Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World Lord

by LexGear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well that was fun. Being my first Game Jam I can see where I went wrong. (So many mistakes). But I still finished something. I wouldn't say it's too awesome but it works. The game I made is called "World Lord". It's just a simple maze game with teleporters. You run around and collect power cores to activate the teleports to move to new areas. It's very short, as stated above, things didn't go as planned and I didn't get time to make many puzzles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#545Graphics3.12
#744Theme2.97
#766Mood2.75
#833Audio2.16
#843Humor1.89
#897Overall2.85
#1028Fun2.45
#1103Innovation2.25

Comments

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45am

I like the handdrawn style a lot. Would have liked to get to harder levels but we all know there is just not enough time. Overall I think this is a very nice entry and a solid concept.
Kudo's

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Looks very nice. I like the art style. It's not really innovating though.

Somewhat irritating is the jerky movement. It looks like you let the player move over a tile center only to set him back.

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Not bad for your first game jam! I really liked the tree sprite and the various colors of the ground tiles in each world.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37pm

I like the 2d / 3d mix. Could be fun to expand on some.

Tosic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Sometimes it sends me sliding when I go through the portal, is this a bug, anyway I really like the straightforward game, not too hard, not too easy!!! :D
Mine is like that(just 3d), try it out if you want! :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Not bad, but it seems teleports a bit glitchy sometimes.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Nice puzzles and a mixture of visuals. Why was you character so glum though :(

Good job!

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:16pm

+ own graphics style
- music

Warboys says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

Navigating the big map with the 4 separated collectibles was really fun. Would be great to have more of that maze-navigation gameplay. Great job on puzzle creation for such a short time, content is always a pain in the ass.

LexGear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:49pm

I just wanted to say, I really appreciate all of the feedback I've been getting. Thanks so much. It was a lot of fun.

Yes the sliding bug is annoying, easy fix, just lacked time. And the 12 frames that make up the character were drawn at the very last minute in maybe only an hour.

Thanks for the feedback! <3

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Hi there. Liked the mechanics and the look and feel. Good touch having the crystals be so very different from the rest of maze. You created a lot considering the time available.

Devtactics says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:13am

Nice job! I think the green grass tiles turned out really well. Don't worry about the short length -- keeping your scope under control and finishing the game is better than biting off more than you can chew. :)

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:53am

Very nice, really like the style :)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:54am

Some background music would be nice.

mechabit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:54am

good effort for your first jam, well done getting something playable entered. nice hand drawn look.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:55am

Liked the graphics.

If you'd coloured the trees subtly different hues it'd have been much easier on the maze sections.

Rehacked says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:14am

Good job

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Interesting idea, could be a bit more challanging if there were more than one teleport gates available in each area. I like the graphics, and thanks for the Linux build.
Bug: when you passed through the first teleport gate, you lose control, the character goes constantly left passing through rocks and trees until he reaches the left side of the level. Screenshot: https://www.dropbox.com/s/x8q8tliwdfone5r/LexGear.png?dl=0

rjhunter says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:59pm

I love the art, and in particular the difference in art between worlds. I don't think it was too short -- in fact, I think it was about the perfect length for this kind of competition!

LexGear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Thanks and Thanks!

And eemmbbeerr, yes, that was a serious bug, but only appears if you hold down a key while going through a teleporter. Not the players fault. But didn't have time to fix :(

scriptblocks says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:17am

Excellent. You should keep going on this.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]