Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds Training Facility

by sftrabbit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to the Connected Worlds Training Facility. Communicate with a parallel universe in order to solve puzzles.

This is my first Ludum Dare and also first time using libGDX. I wrote an article about my experience (http://josephmansfield.uk/articles/my-ludum-dare-experience.html).

Tools used:
- libGDX
- Gimp
- as3sfxr
- IntelliJ IDEA

To run from command line:
java -jar ConnectedWorldsTrainingFacility.jar

Controls:
W, A, D (or arrows) - movement
Space - switch between worlds

Enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#99Graphics4.00
#121Theme3.85
#200Overall3.59
#344Fun3.29
#378Humor2.63
#420Mood3.15
#697Audio2.44
#790Innovation2.84

Comments

caranha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20am

Well, that was a really fine game, the graphics are well done, and the controls are really smooth. The idea has been done before, but I think your execution was really solid. I liked the little detail of the "rec" symbol in the bottom. Too bad it only has two stages.

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:32am

Real fun game! Just wish the characters'd move a little faster

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:19am

This game is fun and that arrt style is great. Too bad it's so short.

Naytron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:21am

Well executed, controls and camera are solid, art is nice.

As others have said the only issue is that we want more!

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56am

Thanks everybody! I had so many gameplay and level ideas that I really wanted to add - too little time! I also really wanted some better SFX and music, but oh well. Maybe next time I'll be a little quicker with the boilerplate libGDX stuff.

Thanks for the feedback!

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:57am

Really good graphics and interesting idea. The sounds had a high latency on the JS version for me but the .jar worked fine.

Good job! :)

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Solid game, great graphics and I like the idea of it being a CCTV feed.

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Really fun game with very good looking graphics, congrats !
I am not a huge fan of the smooth scrolling, but it could be worse. I would love to play new levels :)

harko12 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Great Job!

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Nicely done. I like the art style and the game mechanic. Could do with some music. It was quite fun and engaging for its short duration. Hope you'll make some more levels post-compo!

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:03pm

It is a good game in general. The mechanics are pretty good and solid, but the gameplay is kind boring. Nice job on the art too. It would be cool if you release a complete version of this game in the future.

Jake Coxon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Cool game and really nice graphics. Would have been good to see some puzzles because currently you don't need to think too much about what to do. Also I don't think the mario jump sound really fit with the mood. Nicely executed game overall though

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Really well made game. Great graphics. I played the web version and the sound lagged a little bit.

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Thanks everybody. I'd like to keep working on this in the future. Unfortunately the first level was only meant as a training level, while the second level was rushed in at the end. And I agree that the SFX don't really fit!

Also, I also noticed that the sounds are a little delayed with the web version - I'm not exactly sure why that is, but I'll look into it.

Zigsfi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Great use of the theme, love the art. The transition is a little slow and sometimes the cause+effect is hard to follow. Also, I felt like the camera is pulled a bit too far down. Great work!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Nicely done but I think the switching could be tad faster :)

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Simple enough puzzle platformer. Solved it quick enough. Manage to get the concept and decent level of puzzle design out in two levels, but yeah could've done with more & some better sounds. Nice overall though!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Sweet game, nice pixel art and simple gameplay. Good job! I noticed our games a little similar, haha!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:46am

I like the idea, and for the most part it was executed well. There were two things in particular that seemed off. The first is that the characters felt like they moved really slow. The second is that on the second level, I had a harder time jumping up that hole than I should have, it was too sensitive about what it considered a hit. Other than that, not bad at all. Some background music and a few more levels are all that's missing.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:28am

What a great game idea! I just wanted a few more levels to play, really.. :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:13pm

That was fun! A lot of small details. :) Collision detection is a bit off at times (I fell through the floor on the first level), and the camera could be quicker (it only followed me slowly when I fell down in level 2), but overall, great work for 48 hours in a new framework!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:35pm

I love that the characters move so slowly - the game is very well made and feels really solid. Cute and desolate is a rare, but as it turns out really cool combination. The difficulty curve of the puzzles are great, and they build up so that it's easy to follow all the way through. Well done!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:39pm

I loved the visual style. That was a really fun puzzle/platformer that wasn't frustrating to learn and the puzzles weren't tedious. It was a satisfying experience

leondryaso says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:22am

I really liked the graphics, the gameplay idea is also very solid. Could be longer tho.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:47am

Great work! The graphics and level design especially are very well done.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:59am

Nice concept and level design, the levels were not too simple nor too hard, I appreciate that, good job :)

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:10am

nice aesthetic to this, love scanlines

RookMage says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:31am

I enjoyed the look of the game quite a bit. The audio was the only thing I felt the game was lacking in, it could have used music or footstep sounds. The characters looked hilarious.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:31am

Really solid platforming experience!
I felt the character was a little floaty, but it worked well

Great job!

KEFIR says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Amazing, clever concept! You should make a full game of it. Art style is great!

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Why so short!!!
I was like to play :(
I didn't understand what is the character, a little chicken?
And, on a parallel universe have ourselves in different genres our love?

UoLCompSoc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Really excellent job; smooth, well executed and right on the theme. Thoroughly enjoyed it :)

rantt says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Really nice graphics, it felt very polished. Wish it was longer, nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]