Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fusebox

by Empyrealhell - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A management game about connecting world to a source of free energy. Try to keep all of your planets happy and healthy as you leverage limited resources to connect every world to the grid. Worlds can die out from extreme pollution, or attacks by jealous worlds that haven't been connected yet. There are a lot of intricacies in managing hundreds of worlds, can you keep it all in balance?

Tutorial: http://electrichorsesoftware.com/fusebox-tutorial/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#198Theme3.74
#224Innovation3.60
#795Graphics2.73
#829Overall2.94
#860Humor1.84
#1005Mood2.36
#1133Fun2.10

Comments

bakwards says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:00am

I got stuck when trying to move past day three, but I probably did something wrong - my fuses were maxed out to about 700%... which didn't seem like a good idea

Tempeth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I got do day 22! Nevermind how many petitioners were sitting on fuse-less boxes...

Definitely an interesting concept, should this grow beyond a 48 hour jam, I'd like to see perhaps an advanced sort feature that lets me sort by qualities I am interested in like planet mass or pollution percentages.

Points for awesome planet names like: Kooshley, Blooble, Auwe (where my Hawaiians at?), and no joke Flay It (if you were wondering, yes, they were an angry people).

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:41am

Very innovative. A unique, if literal, take on the theme. I'm impressed with how much detail you got into the game in 48 hours! Very nice work there.

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:17am

I made it to day 6 but I'm still having trouble figuring out what I'm doing. I'd keep playing and learning if I had an on-screen legend of what things mean or some kind of integrated help to get me going. Neat idea so consider those if you keep going with it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18am

Really hard to understand what I was doing at first. A lot of information, and a lot to keep track of, but overall really good.

mattperrin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20am

Takes a minute to grok your head and then it's like "Oh, ok!" Neat concept. If you take it further, maybe slowly ramp up the number of planets and fuses available so it's not info overload.

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:56am

Not my kind of game but impressive for a 48h hour. I think that the game could be more simple (or i'm simply too tired). I think that the game could be more "fun" with less values to watch but it will be more for players like me.

The game is pretty neat, and could be better in my opinion with an all in one GUI maybe with a solar-system like look, and a visual for the fuse, and the grid, it will make the game more appealling.

Maybe visual indication instead of percent, who can frighten people like me! ;)

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:57am

Not my kind of game but impressive for a 48h hour. I think that the game could be more simple (or i'm simply too tired). I think that the game could be more "fun" with less values to watch but it will be more for players like me.

But perfect for the theme!

The game is pretty neat, and could be better in my opinion with an all in one GUI maybe with a solar-system like look, and a visual for the fuse, and the grid, it will make the game more appealling.

Maybe visual indication instead of percent, who can frighten people like me! ;)

Zigsfi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Cool design, and a neat take on the "management sim" genre. The interface was a bit hard to follow, and the consequences of my actions could have been tutorialized more, but for 48 hours that was a really fun, unique approach to the theme.

Clyde says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:28am

I had very little idea what was going on, but I can see that there was a lot of depth and room for figuring out strategy! Very cool.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:20am

It looks like this is well-made (I did not notice bugs) and there are a lot of factors involved. I made a similar but much simpler game and I know even that took a while to try to balance, so I don't envy the process of balancing this!

I never really understood how the different planets balanced in the fuseboxes though. Sometimes numbers would shoot into the 400-500% range without an obvious reason.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:00am

Very interesting concept but fairly comylicated to get into, so many parameters and planets, it is a bit slow to get to know how to do what and why...

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:28am

I had to keep scrolling up and down, which was annoying, and the game was a tad complicated. Otherwise a fun game, though, the take on the theme was good.

Druid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Interesting concept! Really grat work for 48 hours!

Ted Brown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:55am

Great concept, wonderful work on the menu system (I know those things are hard!). I agree with others: the complexity hits you in the face and is hard to keep up with. Potentially, unlocking more and more resources / ailments as the days progress (serving as "levels" and a reason to re-jigger fuseboxes) might improve the game.

sikosis says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:15am

Not bad, just a little confusing. Fits the theme well though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]