Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Legend of Light

by Yword - Jam Entry

Description:
Play as the Hero of Light on his adventure through the world of darkness.

Controls:
Z: Jump
X: Attack
SPACE: Toggle platform edit mode

Credits:
- Music "Mysterious Ambience" by cynicmusic
http://opengameart.org/content/mysterious-ambience-song21

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#8Overall(Jam)4.29
#20Graphics(Jam)4.53
#22Mood(Jam)4.10
#26Fun(Jam)4.00
#36Innovation(Jam)4.00
#53Audio(Jam)3.90
#223Theme(Jam)3.51
#296Humor(Jam)2.62

Comments

WeaselZone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Wow, had a lot of fun with this one and I instantly liked the style and sounds of it, especially the music. Feels quite polished. Didn't like the keyboard layout (I am used to use space to jump, not up) and I wish there was a more dynamic way of rotating the world. Other than that - great game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Great game! Awesome visuals. What started as quite simple platformer turned out to have pretty clever mechanics.

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Really lovely. Gorgeous presentation, nice simple mechanic.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Loving the visual effects, interesting idea of rotating and moving blocks.

holgk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Nice game!

everystone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Very impressive! Love the graphics, and great gameplay. Only negative I can say is the way you rotate the world becomes a bit repetitive. Good job!

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51pm

I really love the graphics and the music. Changing the platforms is challenging. Great job!

PixelMind says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Loved this. Very clever little platformer. Nice graphics and audio too.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Superb! Love the concept, art, music, everything :)

arzi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Wow, really good. The art and sound fit the mood perfectly, and the gameplay ha nice twists.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55pm

the game looks really god, I like the ambience of the game

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Beautiful!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Beautiful little game. I guess my main criticism would be that the music kind of got on my nerves after a while.

Glaydur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Wow this was a really enjoyable game. I loved the mechanics, I love the the incorporation of the theme. The only two irks that I had with this game was the controls(I wish you had rebindable keys) and the music. Music was good but I didn't like hearing it over and over again for a few levels. Otherwise it's feels like a good and polished game.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Very nice game, I loved the amount of polish on the graphics and the great mechanics! Keep up the good work. :)

leafarz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:53pm

cool idea you got here! and the visuals were really awesome and also the puzzles. good job! :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:51pm

This game feels great. Awesome visual effects. You might consider switching to "hold space, use arrows to rotate/shift, release space" controls rather than toggling. That would feel more genuine and will require less interaction from player. Anyway, cool game

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Cool gameplay, art and mechanics. overall its a great game. I'll give you lots of stars :)

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Awesome! Graphics and mechanics are really goods. May be control could be improve. But It's a very great work! Congrats!

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Shiny and awesome!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Graphics were fantastic, music got a little repetitive but sound effects were solid, only gripe with controls was not being able to press attack and jump at the same time. <3 the attack animation!

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Amazing! Well done, i like it! The collision can bug out when rotating some times. All in all astonishing! :)

villhest says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:04pm

OMG! Best game so far!

lkr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Wow, that was absolutely amazing. Played through all 15 levels, and enjoyed them all thoroughly!

Loved the gorgeous pixel art and effects, and the gameplay was fresh and addictive.

More levels please? :)

fil00dl says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:53pm

interesting concept, very nice graphics (especially fx)

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Amazing Game! Graphics are awesome. you got all stars from me!

Vidd says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Very polished. Quite an achievement for a game jam. Great job!

Stals says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Screenshake!!! Awesome game but gets hard quickly.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Really good, with an impressive length for a LD-game.
Love the particles. I wouldve liked the attack to not stop all movement and dropping off edges to give you bit less velocity, but apart from that it controlled fine. Good one!

argontus says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Awesome game! Really great atmosphere, the music is very good, great particle effects and very snappy controller feeling. The idea is innovative, nice puzzle element to moving and rotating the platforms. I like it very much!

LeafThief says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:14pm

This was just beautiful. Artful execution of all aspects and fun gameplay.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Amazing idea and execution. Controls where a little tiresome for me, but I think on gamepad it would work pretty well. Great entry :)

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Impressive game, the mechanics are very original and super fun.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Awesome particle effects, this game looks great.
Music was also good although a bit repetitive.
My biggest problem were the controls, they felt really counter-intuitive. For rearranging platforms the mouse would have been really helpful.

It seems like it's inspired by 'continuity'?

GFM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Great graphics!!

I would have preferred if it was possible to use a game pad, but it was a nice game, nonetheless. :)

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:12am

great polish on your entry
Some great platforming sections and pretty deep gameplay.
Well done!

nesis says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:07am

Lovely game with good incremental challenges. Visually very impressive :) Nice music, too.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:17am

Fantastic entry. Great idea. Controls took a little to get used to. Nice art, music and implementation.

runvs says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:59am

Awesome plattformer! rotating and translating the levels is a nice idea though i do not quite get the connected worlds theme. Nevertheless it is a nice game with just sweet audio and graphics! Especially the particle Effects are very well made!

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Great game. Would've been nice to change the controls but I love this game anyways. I would buy it on the spot.

Andrew Adams says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:25pm

My highest was level 8. Nice game.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Great art and mood! Controls were a little annoying for me (used to jumping with space). It was also a bit difficult to jump and attack. Great game though!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Amazing concept, love the ideas and all the emerging gameplay it can produce. You might want to rework the control scheme, also some levels feels weird, like I have to ask myself: "what does this level wants me to do ?" Solutions should feel more natural. I'm thinking about the leve with "unwrapped cube shape" and it consist only 3 similar portions of floating blocks. Anyway, such an innovative concept and flawless execution, amazing job :D

mcapraro says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:41pm

at first i wasnt that impressed with just a plain old platformer. the graphics and effects are nice though. but with the rotation and platform moving mechanic added, it becomes something really unique. well done!

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Well done, love the universe ! The graphics are cool, the music too (maybe a little bit repetitive ). Good job for the diversity of situations (a few were a little bit frustrating x) ). The controls of the character needs to be more precise in my view. The feedback of the sword is very cool !

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Solid entry, great work! Love the style, music and visuals.

romandtom says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Great game!
Everything is 5/5!
was challenging and fun :)

oscarmbp says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 9:19pm

OMG...WOW...WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!~~~ I...c... *Forgot how to speak after playing the game*

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]