Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Down Under

by JALgames - Jam Entry

IMPORTANT: If the game crashes, try the version without music. If the game runs slow while placing buildings, press R to increase the performance. This game might take some seconds to load and doesn't display a splash screen. Be patient

In down under, you have to build your own town. You construct huts for your workers, cut down trees and generate food. But suddenly, one scientist discovers a second world, right below the world you used to live in. The new world provides new opportunities, like very efficient power plants and mushroom farms. But down under is very dangerous, so no you can't build any buildings made of wood.

Controls:
arrow keys: scroll map
The rest will be explained in the tutorial, so please don't skip it! After you finish the tutorial, you will be able to go to down under, but not earlier.

Menus (might not be visible from the beginning):
bottom-right menu: select building category
bottom-left menu: select the building in the current category (hover to see its name and the resources you need)
top-left: resources
top-left button: switch worlds (if down under has been researched)

Credits:
Programming: Johannes Lehmann
Art: Jonas Wagner and Fabian Meinert
Additional art: Laurenz Winter and Johannes Lehmann
Music: Laurenz Winter

Software used:
Programming: Visual Studio 2013 professional, C#, Monogame framework,
Art: Paint.NET, some icons done in Photoshop
Colors: mainly Dawnbringer's 32 color palette, but we weren't super strict
Music: cubase SE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1907Coolness24%

Comments

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Would love to play this game, as it looks cool, but every time I launch it it crashes completely after about 2 seconds, so I can't play it :(

Altourus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Unfortunately I couldn't run it for the same reason as MaddeStudios

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:56pm

crash (Xna error play song)

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Yeah, crashed for me too. Too bad, screenshots look great.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Game works fine for me. The graphics is great and the gameplay is descent. Also, ++ for MonoGame :)

StMatn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Crashed for me too with the binaries on Win7.
Hope you can fix it since the screenshots look great.

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:30pm

won't run here either. after the first start, a window shows up but it crashes before anything is drawn :(

Phaix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:36am

Crashed here too. Binaries version on Win7 x64

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:42am

Crashing here too as soon as the installer finishes - Win 7 Ultimate x64.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:36am

It looks beautiful (I used the same palette!), and I can tell there's a lot going on here, but it's a bit hard to figure out without a manual.

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:21am

Nice a strategy game :) The graphics are really great.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:24am

I have the same error as MaddleStudios, exception thrown from MediaPlayer.Play() from Core.update(float) line 77
from Game1.Update() line 44

JALgames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:24pm

I am currently working on fixing the crashing which seems to affect almost everyone (but unfortunately, not my own machine). Actually, I'm planning to just remove the audio and add it as another version. Thanks @dancingmad for providing the details on the error

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Graphics are extremely well done and have that old-school feel of Dune 2!

JNyknn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Unlike some I got this working. Not a bad game made in a short time. Graphics need still some improvement and at firt the game is very confusing.

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Yay for the workaround version! Glad to get it running, I really enjoyed after all :). I liked the SimCity feel to it.
Only thing I would prefer is clearer indicators as to what the numbers mean when purchasing. I figured it's cost/gain-per-second, but an indicator would be nice :).
Anyway, good game!

runvs says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

Sorry, but this is not working for me.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Getting that crash issue too.
Binaries on Windows 7 64-bits.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:16am

Neat visuals!

magmaCrab says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:59am

I really like these construction games! The versoin without music worked fine for me. However, I didn't figure out what to do with the second world. I also would like a deconstruction button. Besides that, nice entry!

jprogman says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:30am

The game didn't crash for me, rather the music went mute.
Neat take on SimCity.
I've stopped getting help after I got to where I can add stone quarries, coal mines, and such. I quit after I got the privilege to add water turbines, but there's no way to add them on the map. (Was that a glitch?)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]