Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

How to Adventure

by brogrammers - Jam Entry

Your goal is to slay the evil beast that guards the cathedral in the center of the map. Everytime you die, you can upgrade your character and try again. We thought about the theme as suspended islands, connected by small bridges.

Hint: bigger items have better stats (:

Written in javascript/three.js

EDIT: Added a post-compo link in which the controls are fixed.


credits:

Luca Di Bartolomeo - programmer
Sara Di Bartolomeo - programmer/artist
Parakeets - game designers/inspiration

follow us on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/brogrammerspage?ref=ts&fref=ts

music by Szymon Matuszewski



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#118Graphics(Jam)4.11
#263Overall(Jam)3.40
#288Mood(Jam)3.28
#390Humor(Jam)2.40
#429Audio(Jam)2.94
#465Fun(Jam)2.89
#534Innovation(Jam)2.77
#634Theme(Jam)2.42

Comments

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20am

It's a really fun game. The graphics are good and the music generates the right atmosphere.
My only complaint is that it's a bit too easy and short.
I played it twice, and both times I beat it on my second life.
Howevwr, it's still very fun.

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:00am

One of the instruments in the music is really shrill and hurts me ears (worse than nails on a chalkboard)
Once I muted my PC I found the game enjoyable.

Valon487 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08am

Good job getting a three.js game to run so smoothly

ninjascript says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:09am

Heh, I really screwed myself up when I moved the camera - It was hard to keep track of which keys mapped to which directions! Neat game though :)

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:09am

The controls feel painfully awkward. Love the graphics, though!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15am

Wow, this game looks really good! The mechanics are solid, too. I felt like it was a bit too easy with no skill involvement, though, and had a lot of trouble sitting through the same level over and over at the same slow pace. There's also some issues where buildings can really obscure the view, so I couldn't figure out what items I could even look at. The overall look of the graphics is great, though, and the atmosphere had a lot of character.

Thanks for the game!

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:18am

cool graphics. the control gets a bit weird when you rotate the camera view.

ivanhlb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:30am

Not a fan of the controls, but overall a great job; especially on the aesthetics and music!

doos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Love the voxel art and ice world theme.. And the connection between this life and the next.

Might steal a pic of the fox for a profile pic.. :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:08pm

cute graphics, very nice.

Andro Dars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Like the visual style. Characters are cute.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Love the graphics and music. It's a bit tedious to have to go through the entire level again before winning the game, but otherwise it was very enjoyable.

katanagari7c1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:10pm

The graphics are great and love the idea, but I'm another that found the control of the character awkward. Maybe because once it stops, it takes a long while to resume movement.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Music was a little grating for me, but otherwise a very cool adventure.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:20am

Nice game. Cute aesthetic, but... is that the Minecraft sword? Pretty fun, controls get a bit awkward if you move the camera in a different direction though. Difficulty was a bit easy, I died once and bought a bunch of upgrades then had no trouble the whole way through. Really liked the concept of the floating worlds with bridges. I feel like the world could use a bit more colour like the player and mobs have as they looked great! All-around not a bad game :)

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:07pm

How to perform action?

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Beautifull work... I really want to see the chara animated

micahcowan says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:06am

Very nice. Sometimes it's hard to get an angle that both provides a good view, and still makes sense with the controls.

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:01am

Super cute game. I love your art style!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:55am

When rotating the camera to better follow the player it was a bit painful to control. Good game though, very moody. Well done!

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Cool graphics, but not a fan of the controls.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]