Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Interplanetary

by mactinite - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Nothing connects people like logistics.

Synopsis

Delivering cargo in space is a dangerous job, you happen to work in the most dangerous quadrant. Deliver cargo you take back from the space pirates and connect these worlds through logistics!


I made this using the Unity 4.6 beta and the new GUI that came along with that. As an effect of that the web player build may not work for some of you guys, if not I encourage you to download the standalone player.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#38Audio3.88
#284Graphics3.55
#297Overall3.47
#331Mood3.26
#334Fun3.30
#476Humor2.45
#546Theme3.27
#810Innovation2.82

Comments

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20am

Awesome soundtrack, and the ship controls are really fluid!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21am

Cool mechanic and great music. Extremely challenging though!

ianh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:22am

Amazing music!

dvdking says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29am

It was kind of hard. There are so many enemies, but your weapons hardly can do anything to them. I think it would be more fun if I could blow them up in a few shots.

Nice graphics and UI. Is new unity UI great to work with? Is it better then ngui?

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52am

@dvdking The new GUI is nice, there are a few things that could work better, but it is a beta. It doesn't have the tweening stuff NGUI has but the integration with scripting is awesome. It does act a lot like NGUI though as far as workflow.

Ervin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54am

Very nice music. Was pretty hard though, wasn't able to get to the objective in three tries...or maybe I suck :P.

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56am

Wow! A+ to graphics and sound/music, and quite a big project to achieve in this timescale. Motion and mechanics are good, but you lose fun points for the insane difficulty curve.
Despite how well you've pulled this off, it's not an incredibly innovative concept, but that's worth overlooking.
Very impressive.

pjchardt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59am

Great music and interesting premise. Found the game terribly difficult though. I had some trouble with the controls. Felt a bit stilted, I would like to see a bit smoother controls. Enjoyed it though.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Cool game! I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/WU8AB6IzBac

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:10pm

I had a good time with this. I feel like the player is swarmed with a few too many enemies early on, but the combat is still fun and the music is stellar (pun fully intended).

ebolbe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Awesome!!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Good game! The audio is really nice. The only problem is that I find the combat to be a bit too hard, especially when you're just starting out.

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30pm

It's too hard!, you don't even get to deliver anything unless you are an expert :P

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Took me a while to find out, who is good and bad. Seems like everything wants to kill you^^
I liked the map overview, but I almost never spotted my own ship. Some sort of marker would be helpful :)

Rahazan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Awesome! While scrolling past the new posts I saw your post mortem, I paused because I thought it looked like my game (the bullets look similar to the messages in my game, and the orbiting planets). But it's a totally different game. Very well done, the music is awesome! It's a tad difficult, but hey, I'm a space pirate hunter pro after playing this.

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Great game and very fun but quite difficult! See what you mean about it being so similar and different to mine!

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Couldn't actually manage to make a delivery, but still, a really cool game!

dweebster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Nice game and challenging. Had to read the how to a bit to figure out what to do :)

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Very cool! I got killed almost immediately after encountering the enemies, but everything before then was really cool and well done.

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:10am

Game controls really well, I wasn't too keen on having to keep clicking for every shot though, maybe having it as a hold-down would be better, and if spamming was a concern then a recharge system for the weapon could be put in place, but still it's fine the way it is.

I didn't mind the difficulty too much. Really love the music, and the art-style is pretty cool too.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:31am

WOW what amazing music! The game itself was a little difficult for me, maybe if the thrust was going towards the mouse it could be a little easier to maneuver.

It feels like smugglers run in space :P

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:28am

Nice game with good music.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:48am

Very hard!

Only managed to make one delivery. Fighting the enemies is fun though, you have to do some reasonable maneuvering and also look out for the cargo they drop. Fluid gameplay.

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:47am

Fun little game, but too much time spent on looking for enemies.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:47am

Loved the fluid controls! Made the game very hectic. I wish the enemies were a bit easier tho :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Nice gameplay also the music felt very nice, well done!

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Pretty cool game, tune it down though, it's very difficult.

torvik88 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Holy crap your game was fantastic. The fast paced action oriented coupled with that sweet audio track was awesome! Cheers.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]