Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Asteroid simulator

by crazyrems - Jam Entry

You're an asteroid, living in the peaceful, quiet and empty space, until the noisy satelites orbiting around planets came break that silence.
Just crush the satelites to remove the connections between the worlds and avoid crashing on planets.

WASD for moving Up/Left/Down/Right
EQ for moving Forward/Backward
Mouse for looking around
L.Click for boost
P for Pause
R to respawn
Escape to quit

Tip: Use the planets gravity to move faster, and use small amount of boost to exit them.

Specs: Don't forget to install the latest .NET on Windows or MonoGame on Mac/Linux

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#324Humor(Jam)2.53
#388Audio(Jam)3.05
#522Innovation(Jam)2.79
#531Mood(Jam)2.82
#533Fun(Jam)2.78
#546Graphics(Jam)2.95
#552Theme(Jam)2.74
#638Overall(Jam)2.80
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

colludium says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Couldn't get it to open W8.1 x64.

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Cool game.
A bit fiddly controls but the music was great.

crazyrems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I am on W8.1 x64. Did you get the latests .Net 4 framework distribuable ? http://www.microsoft.com/fr-fr/download/details.aspx?id=17851

mihaivdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I like the idea, couldn't get my head around the steering very well and more or less used mainly the boost to direct myself into the satellites.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:05am

The controls are a little hard, but very nice graphics and music

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:08am

I could never manage to return, once pointing away from a planet...

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:55am

Controls are awful! I just couldn't play. Which is sad, because it looked cool...

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:18am

Would have been 5/5 for fun if not for the wonky controls (although that could be me). I ended up just using the boost, which was extremely fun and worked. However in order to complete some levels this meant I would have to save my energy.

The art was crazy enough to get you some stars. It felt interactive and energetic.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:58am

Cool, could probably do with nicer controls, maybe just sending the asteroid in the direction the player is looking? However, nice original concept and good execution

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Loved the graphics and music, especially the story panels. Controls were strange. I found it easier to use boost to steer instead of WASD. Fun game!

cstudios says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:11pm

I see nothing else just an inside of a box. (win7 64bit)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]