Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

What Would You Do with a Quantum Computer?

by Animated - Jam Entry

What would you do with a quantum computer? Play this hastily-put-together-but-nonetheless-enjoyable text adventure and figure out yourself!


So far, we're only packaging an executable jar (http://www.wikihow.com/Run-a-.Jar-Java-File if you don't know how to run it). We plan to release an HTML5 version soon though!


Bugs regarding Bitcoin mining option recently fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1985Coolness20%

Comments

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15am

The game is really fun.
I found that some of the options don't work, for example, after you become president and say "screw the rules, i got money", th eonly working option is the first.

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16am

The "use it to hack other computers" doesn't work too.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16am

I'm always fascinated by these sorts of games, but it seems like you had a lot of rushed ideas and tried to make it bigger than it needed to be. Perhaps I just misunderstand what paths need to be taken, but it seems like there really isn't as much content in this game as there should have been for a Jam entry, especially when the entire focus was on the story and no focus was required to graphics/music.

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:23am

Interesting game, nice humour, but sadly some parts(talking out of trouble and bitcoin for example) do not work.

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Nice!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:39pm

It's well-written, if a bit condescending. It was fun to find a theme reference. Pretty sure that hacking is at 5 instead of 6.

Amvere says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Interesting take on the theme. I think some music would have made it easier to get immersed.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Cool little game :) enjoyed it.

Animated says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Yeah, we originally had a different idea, but since that didn't work out, we decided to make a text adventure in about 4 hours. So, this was the somewhat random result.

Animated says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:06pm

I'll try to fix the bugs if I have time soon.

Animated says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:38pm

I fixed the bug which caused the Bitcoin mining option not to work. This is one of the better parts, actually.

Animated says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Just curious, did anyone actually get the "best outcome"? I wonder if we made that too hard :p

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]