Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Other Sky

by Jishenaz - Jam Entry

About:
-------
Travel in a strange surreal realm as you experience the world turning upside down. Only 3 levels.

Made with Unity3d. Tell me what you think of the game. For any issues you encounter, give some details.
You can find me on Twitter: @Jishenaz


Controls:
-------
- WASD + Mouse: Move and look around
- Space: Jump
- R: Reset the level
- Esc: Quit the game (doesn't apply to web version)


Issues:
-------

- [Malware False-Alarm]: If downloading the game from Chrome preemptively declares it malware, you'll have to try downloading it on another browser like Firefox.

- [Mouse in Web Player]: The web-player version doesn't lock the mouse for some reason. If it hinders gameplay, I recommend you try the desktop version. The mouse stays hidden in the desktop versions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#141Overall(Jam)3.59
#162Fun(Jam)3.44
#176Mood(Jam)3.50
#190Theme(Jam)3.56
#213Audio(Jam)3.42
#354Innovation(Jam)3.10
#413Humor(Jam)2.35
#447Graphics(Jam)3.22

Comments

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Nice one! I'd hide the cursor when in focus - it is hard to pan.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Nice concept, with a good art could be very nice, also you should work more on the controls, one tip is add weight to the caracther because it seams that he is flying, this kind of things.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Liked the concept. Great art style and soundtrack, really suited the game. Really struggled panning the view :/

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Liked the look of the game. The jump sound was not very pleasant to listen to though. The shifting perspective mechanic is solid but it feels more like a visual gimmick than an actual mechanic when it happens at predetermined locations. If the player had control over when it would also lead to a more mental challenging experience.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:02pm

nice puzzles, nice music :)

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Love the atmosphere of this. I'd say that first of all you need the mouse to be hidden and locked when playing because that can be a bit annoying in a first person game, also the controls could use some momentum, it feels a little off letting go of a key mid-jump and suddenly stopping. But overall nice idea and for some reason it reminded me of the game 'English Country Tune' in terms of the sound and visuals.

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:12pm

I wish it was longer :( Would've love to keep playing it.

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:02am

Great atmosphere of melancholia and loneliness. This retro ambient feels neat.
Also puzzles are pretty attractive, liked it!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

While I previously liked the jumping, I admit that the lack of momentum might have made the game too easy.

I would have loved to make more levels and better puzzles, but I ran out of time.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Really cool experience. The world switching was done well and I actually liked the art style

Reyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Nice. Made me think of an abstract myst. What I did for my unity web version was to make the mouse lock and invisible on click, that way people can press escape, switch away and then get back to playing when they click.

local minimum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I had a great time playing it. Simple enough what to do and such. The character control could need some more workings. Especially fixing cursor lock (http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Screen-lockCursor.html), but also the jumping was a bit floaty and it was hard to predict where one would land. These are details though. I really liked jumping around and the flipping of gravity.

kristof says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Nice game. I would have liked to see some more puzzles instead of the platformer sequences. Controlling the character feels a bit clunky. Part of it seems to be, that the player does not slide along walls. Also the gravity feels strange, but this could be intentional.
But its a finished game and I had fun playing it to the end. And thats what matters :) good work!

glbs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:28pm

The minimal graphics and your (great) sound create a interesting and soothing atmosphere, I think like the others that the experience is a bit too short for the player but I guess it's still a lot for 48h! Well done

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:32am

Had a lot of fun with this - really disappointed when it was over. First-person platformers aren't easy but I didn't feel like I was really fighting the controls at any point, so great job :)

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Very atmospheric music there! I really enjoyed it! Reminded me of Jumping flash on PSX! Keep on working on this, I'd love to see a lot more levels :D

01101101 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:04am

Good concept! A bit too difficult perhaps.

davisan says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Nice game! I found it not hard. The camera rotation in the gravity switch is very cool. Also, nice sounds and music!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]