Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Seasons in the Sky

by Vytheros - Jam Entry

A short exploration game that has you find four orbs in the four different seasonal islands.

Controls

WASD - Move
E (When looking at an orb) - Discover and place in the monolith
E (When looking at anything besides an orb) - Absolutely bugger all

Press rate it when you're finished playing it

Credits (Things I didn't make):

Carefree by Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

These three blends

http://www.blendswap.com/blends/view/5554

http://www.blendswap.com/blends/view/46952

http://www.blendswap.com/blends/view/65128

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#432Audio(Jam)2.93
#450Mood(Jam)2.96
#532Theme(Jam)2.79
#584Humor(Jam)1.68
#591Graphics(Jam)2.86
#659Overall(Jam)2.77
#682Innovation(Jam)2.32
#719Fun(Jam)2.22

Comments

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:45am

Really cool experience, somewhat meditative and out of this world. Music didn't fit for a lot of the scenes I think.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00am

the music does not completly fit the environments and the bridges are too long, but the exploration is nice.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01am

Very relaxing experience! A bit too much empty space in my opinion, still a nice entry where you could dive in for a while :)

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:02am

Can't really play it correctly since I can't look around..I can only move facing in one fixed direction

Tommislav says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:03am

Graphics is quite nice, but you should have a "run" button to be able to move a little faster =)

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:04am

The music is good but sometimes feels out of place

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17am

Liked looking around the world, the music was nice but it would be good if there were multiple tracks. Also, a sprint button would be good as I didn't finish because it took too long to move. Love the effect when you look at the sun and the other graphics!

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Thanks for all of the suggestions. Planing on making a larger version in the future with a more blended world. So seasons overlap and fade in an out in one giant terrain. Will also be adding more detail, better controls and other things to make it much better.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Very nice! I really enjoyed the music and it fits well with the game. Good work :) Thanks you also for rating and commenting High Flyer v1.0a [DEMO], The memory leak / crashing error has been fixed on the website, and a speed option has been added as well. I hope you enjoy it! :D http://www.gamegrapestudios.blogspot.com

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Relaxing. There could have been multiple tracks for the different seasons though, and perhaps but more varied things to see and the bridges could have been shorter. At the moment the game is a bit slow.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Arrgah why can't I jump from high up down to my death xD?

Like others already said, might have used a more meditative sound. Highly calming experience! Good job.

Nut says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:13pm

I liked this but I wish movement were faster or things weren't spread out quite so far. Was there an ending after I collected the four orbs? Nothing new seemed to happen

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:45pm

@Nut I didn't have time to add an ending so unfortunately no.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

:)

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:15am

As others have said, this is a pretty relaxing game. Only complaint is the slow movement speed compared to the bridge and "world" sizes.

majorcrampas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Soothing at first, although the music becomes dissonant later on. Movement could be faster, but for the intended experience I think it's suitable as it is.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Quite absorbing, although I agree with other commenters who said that the bridges were too long. Nice music too.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Really nice exploration! I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Ix-68aPFWAc

The Lag Pack says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:42pm

I really enjoyed this game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]