Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Macrocosm

by Ossi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

MACROCOSM!
HARVEST, COLONIZE, DESTROY, TAKE OVER THE UNIVERSE!

CONTROLS:
WASD to move.
Mouse to Select Stuff.

CONCEPT:
What I wanted to make was a universe controlling game where you could Harvest, Colonize, and Destroy planets at will. Certain planets would be linked to other planets(couldn't get this working by the deadline) and you would have to choose which planets to save and which to destroy based on how those linked planets would respond.

Notes:
So this game isn't really finished, but I tried really hard to get it done right until the last minute. Lots of bugs and most of the math happening isn't correct and the final score currently doesn't tally up and I'm stumped as to why, so I submitted it early to make the deadline. I wanted to create more art for the planets and give the solar systems some flavor by making interesting civilizations and planet names. I also had trouble getting line renderers to work on a 2D plane in Unity, that took way more time than I wanted to spend on it. Oh well, 48 hours isn't a lot of time - but I made it!

Showcasing:
I made this game entirely out of the new Unity 4.6 beta UI update. So a lot of the basics of how to use the callback events of buttons and their animations were new to me. However it made me realize how fast it is to create basic UI functionality as oppose to the old system and I had so much fun working on this game!

Enjoy!

Find And Follow me at these places!
http://www.bobs-cave.com
https://twitter.com/Ossi101

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#844Innovation2.78
#885Theme2.72
#910Humor1.68
#910Audio1.87
#1086Mood2.04
#1098Graphics2.16
#1182Overall2.29
#1195Fun1.74

Comments

Sequenceko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44am

I don't get the game. What is the goal of the game?

bakwards says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24am

Too bad you couldn't get the connections up and running, I had no idea what to do without it. But it's nice to kill off an entire planet with the click of a button!

rejooh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26am

I didn't get it either after rushing straight into the game. After reading your description I'm sorry to hear that you couldn't implement/iron out the underlying mechanics, cause the concept sounds really interesting!

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32am

I think you need instruction and tutorials levels . it's hard to figure it out but still good work .

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54am

It works but hard, my best score after fews try is 785 on giganto, not sure if its good or not :D

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Some tutorials would definitely help ;)

Sanguine says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Cool concept, but unfortunately there wasn't too much gameplay just yet.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:57pm

pretty confusing but I get the time limit thing while you're trying to learn. Really want to see what this would be like finished

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:12am

I like the idea, nice that you started to use the new Unity UI, too. It could use more explanation of what everything does, but I totally see where you were going with this!

teoacosta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:13am

Seemed liked it was cool, didn't really know what I was doing. Tutorials would help!

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:15am

Interesting concept but unfortunately it didn't show in the game. Better luck next time, fellow developer.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:35am

I wasn't totally sure what to do, looks like the beginnings of something really fun though.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:48pm

I am not sure if I get what was the intention of the game. Was the player supposed to play against an AI? That would have made a great strategy game!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:23pm

The concept is there, and its neat. I'd like to see you continue this, it could be quite fun.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:38am

We used Unity 4.6 too and are very happy with the changes they are making to the UI. Having said that, it would be good to see what were you planning on doing with a post-compo version. And also next time you cannot finish a game for the compo try going for the jam, it does everyone a favour. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]