Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

MESSENGNR

by stvr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

MESSENGNR

Space to do stuff mostly
X to read messages (don't)
C to close messages (do)

I didn't have time to finish, but this is what I got to. Works mostly, if you get stuck or the screen turns black press R. Sorry.

If you want to mess around with the debug code, type "MESSENGER" on the title screen and press enter. After that, press J, G, 1, 2, 3, or F12 to mess with the graphics. Some or all of these might crash the game! Good luck.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#29Mood4.05
#110Humor3.31
#148Audio3.47
#208Graphics3.70
#464Innovation3.28
#654Overall3.11
#749Fun2.83
#885Theme2.72

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55am

Such a crazy, hypnotic game ! I love the art style and glitches effects. The strange messages adds to the overall mood. Great job

Namide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38am

Graphic design and effects very beautiful.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40am

Hey. I love the shaky,pixelly graphics, the whole Rhubarb and Custard gone digital aspect. Nice sparse sound effects also.

malf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28pm

The game might be funny , but I've been unable to play it more than two minutes because of the constant "movement"

I suppose it's just the "mood" of the game and maybe I'm too old for this :D

fallingBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Trippy :D Glitches look awesome.

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:17pm

The glitch graphic effect is cool. Messages were interesting. Not sure why i got many points on some levels and zero on others.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Really cool effects. I like art and music.

juakob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Nice effects and sounds! strange game, but I enjoyed the experience.

majorcrampas says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Sick. Cactus, is that you? :)

Sanguine says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Nice glitchy effects and audio. The score was too little of an incentive for me to not open the letters though, but I'm not sure if that was your goal.

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:02am

The game has a great bizarre atmosphere, very cool effects!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:55pm

That was weird and super interesting.

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:14pm

GREAT aesthetic! Definitely checking your source to learn all of the secrets :D

psychonull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Great concept and aesthetics. I couldn't get the debug code working. This game would rock with improved gameplay!

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:49pm

This game is trippy lol

rjhelms says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:08am

Woah, trippy! I was really conflicted between reading the messages and trying to get points. Not that points do anything, but years of gaming have conditioned me...

This is one I'd really like to see more work on!

aeveis says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:10am

Woah, color bleeding was cool, though i might put a warning for epilepsy. I liked the glitch effects and the audio. I thought there were some places in the level that might have been like a secret message but it was just the text "space" appearing randomly.

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

You should put a seizure warning somewhere.
Nice effects, but I think you overdone it

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Though I didn't see the connection to the theme the game itself was quite cool! Loving the weird and glitchy graphics.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Woah...that was weird. I was hoping the glitches would increase with the letters but apparently not. Weird creepy experience anyway!

damrem says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:51pm

LOL! Only scoring if not opening the crazy messages! 5/5 in Humor category, and in others too!

grayhaze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:57pm

This is insane, but I love it! I can't help feeling I would have gone blind if I'd played for much longer, so it's probably for the best that you didn't finish. ;)

majorcrampas says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:27am

THANK your for your comment on our game. Your's was one of the first i played and it is awesome! :)

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Superb game. I wish all entries (including my own) was more like this. Really like how the game urges you to the _don't_ and gives you rewards for doing what you shouldn't.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:55pm

It was ok, I like the aesthetics.

sephyka says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:02am

Mwahaha, so crazy entry! I spent a good time on it. Very interesting, good graphics, good playability.

Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:42am

Hah! Amazing!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:01am

Really nicely disturbing 'game' you got there. Really great atmosphere with the glitchy graphics and sound. I'm just not sure, what I should take away from this.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]