Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ports Ahoy! The Age of Trade

by Literal Games - Jam Entry

Connect trade routes across the Atlantic to join the Old World to the New. Build up your trade company to make great profits - but watch out for pirates!

MAKE SURE TO USE NODES TO DRAW TRADE ROUTES!

Controls:
MOUSE for most things.
ARROW KEYS/CLICK AND DRAG to scroll.
MOUSE WHEEL to zoom (or Q and A).
Click and Drag from Node to Node to make Trade Routes

Buy white trade ships to earn money, unlock ports with yellow explorer ships, and take out nasty pirates with red privateers.

Pirates are invisible, so pay attention, listen out and check where your boats disappear. Sending a red privateer to that waypoint will clear those salty dogs - be warned, each privateer is one use only!

Each port has wealth indicated by the red level next to it - the higher the red, the more profitable the port.

We really didn't have time to balance this, but it's a fun little almost sandbox game!

See if you can unlock every port and connect the world!

We didn't manage to completely fix the scrolling issue in a webpage - so if this affects you please use the Windows link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#99Theme(Jam)3.76
#116Overall(Jam)3.66
#119Audio(Jam)3.67
#154Graphics(Jam)3.99
#214Fun(Jam)3.33
#235Mood(Jam)3.36
#303Innovation(Jam)3.17
#380Humor(Jam)2.43

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:46am

Great graphics and UI. It seems a lot more polished then one would expect from a 72hour game too!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:21am

Very beautiful game and very well polished. The sound was amazing, it created a good mood.
Very good job!

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:22am

The music is great and the map is nicely drawn Alltogether the game is really fun to play. Good job :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:25am

A realy polished game with realy good gameplay.

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:48am

Great game. I really like the look and feel.

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Loved the graphics and audio, very nicely done! :)

Kyoutashan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Good concept of simulation game. Really polished for a 72h game.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Nice trading game. It could use a pause function and more clear ship selection at each port. Otherwise it looks and works great.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Overall, well done. The music and sound effects are perfect, not too intrusive. Great job!

zkenshin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Fun and pretty game. Enjoyed the music as well. Good job. :)

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01pm

The graphics and the world map are amazing! A bit simple in the mechanics, still very solid game.

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12pm

WooOOoooww!!
The path node system is very well made.
Love the graphic shapes

reidrac says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Really fun to play, excellent game!

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:52pm

I like the art style

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Beautiful game !

laremere says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:37am

Fun game! Pirates were annoying in that I would try to send a trade route to the new world but a pirate would kill it and I wouldn't know the exact path I took. I don't see much harm in showing where pirates have attacked? Great work overall with art and sound.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:28am

Thanks for the suggestion Iiamere, we did have some discussion about pirates and weren't sure exactly how we ought to do them. As it is the idea is that you need to watch to see where the ship goes missing, then send a privateer to take out the pirate. Might not be especially balanced so possibly more frustrating than fun, thanks for feedback!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Awesome game! Took a little bit to work out exactly how to create the routes but once I got that down the game took off! Great gameplay, graphics and idea.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Good point, definitely needs to be clearer on a number of levels: Port creation, Privateer management, pirates maybe, etc. But glad you enjoyed it!

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Very cool art and music! It was a bit unplayable though. Still nice!

obskyr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Samuel here! A wee bit disappointed with the name, nudge nudge, but oh wow it turned out well. It's really fun!

It should probably be a bit easier to send out privateers. Drawing a route all the way from Bristol feels a bit unnecessary when their route often doesn't matter at all. And there being no way to keep track of pirate attacks? That's just a pain.

Overall, though, I've had a load of fun building my trading empire and I'm so glad I decided to stop by both for the dev and the actual game! Great job!

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:40pm

This one has been on my to-do list since I saw the first screenshots on the blog. Very well done! :)

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:57pm

very awesomely polished game! great work! 5/5 except for the theme.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Fun game, liked the art style a lot.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Pretty impressive little blitz-trading game. Struggles a bit in Pepperflash, but visually nice an impressive! Only thing was took a while to figure out exactly how to get the ships moving between ports - didn't realise you had to map it from node to node. Pretty cool job all round!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Thanks Samuel, we did consider a number of your suggestions, haha. Thanks for all the feedback everyone! You're right DragonXVI, if we'd playtested properly we;d have found out that the nodes aren't very clear, and would have maybe made the path 'snap' to nodes easily.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Well executed piece and fun, not the most original idea, but still a very solid entry.

holgk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Very nice game.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I think this is the base of a great game incoming. I like micromanagement a lot already so I would love to see this become something bigger than this. With more upgrades and interaction. Graphics are not my style but they fit each other.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:52pm

It gets boring if you have full 'better gold' and 'faster ships', and I got that with 8 ports. :)
The menus were all so big, as if they were designed for touching, for clicking maybe smaller buttons would be faster to use?

Also im confused: it seemed possible to make trading routes go through multiple ports, but they only get money once?

But forget that, nice game!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:28pm

commodoreKid - I'd love to keep working on this game, we had so many stretch goals we'd have loved to have put in if we'd had longer so we got lots of ideas!

Dr - we didn't have much time to balance, so it's not too hard! Good point about the menus. And you're right about ships going through ports - they can be used as waypoints, its only the end and start that matter!

Eddy93 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Good job for such a short time! I liked how you used realistic places. Very polished

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Took me quite a while to figure out how to direct ships to their destination.

Once i did, this was a lot of fun. Love that you managed to put the upgrade-system in. Gives you a goal to play for. It was maybe a bit easy to make money, i never had to actually do a transatlantic trade route, lots of small ones in europe already make silly amounts of money with the side-effect of not having to bother too much with pirates.

Those are just small balancing-issues though, the idea and excecution for an LD-game is fantastic. Like the visuals, too.

markusfisch says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:01pm

That's a very nice game! I really like the colors and that spiky art style! Very well done!

Literal Games says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Thanks Lars and markus (glad you liked the art, drop shadows make things much sexier!) You're right Lars, it all needed balancing, like to reduce the amount of money you get from Europe and to entice you to make trades with America, but glad you liked the foundation!

SK16Games says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Very awesome and addicting game! Love it!

RetroEpic says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:18am

Really awesome game! My one crit would be that the popup confirmations tend to get a bit invasive - it might be better to do something like build this into the route dragging, so that the cost of sending the particular ship shows at your cursor position and updates as you drag.
Nice work!

Literal Games says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:41am

Thanks SK16!
Retro - I'm not entirely sure I know what you mean. When you make a trade route the distance and gold of that route does appear at your cursor position! Although maybe you're right that we didn't need the pop up, as the information about how much it will cost is already there.

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:15am

Not seeing pirates (or at least were I encountered pirates) is a bit annoying. It feels random AND too punishing. When you have a lot of trade routes, you may not remember what the one who just got destroyed was.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:33am

Nice audio and map. It would have been great to have an introductory tutorial, but I get that may have been out of scope for the jam. You could even turn it into a game with different levels. Make a post-compo version!

goerp says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Very nice game.

The graphics are great for a game like this. The menu, ships, sea, land are all the same nice style.
Nice music.
Good job for making a strategic game in this short amount of time.

A lose condition would have been nice. The game continued without trade routes and money which is pointless.
And I'm not sure about the pirate mechanism. It works, but is a bit weird with not seeing anything.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:03pm

congrats on the entry. i wanted to really love this game, the graphics are nice, ts pretty polished, but i had to really click around all over the place to figure out that dublin is all i could play with. i think some UI tweaks and playability fixes could make this really fun

nonetheless says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:52am

quite a nice entry, I like the graphics and music. making a route feels a little unintuitive for me, but overall great job :)

And I've also played other games of yours, 10 second army is quite amazing :)

Sandcrawler says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:45pm

The interface and overall art of this game looks great, the music and sounds are fitting. As mentioned in your postmortem the controls are difficult at times, and the gold income isn't very balanced. I saw pirates invade my ports twice in the 16 minutes I played.

I recorded my playthough of this, it will be uploaded to my channel on Monday the 15th. http://www.youtube.com/user/Ythmevge

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]