Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Use the Stones

by SeanWiles - Jam Entry

In this game you roam around an island avoiding a dragon and touching stones so you can leave messages on them. Once the dragon eats you, you become another person in another world on the same island.

There, if you touch the stones again, you can see what you wrote on them in the other world.

All the plants and creatures in the game have different effects on you when you touch them. The effect a certain thing has on you is decided at the beginning of the game;
and you can learn the effect something has from reading the messages on the stones, and use that information to avoid things that are more deadly than others.
////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Something that's not really explained in the game is that the 'Artifacts' are the things that look like four pyramids
stuck together.

This is my first attempt at doing a jam solo, and there are some glitches such as the stones just not working sometimes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#472Innovation(Jam)2.88
#634Graphics(Jam)2.73
#716Overall(Jam)2.59
#724Fun(Jam)2.19
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19am

When I first entered the world I had no idea what I was doing, so I began walking around. Eventually I got randomly (or so I thought) teleported to a different island. There were some bugs and flying things that didnt look good so i tried to get away. I later bumped into a tree that isntantly killed me. alright, let's try agin. Te second time around i saw the rock on the first island in the town, but nothing seemed special about it. I walked around and got teleported again. On the new island, I saw that same rock and now it had some information for me. Find the artifact to lift the curse. Okay, lets go look for it. After some walking around I found a different rock but it only had a question mark so I had no idea what it was for. After looking around for the artifcat I got eaten by a grasshopper(?). Then next attempt I visited a few rocks on the first island, then when I later visited them on the second island they also had text, I guess that means I have to visit them on the first island before I can read them on the second island. I got a few tips from them (I think I found them all... not quite sure if there were any hidden ones though), but nothing that really helped besides "avoid bad looking things." On my next try I went around the entire island and was not able to find any sort of artifact, so I'm assuming that's it.

I think you have a good idea, but it needs to be worked on a lot more. Some instructions would be nice, as all you did was throw the player into the game and let them figure it out, lots of people will stop playing right there because they can't. In-game, there should be more clear indicators as to what you're supposed to do. My only clue was that first rock, but I couldnt seem to find anything anywhere, although I'm guessing I missed something. So my biggest problem was direction. If there was a little more stuff to show that, I think it would be a lot more enjoyable. Good start.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

I was attempting to write comment, then I read EncryptedCow feedback, and all that I can say is that I compleatly agree with him. I like that idea: "Once the dragon eats you, you become another person in another world on the same island. "

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Pretty Interesting

Thing that were good:

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Pretty Interesting

Thing that were good:
- Movement and controls
- Art
- Had some exploring to it

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:21am

Visuals and gameplay were interesting. That dragon spooked me XD

Dans17 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:09am

I recommend locking the mouse to the screen. It makes looking around in first-person games a lot easier.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:12am

I think that a red an just ate me! Then I couldn't move anymore :( Very confusing experience, but the visuals and the mood is quite unique. The controls need some work too. Good effort!

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:26am

There are some interesting sides to this, but it's very confusing as it stands right now. I think it could have some potential, so I'd recommend putting some more work into it and releasing a functional post compo version. I'd be up for that ;)

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:41am

The game is a little bit confusing but I liked the idea.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:45pm

I liked the music! I'm not really sure what happened... I guess the dragon came at me from behind because I suddenly teleported to the next island. I second locking the mouse to the screen. Nevertheless, it's a great idea to expand on. Good job.

Arakade says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Interesting, quite enjoyed this and liked the concept. This was largely based on the explanation above. That said, I avoided plants and animals and seem to get bumped to the 2'nd world shortly after starting. I then proceeded to find 4 artifacts, started looking for more and got caught by something that must have come out of the floor/wall? There was no way to tell it would happen or was about to happen such that I could avoid. Sadly that discouraged me from playing again because it becomes a game of chance rather than skill -- this was after I'd spent quite a while avoiding and drawing away monsters. Perhaps a sound indicating an imminent monster attack such that one can get scared and run for it?

Regardless, a nice idea and, with more time (including for graphics boost to draw a larger crowd), this could be something?

Oh, I also think you could stick in mouse acceleration option for laptoppers -- touchpad turning became "swipe, swipe, swipe, swipe ok that's 90 degree turn, pant, swipe, swipe..." (you get the idea).

@Dans17 Mouse lock seems to be there if one clicks on the webplayer.

Thanks. (p.s. I hope I don't dream of giant red ants emerging from the ground tonight or I'm gonna come find you with some stern words! :-P )

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]