Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The World Within

by Oxeren - Jam Entry

In child's imagination real world and world of dreams connect.


If you can't get past lava but want to see what's next, play Web 2 post-jam version. Original version stays intact.

For some reason after loading you may need first to click anywhere on game screen to activate the window.

Controls:
WASD or ARROWS
SPACE

Comments are encouraged. Feel free to get in touch on Twitter (twitter.com/Oxeren)

Also, you can read the postmortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/09/02/the-world-within-postmortem/#more-390945

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#87Theme(Jam)3.79
#92Graphics(Jam)4.19
#144Mood(Jam)3.59
#196Audio(Jam)3.45
#248Overall(Jam)3.41
#319Humor(Jam)2.54
#427Innovation(Jam)2.96
#520Fun(Jam)2.80

Comments

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49pm

I do love moral of this game, and graphics.
Also it's great that boy can "vaporize" differently based on what killed character.

Too bad in second 'level' it's nearly impossible to avoid shoots from more than 1 enemy at once. I think that playing with scale should help.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Nice game artwork. Cool way to tell a story, but the gameplay ist very difficult for me... maybe I'm a noob... may try this later again, when I'm not as tired as I'm now!

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16am

Great artwork and cool use of the theme. Also... I totally want to watch/play Car Wars! Make it your next project ;) good job!

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32am

Awesome game! Really like the graphics and the overall mood. :)

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:39am

I love this concept, it's adorable! Game seemed a tad difficult to me, though.

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:05am

Great art! Maybe a bit too difficult for me though x)

Pfeyffer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:18am

Great game! Don't we still avoid the white tiles in a checkered floor sometimes? :-)

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15am

Incredible graphics :) I like it!

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42pm

It looks really beautiful, but I it's so hard. I only managed to get past the lava level by using your cheaty version. And I could only solve the robot level by keeping out of sight of the robots and firing blindly. The dragon kept killing me over and over again, he should only fire after a second after respawn or something like that.

But it looks so beautiful!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:19pm

I really liked the concept, although the lava level was extremely difficult for me. Thanks for the vote too!

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:29am

It looks really great, and the music/mood are excellent. It was suuuuper hard, and I gave up before I could get very far :(

Phaix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:32am

Nice concept. The lava level was way to hard and more luck to pass.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:32am

Beautiful game. Maybe the difficulty should be polished a bit more, but overall I liked it a lot. By the way, thank you for making the "cheat version", the game was too hard for me ^^

SilverToad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:32am

Great art and mood, but I think is's need a little bit different gameplay +)

spotco says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:33am

Great game, amazing art and excellent music!
The individual gameplay sections could have used a bit of polish, but was worked really great overall!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:33am

Beautiful artwork, but I agree with most of the other commenters that the difficulty is too much. It might just be that your hitboxes are too big?

SilverToad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:38am

I take it back, cheat version - awesome +))

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:40am

Kudos for including both WASD and arrow key controls!

Nice job with the music changes in different sections!

Great art!

Unfortunately the gameplay decisions were SUPER frustrating -- it makes little to no sense with the lava for fireballs to look like they are falling from the sky, but have even the trails do damage, and the fireballs never land. If they impacted certain squares so you could dodge, that would help. If they even moved slower that would help. If there were a pattern instead of being random, that would help.

Similarly with the robots, sometimes there would be laser shots that you apparently could not avoid whatsoever, because the level stops you moving up and down.

The result is a game with neat music and great art, but the gameplay makes it a frustration instead of a joy. I do not mean to be rude or unkind, but I am just trying to offer constructive feedback because the good parts are quite good.

I do see that you uploaded a cheat version that addresses the difficulty. :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:42am

Brilliant! One of the best implementation of theme. This is much more original and interesting than dozens of "connect-planet-to-trade" or "control-twins" games around here (sorry, guys). 5/5. I'm really happy that I played this game. Thank you!

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:34am

What a phantastic game. Congratulations for this awesome peace of art. Thank you for your game.

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:17am

the floor is on fire! great artwork

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:49am

Cool game. Had to use the cheat version tough. That Lava's hard!

sikosis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:24am

Digging the art style and such a good concept, even if I did suck at it :(

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:31am

I find the graphics to be the greatest strength of this game. The backgrounds are beautiful and varied. Also nice touch on the falling leaves. The bgm did a good job in creating some mood. I especially like how the music changed when entering the imaginary world.

The gameplay needs balancing. I'm sure you already know about the lava level from the cheat version you posted up. With the lava falling randomly it really puts way too much onto luck. This is especially so when the player is forced to the upper end of the screen, making it impossible to dodge any falling lava. Perhaps fixing the falling pattern of the lava would shift the emphasis back to the skill of the player a bit more. It's almost impossible to dodge in the shooting robots level because of how large the player is . But once you survive the first wave, just shooting blindly forward did the trick. The dragon level is alright. I didn't have to move at all though, I just stood there and kept blocking until the dragon died.

Overall, great job on the aesthetics of the game but the design might need a bit more work.

Shide says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Yeah, you're right, it's very hard sometimes, but overall it's pretty cool, graphics is soft and cool, however animation is lacking quality

leafarz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:16pm

man the game is really hard good thing you uploaded the other version haha. gameplay wasn't appealing to me (since i'm assuming the story is the main part). great visuals btw! very unique and beautiful! this kind of art is first in the games i searched here in LD.
great job!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Agreed with GAFblizzard and hundredhundred on all counts... it's pretty, but I didn't feel adequately motivated by the long "walking through story" section to continue past the first level.

In particular, the fact that fireballs can hit you before you have a chance to even spawn is really frustrating and anti-fun.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:30pm

The art is great in this, especially loved the tree designs.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:31pm

The connection between the real boring world the imaginary world of a kid is an awesome idea but the game gets way too hard way too fast. I played the post compo version to get through the lava, but was stuck with the robots just after that. All this difficuly comes from perspective/depth issues.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

I loved how the music changes to fit the levels, nice mood + graphics!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:20am

Love the graphics, beautiful. The movement did feel a bit too slow, especially when trying to avoid a lot of hazards at the same time. Still a very good game :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:07am

Great concept, beautiful game, problems with difficulty level.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:53am

I appreciate that you made it that the robots couldn't shoot bullets you couldn't dodge, considering how much vertical real estate the player character takes up. :)

The graphics are fantastic! And the segue from "real" music to "imaginary" music, with the same melody but different timbres, is really awesome.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:57am

I didn't have any problems with the submitted version, by the way, I thought the difficulty level was perfect. Only died once in lava, made it through the rest of the game without dying again. The dragon's great!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:41pm

I'd make the collission detection a bit more friendly.

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Awesome audio!

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

I liked the art and music! This is where this one really shines. But about gameplay, I guess it could be much better. There's not much fun, although graphics alone motivated me to go forward (and see the next amazing level background/music).

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:07pm

I had similar Idea but didn't know how to make gameplay on it. You handled it. I also had similar dreams like this boy when I was younger ;-) I was very curious what the next dream will be. I don't like that player was so big, that bullets flying in the middle always hit me. Game with climate.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:03am

Great graphics! I like the concept of the real and imaginary worlds, that's a fantastic take on the theme.

markusfisch says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Perfect match for that theme! I like all that detailed graphics, beautifully made! Good work!

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:06pm

I've managed to finish the game and wished it was more rage-free :) I think you spent a lot of time for graphics, that's visible. However graphics should be only a part of the job, not the whole thing. Hope next time you will spend more time on game play and level design to make it more fun to play. (It was still fun for me though, I like raging :P)

SoulGame says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:14pm

WONDERFUL arts, really loved it. Such a shame you didn't used some kind of bitmap for the background, it would have prevent lag during camera move.

tbam says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Graphics were lovely, the game itself was good, though a bit difficult in parts.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Great concept - really liking the take on 'connected worlds'.

Really nice graphics, simple controls.

Took me 15 minutes to get past the meteoroids!

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:44am

I like your game. The graphics were awesome, it was a different take on the theme, and I liked the little message at the end about imagination :)! I really wished the meteors would hit the same spot each time. It would have made it a lot easier.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:55am

Great theme interpretation and that background art is tight!

Artamus says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:28am

Nice game, congrats!

Sargonius says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Insanely hard, but cheat-version is amazing. Good job!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:02pm

It was really a sweet experience, I especially like how the music changes when you enters the other world. The dragon part was a bit tedious though. Were you alone to make the game =O ? If so, it's really impressive.

mildmojo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Nice work! Incredibly pretty graphics. I liked the tie-ins between the real world and the imaginary world, too. It felt very complete.

I would've liked to see the text in a nonstandard font, which is a really minor nitpick and common to most LD games.

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Hm, while lava level was badly balanced and caused loads of frustration, I liked the general idea. The art is gorgeous and the athmosphere is awesome. Well done!

Erkberg says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Awesome art and great idea. The difficulty seemed a little unfair sometimes.

jahmaican says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:56am

Nice drawings, but I only got to the lava bit and it's too difficult and not in a good way difficult, it just feels unfair.

hadesfury says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Great art !

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Nice graphics, but it was too hard for me.

Tonasz says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:29pm

I loved concept of kid going to school and falling into his imaginary dreams. Art is beautiful! But gameplay... First level is impossible to complete because of randomness, but you know this (thanks for "cheat" version!). Second also has bad mechanics. Character has depth, but shots doesn't. Hitboxes should be different, because now you often see that shot should miss character but it doesn't because it hits sprite anyway. Because of this, there are some random situation when can't avoid shot anyway. And in third level I noticed you probably wanted limit block duration to discourage player to just hold block (good idea), but it didn't work properly. I also wish there was more told during walking the "real" world.

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Norm. Nice grphics.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]