Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

zero_sum

by FakeHair - Jam Entry

Gameplay was originally inspired by the idea of two worlds merging and zero-summing with one another. While we strayed quite a bit from our original vision to the point where the theme isn't obvious at all, we're proud of our game and hope you enjoy playing it.

--Controls--

A - Move Left

D - Move Right

W or Space - Jump

Q - Toggles placement mode

Placement Mode 1:

Press Left Mouse Button - Prepare block to be placed

Release Left Mouse Button - Place block

Placement Mode 2:

Press Left Mouse Button - Place block

-------------------

My jam entry for Ludum Dare 30!

Brent Popp - Programming, Sound, and Gameplay Design

Andreas Illenseer - Art and Gameplay Design

-------------------

Thank you for playing!

If you enjoyed my game, check out my itch.io page!

wiggydev.itch.io/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#193Fun(Jam)3.38
#289Innovation(Jam)3.19
#565Overall(Jam)2.94
#582Graphics(Jam)2.88
#765Theme(Jam)1.53
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

FXCesinha says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32am

Awesome mechanics. reminds me bomber man...

artifex says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:36am

Nice funny game, seems like the placement is random, maybe some more handcrafted design would make it even more funny. Anyway, really enjoyable.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:37am

Very cool, nice mechanics. Level generation appears random but at the same time still possible, nice entry!

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:56am

Nice game! Cool concept.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:23pm

This is really fun. At first I would just run away from bombs and then try to build back up again quickly after they destroyed my blocks but then I actually developed some courage. Great game :)

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24pm

liked the game , but the web version is sloooooww , but that way it is easier ;)

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Loved your idea. Nice game to play.

Saphyre1306 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Only Qwerty ? I'm french and I really had a hard time with the controls.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Came for the cool pixel art, stayed for the gameplay.

Seconding that the web version is slow. Curious, was this made with GM:S? I've been thinking about buying the HTML5 module, but if it causes problems like that, I might reconsider it...

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Pretty awesome, but I agree with the others that perhaps the placement could be a little less random. Good job, though, I really enjoyed it.

FakeHair says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:36pm

@kyyrma @malf: Sorry about the slow web version guys. Yes, it's made with GameMaker Studio. It's only slightly slow for me. Running an up-to-date Chrome. I've heard complaints from Firefox users.

I'm really glad you are all enjoying it so far!

@Saphyre1306
Sorry, wasn't aware that the controls would be a problem. Do you have any suggestion for an alternate keybinding? Preferably one that doesn't use WAD or at least keeps them on their original keys?

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:40am

1450 is my best. Fun, but tricky!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Great idea. Makes me nostalgic for some reason. The web version is very slow on Firefox, but Windows version worked fine. Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]