Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connect Similar

by BloodJohn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Find and select the same transistors in two threads.

My best result is 30 points. And what result you got?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#662Audio2.52
#882Fun2.67
#883Innovation2.73
#995Overall2.73
#1044Mood2.24
#1102Theme2.19
#1132Graphics2.06

Comments

Martins says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 11:01pm

After 14 i couldn't spot a single pair; before that the difficulty was challenging and rewarding, after that - only endless line of "nope" :)

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:05am

Nice game, but I really don`t see how this has anything to do with Connected Worlds.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:56am

When I reached level 30, I had a few minutes to look closely to catch the same picture. This game is not as simple as it seems.

Thanks for the feedback. Sorry, that metaphor was too obvious. In the next game I will try to fix it! :)

Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:06am

Cool game. Got to 40.

Game starts very easy; gets very challenging.

Tips to players: Keep clicking on blocks on the bottom row. You'll eventually find a match on the top and having already clicked on the initial block will help you make the small window of time. Also, watch out for those arrows! Many blocks are very similar but the arrows are different.

Fernando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

Made 54 (My head is spinning :D). Very addicting.

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06am

I like it. As an EE, the graphics are near and dear to me. Amusing game, and quite addictive.

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45am

Awesome job! It's a bit slow though.

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46am

Really liked this. What a great premise. I immediately wanted more difficulty and got it shortly after. Great idea!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54am

I think there might be a bug. The first time I played I made it to 7 points before the game showed no more matches. The top row showed only one type of symbol and the bottom row showed only another type of symbol, even though I waited for a good minute. After refreshing the page I was able to progress.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25am

Thanks for bugreport.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Had to wait for a match really long time at one point, don't know if that's a bug. Only on one level though, later worked fine.

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Got to 32 before calling it quits, gotta go to bed...
Interesting idea, though.

Ixeno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Great test for observation skills!
Well done and addictive :P

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39am

You got the connecting, just not the worlds. Interesting mechanics, pretty cool concept. Nice job!

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:35am

Nice entry!

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:49am

Took me a few minutes to understand you were matching color and symbol and not tiny differences in the line thicknesses or anything (might have been a problem with the webplayer that was solved when I reloaded) Once I got that it was fun...until I hit level 14 and the top row was all bipolar devices and the bottom row was only IGFETs or some such (another EE, but I do CMOS :) Cute idea but might have a bug. (Yeah, I know, 48 hours and I'm surprised there's a bug?) Nice work. I agree that you need to explain how this fits the theme. (I'm thinking it does, but you didn't explain.)

ploogle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:39am

I thought it was going to be lame after the first two rounds.

NOPE.

I can't make it past 10. This is hard! But at the same time it didn't feel unfair. Excellent concept! With some more polish it could be a pretty addicting mobile game.

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:44am

Got 18 :)

Pretty cool concept and the difficulty curve is well thought out. Music was cool but not very appropriate IMO (maybe a happy, skippy tune instead?). Graphics did their job.

Good game, would play on a mobile phone :)

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Wow, I made it to 40... now my eyes hurt...

Quite difficult and hypnotising game. Well done!

HELLO23 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:34pm

nice game, I like the idea of transistors

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:40pm

add Android version
Random bug - fixed

> I agree that you need to explain how this fits the theme. (I'm thinking it does, but you didn't explain.)

I think that the two worlds are combined through the same things. This is the bridge, which gives support to new things from another world. Look for similar things in different worlds - a difficult job. I decided to do to make this work in game. Two different flow are two of the world. The player searches for a common link between threads. The efforts of the player combines two of the world through search of the same things. Thanks to your reviews, I realized that this metaphor is too abstruse. Accept my apologies for such prototest.

Sestren says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:41am

I feel like there should be a penalty for letting a match disappear from the screen without selecting it. Overall, I thought this was decent, and it got surprisingly difficult after awhile.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]