial, it takes a long time before the game actually starts.
Nice job on crafting the story in 72 hours!

LeafThief says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:55pm

I think you did a great job staging the story and was genuinely happy that one of the protagonists didn't arrive at a grave in the end.


Since you had quite a big team I'd like to say stuff about every part of the game:
Although the character artwork (in the dialogs) didn't fit too well with the rest of the game, I liked how you were able to depict different kinds of emotions with it.
I think you could improve the walk cycles of your characters. Increasing the fidelity could help the platforming and gameplay feel immensely.
The platforming parts were rough and like many others I would've loved checkpoints in the levels. However, the text presentation + dialogs were technically well made!
The story/writing started out as somehow bland but I think you really pulled it around after the introduction. It felt very much like JRPG dialogs/charcters.
The music: while there were some hiccups in presentation (it sounded quite grainy and stuttered sometimes) the musical choices were good!

All in all - I liked what you did in this entry! The critique/suggestions are merely my opinions on how you could further improve the game. For the time you had this is already a huge achievement. Good job!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:52pm

The story was touching, 5 stars for graphics, awesome music as well, and just a cool fun game. Awesome job!

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Really great stuff, can tell a lot of love was put into it.

The story was REALLY frontloaded, as in 5 minutes of gameplay, 7 minutes of story then the rest of the gameplay (15-ish mins?). Would have been a lot better paced if the story was interspersed throughout the gameplay levels (otherwise, long chunks of text will lose the less reading-inclined players).

Gameplay was fine, though a bug in level design made it able to cheese the 3rd (final) level. You can just get the girl stuck on the first ledge, complete the level as the guy alone, then complete the level with the girl.

Art was amazing, though the sketch-style portraits felt a little out of place from the pixel art sword&sworcery in-game characters.

Story was a bit corny/cliche, but heartwarming nonetheless. Whoever wrote it must watch a lot of animes :)

Crefossus says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:55am

I like the way the story was put together and led up to the reveal of controlling both characters at once. The story to gameplay ratio was a little high at until that point though... but maybe it was worth it?

For me the platforming was brutal and really frustrating, especially if you were near the end when you made a mistake.

Beautiful graphics and sound that supported the mood, although could use some sfx for feedback or ambiance.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:30am

Very lovely game! It reminds me a lot of a mashup between the movie "Upside Down" and "To The Moon". The art is lovely, and the dialogue was well written. The music was also ESPECIALLY great. I didn't care for having the portrait art there (even though it's not done) since it sort of distracts from the lovely pixel aesthetic you have going on, and the controls felt a bit slippery. I died quite a few times before the dual platforming even began!

kebabskal says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Controls are just terrible. Unreliable and floaty. Even the easiest platforming was nigh impossible. I managed to push a box into a pit and found no way to cross. I wanted to play because of the promise of story, but I only got two lines before I was forced to quit. Graphics and style are the games strong points. Please make a fixed version, I want to play this through :)

Yword says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Impressive!!! The mood and story are very very good! I like the music and it fits the game perfectly! Well done!

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:24pm

The graphics, the music and the mood are very good, but the platformer levels are just horrible and frustrating.
The idea of controlling two characters at the same time is not new, and sometimes, you are just blocked: there is now way to make a character progress without the other one falling in a pit or into spikes.

Also, I do not understand story-wise why there are two levels at the same time (one for each characters).
Unfortunately, I think I will never know the end of the story, as I am not able to complete the game: the levels are too long, and restarting them all the time is not fun. Either make them smaller or add checkpoints.

But as I said, the mood is great.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]