Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Red Entity

by danbo - Jam Entry

Code - danbo
Art - woofycakes, comic-z
Sound - qygen, wyrm
Special Thanks - pearsall, sk

WASDJKL; or ARROWS/ZXCV

Red Entity is a game about a bunny girl, her giant mech, the connection between them and a couple thousand fearsome enemies against them.

We interpreted the "connected worlds" theme as two connected, but seperate entities, with their own different approaches to things. A mech game seemed like a fun notion for this, but since this was a collaboration between artists and programmers, perhaps there are more connected worlds than meet the eye?

Tips :
* The pilot kick C/L is paramount to success outside of the mech. You're invincible while using it and it lets you traverse the level easily! It's also a lot of fun, which is good.
* You will regain health while in the mech.

There might be a bug with altering screen scaling on some graphics cards... similarly, if the volume is too high, I apologize.

Made with LOVE 0.9.1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#22Fun(Jam)4.06
#32Graphics(Jam)4.47
#39Audio(Jam)3.98
#41Overall(Jam)3.98
#137Mood(Jam)3.61
#252Humor(Jam)2.74
#460Innovation(Jam)2.90
#633Theme(Jam)2.43

Comments

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:28am

Cool game. All art was really good. Liked the mech, but would have been cool if it could do more. Great design.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

love the graphics

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Awesome graphics and fast-paced gameplay. The mech felt little underwhelming compared to what the girl could do. But overall very nice entry.

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

That was really fun!

Vennril says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32pm

This is amazing! Great art, super solid gameplay, and overall just really polished. Had lots of fun :)

Please tell me you're making a full game out of this.

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:34pm

I had a lot of fun playing this, the only thing problem with the game is that There were no instructions regarding what the GUI actually meant and the random weapon changes when picking up weapons without knowing them is kinda annoying. The mech idea was AWESOME seriously although I could spam it all the way making it kinda easy toward the end. Overall, its a really fun game to play :D

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Nice graphics and music. The mechanic is really appealing. I liked the power ups and the dashing.

PriorBlue says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Ah, i see you are using Dawnbringers 16 color palette, nice too see this colors in action. :D The pixel art style is very good.

PurpleApes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Fun!

Headmade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Excellent graphics and the game has a very vlambeerish feel (that's a good thing in my book).

But what does it have to do with the theme?

SgtGorm says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:03am

Really fun game, great job!

jdavidson091 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:03am

Love it! Great music/graphics/style/control/aesthetic. Definitely derivative of other games in terms of gameplay, but the whole style had me

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:16am

Holy shit this rocks! Very cool graphics and animations. The sound effects pack a punch and the music is catchy. Although the connection to the theme is not entirely clear to me, I think you guys made a an awesome game.

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:27am

Great game! The dash, the robot, pretty cool.

I think that shooting using the mouse cursor as direction could fit in this game. I found myself trapped in the caos wishing to shoot in all directions.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:00am

Art & music are fantastic! I also love the controls, but it would be much better if it had gamepad support... Well, nothing that "joytokey" can't solve ;) Great game, one of my favourites of the Jam, I hope you'll decide to make a full game out of this, cause I'd love to see this on Steam! :D

arzi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:34am

Really nice little shooter. The art is top notch and the gameplay works (even if it felt a bit confusing at times for me personally).

Namide says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:39pm

So fun to play!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Very cool game! The controls were a little difficult, but I got used to it. Her jumps aren't that high, but maybe that's intended. The mech is really nice, but I wasn't aware if there was a limit on how many times you can summon the mech. The mech itself was a little hard to control. The graphics and music were awesome.

Shivur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Fun action game!

racarate says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:21pm

whoa

that was ridiculous

like a mix of aces wild + gunstar heroes

only complaint is that getting hit didn't feel like getting hit

that is, it felt like monsters/bullets were just gliding through me

and the gun sound was ehhh

but overall yeah

Stepwise says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:10am

OH MY GOD HOLY SHIT.

THAT WAS AWESOME.

I can definitely see the influences here - I can feel some rocket knight, gunstar heroes, and a hell, even a bit of armored core with the mech's seriously destructive laser blade. You guys had the feel down pat, on top of an absolutely pumping soundtrack and incredible pixel art.

The rhythm of switching from melee use to special weapons (and timing mech transformation!) and the feedback of blowing up enemies was absolutely perfect. I have to admit I actually got goosebumps every time I laserbladed some enemy mechs.

Only comment I had was the connected worlds theme was a bit of a stretch, but hell, this is a 5* entry. Hats off to you guys for making this in 72 hours.

Nevermind playing more if you made more. I would buy this game no question if you made a full release.

Tosic says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:09am

WOW, it was relly awesome I was like addicted to the game, it is so cool when I call the mech and he slashes through the enemies, I enjoyed it it is exactly the kind of a game that I like: Not too hard, not too easy, but gets you wanna play it, also popcorn enemy monologue at the end: L - O - L !!! :D

LeafThief says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:11am

Good looking and well sounding game.
Often I didn't notice the correlation of getting hit and losing hp.

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:17am

Great fun and looks and sounds great. I never quite got the hang of the mech controls but I guess things were always pretty hectic at that point.

SimonLarsen says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:02pm

one of the best jam games this LD, the melee/dash feels just perfect! This is really a game that's all about the "feel", atleast in my perspective. Only thing i found a bit off is that the mech doesn't really seem that much better than the pilot. Either way, made multiple 10 round tries, still haven't completed it though :(

- Lukas, the graphics guy.

noffle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Very impressive for only 72 hours. Awesome title screen, great in-game graphics and animation, solid sound effects and music, and a cute little ending sequence. Well done.

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:53pm

I love the "eurodance" style of the music and simplicity from arcade games ^^

KayZ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:22am

Really felt a bit like Gunstar Heroes with all those popcorn units exploding everywhere :).

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Amazing quality! The game is really polished!

But I almost didn't play as the mech. The pilot kick is too OP (and fun to use), so everything else was kind useless...
I fell like the game needs to be better balanced...

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Nice Game, maybe a littlt bit confusing !

gladers says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Fun shooter!

mechabit says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Hey, you got an RPS article!
Cool game bro

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Love the colours!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:28am

One of the best looking games I've played this LD. Was fun to play and liked the different attack waves. Think you just need a bit more difference in gameplay between the mech and the normal player but overall an extremely polished entry, great music, great art.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Looks and feels nice, but the gameplay is honestly somewhat dull as it is. I guess the feel of progression just isn't there, since you're confined to a certain area and the enemies spawn in waves, which are indeed always a bit harder, but still pretty similar to the last wave. Not much to do but run and gun (hehe) around the stage at the moment. If only it had actual levels with bosses..!

Don't get me wrong though, it was a great entry!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

_Rilem says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Really beautiful game. I found it very enjoyable. The music fits very well en you feel awesome while playing the game :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]