Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crisis Culture

by GrooveMan - Jam Entry

NOTE RE POST-JAM ENTRY: Due to the pixel artist being overseas, a connection problem in the final hours of the jam meant the art for character facial expressions and an extra background were not received until after the deadline. I would hate for those assets to go unseen, so they have been included as a Post-Jam entry. The entries are the same otherwise. Thank you for your understanding.

A Visual Novel that's part 60s futurism, part theme park, and ridiculous from start to finish.

The ISS Subculture used to be a unified craft of all of the galaxy's weirdos and outliers - until they all split apart to their own custom Planet-Cities, connected by a maze of transport tubes.

As one of the only Peacekeeper Corps officers on duty, you must visit the Reps of every Planet-City, solve their problems, and maybe do battle against a gigantic Space Cat.

Pixel art and art direction by Gordon Shier. Script, coding, and photoshoppery by Nathan Blades. Assistant scriptwriting and proofing by Phil Baxter.

Royalty-free Music by Kevin MacLeod, sound effects from FreeSound.org. This game was made in Ren'Py. Check out renpy.org for more information about the engine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#20Humor(Jam)4.08
#68Mood(Jam)3.85
#96Graphics(Jam)4.17
#184Audio(Jam)3.47
#190Theme(Jam)3.56
#263Overall(Jam)3.40
#274Fun(Jam)3.22
#512Innovation(Jam)2.80

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:08am

As soon as the Jam ended, I rushed over here to find out what you'd made, haha! Despite being pretty short and not introducing the difficulty your last entry did, I really liked this. Character design is great as always, and you've really captured that "VN Feel" in your new setting. Great choices made with music and mood.

Favorite character: Probably Manuel. He's got the best outfit ;]

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Good Graphics and humor!

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Haha this was quite an interesting adventure for sure, with galaxy cat's and all.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Great art/audio/dialog/everything!

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Really fun and inventive character design!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37pm

That was quirky, beautiful and overall pretty enjoyable, even if gameplay was (understandably due to jam constraints) pretty limited.

ccglp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:40pm

I'm since now a Galaxy Cat's fan xDD

Xanjos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Pretty interesting visual novel with some nice graphics and really engaging music. The main objective fits the theme pretty well and some of the dialogue was quite funny.

saguaro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Funny dialogue, and I really liked the graphics and character designs. I think my favorite line was probably the bit about eating the buildings.

xandy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:06am

although i usually don't play vns i liked the whole art/music/story concept!

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Oh man, this was amazing! Overflowing with personality, I adore the character artwork, the general silliness and bizarreness of the story and situations was perfect. Definitely one of my favourite games from this Ludum Dare I've played.

Snoother says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Loved the stylish graphics and how they fitted the odd, distinctive characters. It is definitely an entry that will stick in my mind. Congrats!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Galaxy Cat Galaxy Cat Galaxy Cat Galaxy Caaaaat! Also, lovely art, music and humor!

stasss says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:19pm

))))))Great!!! Surprized a lot!

Mase says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:29pm

The character drawings are magnificent.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Great art style, funny dialog and characters, good work!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Gotta love Space Cowboy Metalheads! Solid, well written polished interactive novel.

slowfrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Very nice and funny graphic adventure.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:27pm

The interaction/choices were pretty basic, but I had a good time so good job! Even got to see the galaxy cat and the stars with Manuel.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Trilby says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Quite refreshing to play this, and I find the visuals charming.

You guys may have inspired me to do something like this for the next Ludum Dare.

arzi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:23pm

A visual novel in LD? That's a nice change of pace :)

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:19am

That music... am I watching Nilesy?

Over all it was pretty interesting and zany fun. Makes me want to take the Space Week off to watch ping pong :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:13am

How weird and fun.
Laughed a lot..

Good job.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Liked the distinct style of each planet-city and the colours used. Was worth playing just to find out the name of the dog, fun dialogue.

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Great stuff, loved the art.

Shmarah says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:24am

Man, you never fail to deliver on the funky, ridiculous, wonderfully enjoyable visual novels! Beautiful art with great music choices too! <3

Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Cool, another RenPy dev ^^.
Err, the game was rather...original, to say the least X). I'm still wondering what I just played to be honest... Have mercy on us, Galaxy Cat.
(Is the "I heard that..." a Spoony reference 0__o ?)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:41am

Fucking good art.
The Galaxy cat made me involuntarily snicker.
So much crazy good art.

Sunflower says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Well, it sure wasn't particularly puzzling VN, but still very pleasing to play, with all that dialogue and such (and enough points of interaction not to feel overwhelmed by lengthy dialogue sequences). The humour was great as well; I quite enjoyed all that absurd. I guess my biggest complaint would be that graphics felt inconsistent in some places. ^^"

Very good entry overall. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]