Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

elemens

by Steve - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Update:
I'd accidentally uploaded an earlier, unfinished version with the "proper" last-3-hours rushed ending missing.

If you've already played and you happened upon this page once more, feel free to play again.

---

argh :(

had too wide of a scope, but here it is.
pseudo-finished.

windows link is an exe file.

love2d link is a love2d package which requires https://love2d.org/ to run, but should work on any platform it supports (win, osx, linux?)
if you already have it installed, make sure it's 0.9.1 (latest as i write this), because that's what it's targeted for.

since it's lua, source is unavoidably included (.love file is really a zip archive).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#56Audio3.75
#59Humor3.61
#158Mood3.52
#159Graphics3.83
#200Overall3.59
#228Fun3.47
#498Theme3.34
#920Innovation2.65

Comments

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11am

Really nice. Great art :)

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49am

Impressive game

robbiehunt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10am

Really impressed with the graphics and audio. Seriously, this is worthy of expanding on - at least into a short little game.

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:17pm

I really enjoyed this. It's a shame you didn't get to finish the way you had hoped, but as it is I am really impressed. I want snappier controls and maybe a bit more contrast in the art, but otherwise I had no complaints. Great work.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Really cool. Untill I got stuck in a rock... But, to be far, I was throwing around a lot of rock

rnlf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Please turn this into a full game! Music, art and sound are really cool.

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Great art and audio. However I get stuck at the cold lifeless place. The creature there backs me in a corner, and either kills me (which doesn't restart the game or anything), or I jump over him and reach an area I can't get out of.

Sheepolution says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Too bad it's unfinished. It looks nice and I like the interaction with the villagers, but that's about it. Better luck with the next jam!

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26pm

SPOILEEEERS !

Clavus: when you reach the large bottom area, there's another npc you should talk to in order to proceed, all the way on the left side.

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Actually.. it seems I posted the wrong version :(

duncankeller says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:07am

Really impressed with the characters and general feel of the game. Music was nice and I liked the mechanic too. Not sure if I was stuck or if I reached unfinished parts of the game. I guess that's what happens when you overscope, but hey, this proves that it would make a really nice game if you fleshed it out and finished it. I hope you do!

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:34am

Amazing atmosphere, love the feel of the audio and graphics. Funny dialog too =)

Game suddenly slowed down, might be a Love2D issue.

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47am

This is great. I got killed by a zombie twice, then threw a rock at him. The music is pretty good. This is the first entry I hummed along with. I'm not sure I have any nitpicks with this except for length, but that's par for the LD course :D

C_Walden says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03am

Pretty super for 48 hours! I enjoyed the art style and the feeling of exploration. The zombie thing utterly destroyed me the first time though, and I never did figure out if it was beatable. I reached the "end", fully enjoyed it. Thank you for making and sharing.

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:15am

Great game, loved the graphics, and the characters always had great dialogue. It feels like you put in some thought to your world, too.

~ misson20000, voting on the behalf of our team

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19am

Really good. Great atmosphere. You were obviously aiming for something higher. Would love to see it fleshed out more.

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31am

Cool Game! I really like the Art.

MalphasWats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:27am

Fun game, I liked the art and the conversations :)

Ogniok says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Nice and funny game :D Very good humour and nice, simple art

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Fun game, bit odd controls though. In the end I got stuck in a dead end with a slowly approaching ice zombie :P

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:17pm

nice little platformer :D

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Awesome art, awesome mood, awesome audio (wish it would repeat). had a great time playing this. expand on it :D

Cryovat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:09pm

I'm really impressed you were able to pull this off in 48 hours. The graphics and music is awesome and the worlds are compelling.

You need to extend this. Seriously!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:43am

Looked polished and the music was great.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:05am

You've got the beginning of something great here! I hope you plan to keep developing this!

nesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:06am

Good to see more Steves doing Ludum Dare :p

Cool game, the graphics and sound effects are good, but the music's great! Nice take on the theme too.

nesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:06am

Also, if you feel like playing my game, here's a link: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=2726

Jedi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:38am

Great entry! I'm glad you shared this on IRC during development; it's been a lot of fun watching it come into being.

For being incomplete, it actually feels very complete and satisfying. I would have liked to have not had to start back at the village after dying, but given your lack of content I actually think this was a smart move.

I didn't like the way the guy's arms moved when he jumped. (There's not much critical I have to say)

The graphics were great, the audio was excellent, and that song was perfect! The screenshake was also really well-done and satisfying; I may have to see how you do that and steal your technique :3

Crefossus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:41pm

I like how the objects you can pickup correspond to each theme. The tiles are well made, you even had some breakup tiles for the surface. I'm also impressed by the animations, idle - falling, jumping, run cycle that have a great style.
If you die on the ice palace level it kind of stinks to restart the entire game.

I also somehow missed the last text that says that the game is over and replayed again trying to carry ice/a pouch.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

This is really captivating, despite its state of completion. The ice zombie took me three tries.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:25am

some funny dialogues and overall nice art. Good job! :)

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

That was hilarious! The ending was probably the best ending in a game ever seen!

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:43pm

A proper ending would've been nice.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Loving the dialogs. The first enemy in the cold world killed and having to restart was a bit of a bummer. Other than that it's cool.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Love the art style. Good controls. Well done

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Loved the fact that objects come with you! Would definitely like to see this expanded further!

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Nice looking game) Feature with picking up objects and throwing them reminds me Mario 2) I wish I could pick up people in village and throw them too.

WetDesertRock says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:29pm

In terms of a LD game, this one is very well thought out (or at least seems like it) and planned out well. Everything has its own sound, and everything is designed like how you would see it in a game done without time constraints. Obviously there are improvements that you could do with more time, but for a LD game I say its pretty solid.

Of course, the only things I would complain about would be the control structure (I can jump with space and w, but not move with asd, nor can I jump with up arrow?), and the fact that it wasn't full length. The latter complaint is just an issue of time though, so good job!
(Music wise, I like both tracks, good job there)

ratking says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Top-notch entry!

headchant says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:12pm

I like it, the controls felt great and the idea was good.

Artamus says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Nice game, congrats!

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:55am

Interesting game. I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/_5a2Oj9U9sk

Xanjos says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:09am

Pretty interesting game. I actually like how there's quite a bit to explore and the graphics and audio were really nice as well.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Enjoyed the graphics, audio and mood. And exploring. Was solid to run around in and explore. I would finish it and polish it up if I were you. No reason not to.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]