Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds Defender

by pcmccull - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Survive as long as you can!

Instructions:
* Build more mines to get more resources on each world.
* Click the factory to build fighters
* Connect the planets to see what resources are available and to build more mines.

Developed using libGDX, Paint.NET, and Inkscape.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#98Fun3.72
#233Theme3.69
#269Overall3.50
#489Humor2.43
#574Graphics3.08
#575Innovation3.13
#685Mood2.84
#918Audio1.82

Comments

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:30pm

nice game. I ended up building way too many fighters for the beginning

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Nice job on the concept.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Very well done game. I loved all of the ships flying around. Great use of the theme too. Nice job.

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:34pm

very straightforward in a good way. I like it, good job :)

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Pretty cool. I didn't connect very many worlds, but I did enjoy spamming the screen with fighters

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Having the game pause after I leave the window would be a neat little addition. The game is fun, took me a moment to work out what the connectors actually were. I did get fucked over by the lack of pause >.< but thats my fault. http://puu.sh/b7g6a/267b5e0808.jpg

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Having the game pause after I leave the window would be a neat little addition. The game is fun, took me a moment to work out what the connectors actually were. I did get fucked over by the lack of pause >.< but thats my fault. First tower defense game I've seen too. http://puu.sh/b7g6a/267b5e0808.jpg

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Really nice idea! The game gets pretty hard pretty quickly, I can't get further than around wave 50 (which I count as a good thing). Fun to play!

Zupoman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Fun game, I like it! Though, later there are too many ships - it gets laggy for me.

x1212 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Great game, might be usefull to know which planet can be connected to which other planet, so you can plan better from the beginning.

AdricZero says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Didn't hear any music. Would have helped with mood.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Nice game, I survived till wave 85 and then I died x)

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Really fun game, after the first play through I knew which planets to focus on and then got to wave 100 but the screen was so full of fighters the enemies were stuck off screen lol.

smizmeal says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:21am

Very fun. I enjoyed the resource managing, but the crazy shooting/explosions during fights was the best.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Impressive ! Great work !
Nice AI and animations

arzi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Quite a good little strategy game. The controls and the mechanics are clear and intuitive. I got swarmed by the enemies quite fast, though.

holgk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Nice game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Cool stuff! I thought it was too easy at first, but then it totally kicked my ass.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Very fun game! I survived 135 waves... and then I was absolutely overrun :) (I assume there's no win condition and everyone gets swamped by attackers eventually?). Some audio would have been nice, but still a good game overall.

majorcrampas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Kind of like a simple Eufloria.
I love it! :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Cool idea. Took me a while to get the hang of. I ended up having to wait a long time to expand since I didn't realize each planet yielded one mineral type. Really fun though. Good job!

camlang says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:15am

Fun and simple game. Love it!

teamawesome says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Fantastic game and use of theme. This is the game I wish I made!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]