Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Interstellar Wreckers

by Joshua_S - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Read Controls and Objective before each level
The last two levels are similar and pretty different from the first two. I owuld say they are miles ahead in terms of fun.

In space there is no sound. D:
Thank you and enjoy. Please rate and comment if you have time.

Edit1: Changed source file to be zipped unity project folder
Edit2: Web port uploaded
Edit3: Linux and OSX port uploaded
Edit4: Web Port, web address change

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#419Humor2.53
#485Theme3.35
#516Graphics3.15
#565Fun3.04
#588Innovation3.12
#738Mood2.78
#862Overall2.90

Comments

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:38am

Hm. Couldn't figure out how to download the data folder, short of downloading the files one by one. Maybe best to package it as a zip?

Joshua_S says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:00am

Thanks for the heads up. It should not only be now a zip file, but also the entire unity project folder!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06am

any chance for a linux build?

naksrifati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06am

well, had a lot troble with the control, and the first level. could not understend how to get points. After I get it, it was actually a lot of fun. EspetialŠ½ when you get to level two.

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:10am

You should package the binary+data as a zip as well, so people can just download-unzip-run without downloading the whole source.

Fun physics game.
Left and right (A and D) feel the wrong way around - most people would expect A to be counter-clockwise and D to be clockwise. I would also expect S(/down) to stop the rocket, instead of double-pressing W(/up).

I like the wrecking-ball action you've got going here. That was actually one of the first concepts I was playing with.

Graphics are decent, get the job done.
Didn't hear any sound.

Overall good solid fun.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:14am

Hi. I like the feel of the movement, the block destruction. Graphics are great, love the planet with giant rocket.

Joshua_S says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17am

Web, Linux, and OSX now uploaded. Thank you for your comments. I will try to get the source/data in a more manageable state.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18am

That was really entertaining. The turning controls felt too touchy to me, but once you get to the levels where you have the tethered planet, it became a lot funner. It's not everyday you get to swing a larger planet around you like a wrecking ball and smash it into an even larger planet.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38am

Fun physics sand box, I didn't seem to be able to turn properly anymore in the fourth level.
It's very satisfying to swing a rock into planets.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23am

"You should package the binary+data as a zip as well, so people can just download-unzip-run without downloading the whole source. "

- at the moment, this is my only option, as the Web seems to be offline. :(

Could you ZIP up the exe and data folder into one file please? Would like to play this.

storey.james says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Played for a non-trivial amount of time. good stuff!

Joshua_S says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Hi Dusty do you mind telling me which version you are trying to run? A exe and data folder should be in all the system downloads.

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03pm

You might want to fix your web link...

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04pm

You could make the background less blurry and add some details to it, but anyway it looks awesome

Joshua_S says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Ok web link should be fixed.

mutuware says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Potato!

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Enjoyed the moments of destruction! It's fun to play with the physics. The controls were too touchy for my taste, and I spent most of my time trying to wrangle my ship/planet into the right direction . . . but perhaps I just suck? Anyway, enjoyable game. I didn't make it as far as I'd like, but it was fun!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I thought this was fun to play with once I understood how to control. When i first started playing the game though, it was in a weird state where the menu didn't show up at first, so was a little confusing.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:43am

Pretty nice. I like the slight differences between stages having a good impact on the play.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:31am

Controls felt mirrored, nice idea. Destroying planets is fun ;)

dusho says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:41pm

weird controls..

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]