Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape From Animal Forest

by Skyfish - Jam Entry

A game made from the idea of seeing the forest through the eyes of different animals.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#83Mood(Jam)3.80
#156Graphics(Jam)3.97
#177Innovation(Jam)3.45
#204Theme(Jam)3.55
#229Audio(Jam)3.39
#268Overall(Jam)3.39
#384Fun(Jam)3.03
#487Humor(Jam)2.13
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:04am

I love the hand-drawn look of the game. The gameplay has a very nice progression to it as well.

Luin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Good atmosphere !

JetL33t says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Beautiful music/visuals and a pretty nice take on the theme.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Interesting and well-done, but I don't think animals work that way.

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Very good mood, nice work with the gameplay and I like the mood and theme. Nature is worth much more then what we do with it. Well done!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Is it possible to provide a linux download? Unity web player doesn't work in Linux.

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Really liked this. The art is beautiful and had an excellent, melancholy mood.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:37pm

It has a good music and the gameplay is simple and fun

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Looks beautiful (really unique approach), effective music and an interesting gameplay take on the theme! Found the controls a little tricky when trying to get all three animals past the boulder, but it's a really good idea overall, with solid execution. Great work!

Skyfish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28pm

ZNCatlaw: We've added a linux download now! Hopefully it will work, never done a linux build before. Crossing fingers that Unity does its magic :)

PinkNinja says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Nice game! Loved what you did with the theme and the criticisim behind it. Great working setting the right mood of the game. Congrats!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Sweet and simple, but at times deceptively hard... I liked it! Your SFX could use a little work, I think, and I also had difficulty with the controls--mouse might have worked a bit better? Click to interact, mouse wheel to swap animals, right click to initiate follow mode? Space to jump?

Still, it was a really relaxing few minutes, and I loved the idea. Thanks for the game!

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:21am

Strong melancholic mood and natural graphics make this game great! Also interesting gameplay concept, liked it.
Good job!

borgi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Great graphics, cool atmosphere! Nice job!

Tosic says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Fine idea nice interpretation of the theme, I like the game!

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Great atmosphere and interesting idea. I like how you must toggle between the animals to use their strengths. Having the pressure of the bulldozer coming after you made me hurry even more than I needed.

Superb submission!

dweebster says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Nice game and interesting theme! I really liked the hand drawn graphics!

lotusgame says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Very moody, good graphics and music ! I like the progression toward the final challenge. Excellent art game :)

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Nice entry! The controls / physics were a bit floaty and jittery, but I loved the style and mood of the game.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Really neat idea

suppi says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:20pm

really enjoyed this one! the art is awesome and really sets up the mood together with the audio. the mechanics can sometimes be a little bit annoying but still enjoyable. very nice idea and execution!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]