Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Frontier

by crezefire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(This game requires DirectX Runtime to be installed. Download the DirectX Runtime from here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=35 )

You have access to three different worlds (Red, Green, Blue). Switch between and navigate through the maze. Watch out because the maze if full of traps.

Traps can be anything from, switching camera angle and / or controls to teleporting you to another location.

You can switch colours by pressing 1 (Red), 2 (Green), 3(Blue) and then shooting into a wall. They all have 10 second timers to recharge.

EXPECT THE UNEXPECTED!!

GOAL: Find they key & then go through the door!!

CONTROLS:
1 / 2 / 3 - Change Colours
WASD - Move
Left Mouse Button - Shoot
Mouse - Look Around
Spacebar - Jump

CONTROLLER:
X / Y / A / B - Change Colours
Analog Sticks - Move and Look
Right Trigger (RT) - Shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#277Graphics3.56
#633Audio2.57
#663Humor2.17
#707Mood2.81
#817Innovation2.81
#820Theme2.84
#950Overall2.79
#1086Fun2.29

Comments

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Can't run because I'm missing XINPUT1_3.dll - will try on another machine but maybe this is a common problem?

SomeGreenGoo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:27pm

When I try to open the downloaded ZIP file in windows explorer I get the message "The compressed folder is invalid".

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Did not know what to do, just kept walking on the maze, just one question, it was made on the Unreal Engine 4 ?

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:31pm

me too.

Jvdo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:33pm

It looks like the archive is corrupted.

crezefire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:34pm

goffmog: I think XINPUT is needed for game to run / controller support.

SomeGreenGoo: Sometimes chrome blocks the file, go to downloads tab and click on "Keep", I'll try and upload a *.7z

Hyoga-3D: yes it was made in UE4. Also, you need to go around and find the key and then use to to unlock the door.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Can't open the zip..

egdob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:36pm

I think your server is aborting the connection early or something - I have tried three times to download, one is 12MB, 22MB and 30MB - despite the expected size to be 35MB.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Seems glitchy, I kept walking off the edges, getting black screens or flipping my screen. No idea how the color changing or firing mechanics worked after 5-8 minutes of play. Here's a video where you can watch some glitches and my thoughts [1:30]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3hqhky2cIA&feature=youtu.be

crezefire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Damn, thanks for the update though. I've now switched to Google Drive.

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

I can't chage colors :ะก Indication changed but maze always green.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Hey,that website seems to be having some trouble. Perhaps put it up on dropbox/google drive/ that one with the .go or something.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Ahh, upon refreshing, all was well.

simonnaus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:46pm

I managed to get atop the walls so I cheated a little :P. I like the Tron-like style, nice work on making all the veins glow!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:48pm

I was able to run it, zip seems to be fine. Was a little confused on what to do exactly.
Screen kept getting rotated, screen went black, fell off the edge, died from halos :)

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:51pm

I was unable to change colors, not exactly sure why, so I didn't get to test the game really, I just wandered a bit in the green maze. I like the style of the maze and the music, but hard to judge the gameplay here.

crezefire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:55pm

You can switch colours by pressing 1 (Red), 2 (Green), 3(Blue) and then shooting into a wall. They all have 10 second timers to recharge.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57pm

A bit difficult to navigate, slightly leaning more towards frustrating than challenging for me. Perhaps just because its difficult to get your bearings even when the camera is upright. Excellent style.
But its got some really cool mechanics, looks great and I liked the soundtrack!

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

The game isn't running because some dll is missing
I think it's visual studio redistributable ; you should've included it in the zip

Demorro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Dem Graphics!

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice graphics

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:38am

Very pretty game. The controls seemed to glitch out on me, like I would get pulled up into a wall and forward would move me backwards and such. Loved the aesthetics of the game though!

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:40am

Nice artwork and mechanics, good job on 48 hrs

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Reminds me of the newer Tron, Everything ran fine on my computer.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:07am

Could not run the .exe file.

PERECil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:12am

I'm not sure I'm encountering a bug, but some times, when I move throught the maze, I got some kind of black screen. Sometimes I can unstuck, sometimes I can't.

crezefire says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:23pm

The "bugs" are actually traps / obstacles :D

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:32pm

I did not really know what to do. Can you maybe enhance the description, so we know better what is happening?

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Oh my good... inspiring screens but does not run... I'll try to install directx and xna

Endurion says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Can't fairly vote as it doesn't run very good on my machine. I thought decent engines like UE would adapt.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

great game!

glbs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Pretty nice graphics!

DarkCart says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:41pm

I like the graphics.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Very unusual art style

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]