Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blueprint dude

by hate-marina - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Blueprint dude can walk through parallel worlds - overheated one and frozen one.

<left>, <right> to walk
<Space> to jump
<Up> in front of the doors to switch worlds
<R> in DIRE SITUATIONS

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you're constantly falling through the ground, try to turn off 3D flip in options :D
"Unable to share contexts" error - run version for Intel graphics (tnx simplesmiler for testing)

*** The path to game directory must contain only ASCII characters ***

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To run from sources/under linux:
python-pip install -r requirements.txt
python main.py

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#51Audio3.78
#96Graphics4.02
#116Overall3.75
#204Fun3.51
#279Theme3.63
#324Humor2.75
#350Mood3.24
#611Innovation3.09

Comments

anssipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:03am

Looks really nice! Can't wait to play... But first I need some sleep...

milgar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31am

Hey, when i try to download your source code chrome says its malicious... Can you upload it to github or something?

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:57am

Done https://bitbucket.org/2slow2handle/ld30/overview

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Wow, this is sick!! Totally love the graphics and the music is great! Clever gameplay with really good puzzle design, and the use of low-pass filter gives a clear indication when you're in the main world. Lovely concept, I think you should definitely extend this with more levels and commercialize it.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Nice gameplay and pretty art !

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Art is pretty nice, but I don't like that you don't know where the doors bring you. Kinda makes it trial and error to beat a level.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Great game!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:17pm

milgar: that's nothing to worry about though, chrome does that with uncommonly downloaded zip-files. You can still choose to keep it by clicking the small arrow. Still good to have it on git hub though!

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Nice concept and unique art style! Great music, too :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Graphics are very nice, the blueprint idea got really awesome.

BubbleChien says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:12pm

This is awesome! Very polished!

holgk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Wow! Fantastic graphic and mood. Nice game.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Very hard since 4-th level.
Also it seems that character moves very slow. Hard to jumm over the pit.

b5cully says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52pm

I do like this game. Nice work!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Pretty cool, really liked the idea. The "doors" as i'll call them were a little difficult to keep track of but thats probably memory. Really cool game though, nice job.

milgar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Thanks m8, didnt know i could still keep the file. I agree with Robinerd, you definitely sell this :)

FGM says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Fun game. I like the candy music. I don't know if you meant to do this or not, but when transitioning between worlds, you can still move. So I can reach areas that you may not have intended.

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18pm

> when transitioning between worlds, you can still move

It's supposed to be a feature and even necessary to reach some places but yes, I haven't tested all possible paths (e.g. you can cut off a corner on 6th level :D)

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Cool and fun game! It felt a bit of try/fail but it's pretty awesome.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Great concept with amazing execution :)

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14pm

I love the effect the fliped world has on the music.

theCoder15 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Loved the idea and how challenging it got as you got into higher levels

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Very well done. Surprisingly attractive, considering that I'm generally not into platformers.

erdnuss says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Really good graphics and audio! I also liked the world switching mechanic and how the background raster helps you to memorize the positions of the objects in the different worlds. I only had some problems with jumping, the jumps were too short for my taste. But that doesn't diminish the game very much. Great game!

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I loved the style, and the level design was really good. Sort of forcing the player to remember the layouts or die.
Some mechanics, like jumping before transitioning were a little tough to figure out though. Great game!

naksrifati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24pm

The graphics and sound are very nice. Had some truble with jumping, but overall like it)

stasss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Great art, interesting idea, keep going on, looks very polished.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:32am

Wow, excellent idea for a game. I gave super high marks for audio as it was so critical to playing. Nice job.

Yoni says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:14pm

The mechanic of jumping while switching world was a bit confusing at first. Also, picking the correct portal feels a bit like guesswork.
Otherwise, very entertaining game, and the graphic style is perfect!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Nice! I like all of the transitioning effects you have made!

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Cute game! I got stuck at level 4, in the wall, when teleporting. Sometimes it was hard to solve the puzzles as I couldn't see the other levels. Maybe make them visible in some way in the other dimensions as well. Maybe only around the portal when you're near it or maybe only the stuff that kills you. Anyway, solid game, I like the blueprint art style. Sweet music as well!

Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:26pm

that's all for now! great entry, 6 levels, 53 misses. Graphics simple and charming, interesting soundtrack, and well made gameplay.

CodeNMore says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Sweet game, great sound effects, and well polished!

runvs says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Nice game and art!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]