Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planetsmacker

by Moocowsgomoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short arcade game about connecting an army of planets and using it to smack your opponents senseless!
Details:
- Mouse to aim, left-click to move towards mouse
- Space to reset

Run into neutral planets to increase your population - whoever has the highest population at the end of 45 seconds wins! Hit your opponents to decrease their planets' populations, and try to stay ahead!

Planets:
- Blue: 100 pop
- Red: 25 pop, deals massive collision damage
- Yellow: Constantly generates population
- Purple: 1 pop, invincible; steals any planet it touches
- Grey: Dead planet, invincible, low damage

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#75Innovation3.95
#124Fun3.65
#380Graphics3.38
#397Theme3.45
#438Overall3.32
#681Audio2.47
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Great mechanic ! So unique

kebabskal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Oddly satisfying :)

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:10pm

This is super fun! Spin attack looks really cool and the quite literal "connected worlds" theme is spot on. Awesome stuff!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Great game! It felt really polished, and I loved the idea- I even managed to win a few games :-)
I like how you are confused at first, and 20 seconds later, you get it! Fun use of the theme - I enjoyed it. Nice work!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:13pm

I loved graphics! Great game!

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Interesting concept and quite wiggly :)

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:12am

Hilarious! Original idea. Extremely fun swinging your planets around and trying to build a weapon while you collect them.

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:50pm

I liked it.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Cool game! I thought the graphics effects were a nice touch. It's a bit hard to get the hang of but I enjoyed it after a few games. Good job.

Crosstales says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Good game! Had fun to play it - well done!

aneeslol says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:10pm

The trailing effect when you swing looks really cool. I also liked that you could hit the walls to get around quickly.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:01am

Spinning around was a lot of fun with that effect. Finaly beat P3!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]