Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tethernum

by Eigen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your objective is to balance the game fields, that is, all squares have to be the same color. One color is guaranteed to achieve the result, others may or may not solve it.

By clicking on the square on the left you cycle its color along with two other squares on the right. The same process applies clicking on a square on the right. Triplets of squares are randomly selected at the start of the game.

By observing the triplets you can work out the order in which to click the squares to achieve balance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#117Innovation3.84
#425Overall3.33
#534Graphics3.13
#585Fun3.00
#674Theme3.10
#889Humor1.75
#889Audio1.94
#899Mood2.57

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05am

I need sleep - could barely finish the 2x2 puzzles!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:52am

That's hard! (but also very cool)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:45pm

it is hard but it is a good game just like 2048.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46pm

just like 2048, realy nice

FineSpun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46pm

So freaking hard! But good idea!

Mr.Cassels says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49pm

"difficult" huh? it's just 2x2.
*plays game*
man, this is HARD.

that said, I am digging the challenge, but it requires a lot of memorization.

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I like this kind of game, but I cant finish the first puzzle. The simplicity of the gameplay is great though. Maybe you could put an indication of witch block will change before having to clic, like a overlay. Keep up the good work.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Doesn't fit very well with the theme of this ludum dare..

Eigen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00pm

I don't know, I think it's quite fitting. It doesn't get more connected than that and 'world' doesn't have to mean the world, you know.

Sheepolution says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Wow this is hard. I don't really like the idea of a hidden color. I think making all the tiles the same color is hard enough. But then again, I really suck at this game, I have a hard time understanding what's going on.

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Really fun game! Nice job.

Eigen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:06am

Sheepolution, I added a hint color button to show you the target color.

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:02am

Nice interpretation of the theme with a good, clean look. Feels very polished already. Some gentle sound effects would be perfect.

The gameplay is hard but satisfying. I like a bit of brain exercise first thing in the morning and I really enjoyed this!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Nice clean design and think it's one I'll have to come back to and play when it's not the end of the day so I can actually solve one of the harder levels. Could see this playing really well on a mobile. Also like the different interpretation on the theme.

fserb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:54pm

I liked it very much. Thanks for making a puzzle game. Nice design. :)

korigame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:30am

A+ for style. It is very difficult but fascinating. Would make a great little mobile game :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Hi there. Found the puzzles extremely difficult, certainly not as trivial as 2048 ! Good job!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

An interesting concept, but a hellish difficulty, at least for me who isn't very good a puzzles. I didn't even managed to complete the easiest mode

Eigen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:31am

Don't worry and just try again, even I'm yet to solve the 3x2.

rantt says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:08am

Fun puzzle game, difficult but fun. Cool idea.

smizmeal says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Brilliant, fun, and crazy hard.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]