Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

They Came from Beyond

by masamunedragon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD! Made with Unity4.6b, PhotoshopCS6, pxtone, bfxr

Gamepad(recommended):
ABXY: Directed Attack
Left Stick: Move
Start: Pause

Keyboard:
Arrows: Directed Attack
WSAD: Move
Space: Pause

Monsters are pouring out of rifts connected to another world. Plug up the rifts using your trailing balls of light to stave off the infestation and bring peace back to your world!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#583Graphics3.06
#697Audio2.44
#745Mood2.77
#916Humor1.65
#958Theme2.58
#983Innovation2.52
#1051Overall2.62
#1057Fun2.38

Comments

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:37am

Weak weapon, hard controls, light off..
It horribly for me, man. Not so funny. :(

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:39am

Not really sure what's happening during this game. :S

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43am

Interesting gameplay, but the limited light range is a killer for me. The light orbs were always following too far behind to be useful in seeing where to go. (Perhaps my monitor settings are darker than they should be. An in game setting would be beneficial) The attacks also seemed to vary in effectiveness, sometime knocking the enemy back a distance, and other times, hardly moving them. The initial load menu looks very much like an afterthought (What does the 'Quit' button even do?) and with a Ludum Dare, I can't blame you much for that, menus are the last thing I usually work on.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44am

I liked this. I think the first part was a bit hard until I got used to the mechanic, almost gave up on it. It would be nice if the baddies were a bit more visible..

Loved the art style!

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44am

the hitboxes for the portal thing seemed to be buged

kewry says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:46am

The mechanics could use a bit of work, the lights can be a bit too slow although I understand the gravity behind them

gamedevBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:39am

There should probably be some sort of invincibility after being hit.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Hi there. Like the look and feel, found it difficult to play, directed attacks seem too feeble to protect self. Great sounds and good FX.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:54am

not bad, wasn't sure what i was doing for awhile but I had fun.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:48am

First congratulations on finishing your first LD :). Good job. You managed to make something playable in 48h which is in and of itself impressive. My feedback regarding controls:
It was hard for me to estimate what my attacks would do (therefore use them effectively). Sometimes it would thrust enemies up in the air, sometimes they seemed completely unimpressed by my attacks.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:53am

A bit difficult - the dim light made enemies difficult to spot until they were right on top of you, and the attacks seemed to sometimes send an enemy bouncing back a long way and sometimes didn't do anything at all.

barleyarley says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:27am

Great effort for your first jam! Looks good and plays okay, although the weapon is slightly frustrating to use. Seems fairly polished also.

4xisblack says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:35am

I thought the lack of visibility was interesting, but paired with the unforgiving combat mechanics it can feel a bit muddy.

My hypothesis: If you iterate on the combat stuff a little (some invulnerability time after taking damage, some more transparent attack feedback) I think you'll find people start to enjoy the light/shadow thing more :D

Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:47am

Weapon is way too weak, not enough knock back to the enemy and no invincibility frames, the damage just piles on.
The latency between attacks is way too large.
Light is WAY too limited.
I understand how the lights work, but they move WAY too slow, making the game slow paced.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Pretty nice, but the movement felt a little bad.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]