Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Distant Worlds

by Animefrikis - Jam Entry

Have you ever seen the sky and dreamed about life in other planets?
Maybe we are not the only ones!
You can move the characters using keys :AWSD or arrows

Find the special item to move to the next stage.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Theme(Jam)3.67
#161Graphics(Jam)3.96
#303Audio(Jam)3.24
#397Humor(Jam)2.39
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#453Overall(Jam)3.12
#465Fun(Jam)2.89
#549Innovation(Jam)2.74
#1503Coolness44%

Comments

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17am

Really nice artwork! :)

Floko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56pm

The art is cute, even tough the animation makes the characters shake a lot, haha x)

It's a neat approach on the connected worlds theme, I just wish the levels were a bit more different! Keep up the nice work,see you on the next ludum dare :D

alangamebot says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:02am

Great music and artwork. I agree with Floko, I think it would have been cool if the worlds were a bit more different. So it would make you think a bit more when you move each character. But overall, really cool. I wanted to see the conclusion of the story.

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:56am

Good graphics. Collission is a bit weird.

SoulGame says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Ah ah fake music generator spotted :D The inimitable sound of randomness! About the game : I like the theme but there are a few strange points I would like mention : 1.Camera seems too focused on characters and it makes me feel a bit suffocated by the level design. 2.I love having narrative text but it's breaking the rhythm to have them between levels instead of directly inside the level... 3.Gameplay is okay but sometime it gets a bit inaccurate when it comes to platforms colliding. 4.Finally, I didn't understand what the collectible items are used to?
In any cases, nice work and very cute arts.

kristof says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Solid entry! I liked the artwork and music. Splitscreen-JumpNRun ftw;) Controls and coullision with platforms were annoying sometimes though. But that's propably a personal thing...

AtkinsSJ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Graphics are lovely. :) I couldn't manage to get past the level with the fireballs(?) but I was enjoying it up until then.

Aglavra says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:04pm

I really liked the art and animations, but on my PC (Windows 8, Chrome) controls are sometimes unresponsice, especially jumping: when I hit jump one time, the both characters start to jump repetitively. I don't know, is it just me, or there is some bug in your game.

torvik88 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:12pm

A little hard to deal with controls from my part but other than that it is a very nice game. Rock on \m/

Animefrikis says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:45pm

I(programmer) didn't finish implementing all the ideas that we planned due to learning how to flixel on the first day, but We are proud of the final game. The artist is very happy about all the comments about the game graphics :)

We will try to improve the game and maybe build a post compo version. Thank you everyone!

Kojan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:30pm

The artwork is just amazing ! Definitely one of the best I've seen so far ! The music and the concept of the game are great too ! Oh yeah I like to little story too :)

mystakin says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:31am

Art is so cute! I also really dig the controlling two characters at once aspect, especially with the shared health bar.

jprogman says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 4:20am

Very nice job with the graphics and character design!

Ramiel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Cool entry. Controls could have been a bit more precise but except for that quite a cool game.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Cute. Didn't see any point to picking up the collectibles though. Would've also liked to have been able to advance the text with keyboard, so that wouldn't have to keep changing between the keyboard and the mouse.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]