Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Peeka Boo

by KamikaziUk - Jam Entry

Scare the phony hunters. They are trying to pretend there is a ghost to get money out of people!

Use objects to scare the hunters enough to make them leave. Don't get seen as they will find out there is a real ghost and use there ghost detectors.

WASD & Mouse to Move. Tap e to toogle. Hold e to overload scoring a bigger scare.

The theme is based on you being connected to the spirit world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#151Innovation(Jam)3.50
#249Fun(Jam)3.27
#291Humor(Jam)2.63
#387Mood(Jam)3.08
#424Graphics(Jam)3.28
#436Audio(Jam)2.92
#460Theme(Jam)3.00
#500Overall(Jam)3.04
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Nice to see all sorts of games coming from this theme for sure. I like the tie into the theme with the whole ghosts and stuff. Suggestion: Pop UI on intractable things to make them scared

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Pretty nice implementation of the theme :P
I like it.

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:50pm

This was a cool take on the Connected World. I wish there was some animations on the ghost hunters so you'd know they were scarring them.

Really enjoyed it!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52pm

This was really cool, I like the idea.
I think the character movement could use some work though, like slow it down, make him float a little bit, kind of ghosty :)

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55pm

I really liked the classical music. Scaring them with the piano was quite fun.
You get seen quite slowly, so I found I could just stand in the light and toggle them to death.
But the gameplay concept was great, I liked sneaking around and trying to startle them. Good atmosphere

rantt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02pm

I enjoyed it. I like how you interpreted the theme. Nicely done :)

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Interesting idea something like first person Ghost Master :D keep it up i would like to play this when finished :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:25am

Interesting and funny idea. Its easy to scare hunters frantically clicking on the same item before they are approaching you ... I feel that it interferes with the gameplay, and could be circumvented, decrease the percentage of fear added to each click for each object. With this the player would walk around the house.

Druid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:49pm

This is really most cool idea here! Neat game! (and i really liked sound theme!)

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:13am

Great mood and implementation!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]