Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sunny Days

by Jacob123 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Everything is connected they say! Find out how true that is as you use the connections between sunflowers to teleport from place to place and get the gems to keep order and balance in this Connected World!

I didn't have time to add more levels or more effects, I still think it has potential though. It is a great demo!

Arrow Keys to move and A key to teleport between sunflowers.



*********** Post Compo Version is Up ************


Features:

-Fixed jumping and getting stuck bugs





Downloads and Links


Ratings

#494Mood3.06
#615Graphics3.00
#714Audio2.40
#870Fun2.68
#925Theme2.64
#983Innovation2.52
#995Overall2.73
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

Otopkin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24am

It was cool. Only thing that bugged me was that sometimes sunflowers got me 'stuck' rendering me unable to move

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:09am

Interesting concept, if slightly buggy. With some work this could turn into a fun platformer.

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34am

Fun concept and lovely art style. Kinda buggy and short, but shows what you were going for.

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:55am

While slightly buggy, can be fun and is a very interesting concept which should be built upon, and could be something great!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Interesting. I like the art style and the character animations are pretty cool.

Some glitches though. At one point a sunflower seemed to be pushing me away into the tiles. And then.. I got stuck somewhere.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Very cute art style. Jumping felt a little heavy, but overall a fun little game. :D

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Cute little game with a few bugs.

gnx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Oh wow this is buggy :D But in such authentic and retro way! This game instantly transported my thoughts to NES games. I actually think the jumping physics feel kinda great if it didn't lead you softlocking the game all the time.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Pretty buggy but I did like the art style and I really liked the whole using sunflowers to teleport between worlds mechanic.

samooJAM says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

Good effort :)

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:11am

I like the sunflower animation/shader. Could use music but the sfx work well. Walk/jump/fall animations are good but the landing feels weird because you are forced to stop.

The airtime of the girl might make for interesting gameplay if you had wind or other elements. Just having teleporting/mario castle door puzzles leaves room for innovation.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:11am

Interesting concept / memory game. Not a fan of the jump physics - was more like floating. I liked the sunflowers, but would have liked to see other flowers or things you could teleport to. Not sure how this game fit into the theme, too.

DinoHeaven says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Yay, just finished it! I enjoyed it. When I came to the last level I got into this "hmm I have to remember where this and that teleport goes" moment and I like that kind of gameplay. Nice work! :)

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:27am

Pretty good idea, but a couple suggestions (mostly pertaining to design):
Firstly, it's considered bad design to place one-way traps in a puzzle game; there was one level where you had no way of knowing which path was correct and the incorrect one would force you to kill yourself.
Secondly, there was no indication of where a flower would go when you warped; you couldn't tell if it was going to go back to itself, back to the flower you came from, or off to some other flower. You might consider making the warping rules a little more consistent next time.
I like the idea, though! Just needs a little work.

Also, link to my game, as requested: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=22782

cardboard says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:47am

Cool game mechanic and effects. Sometimes it was hard to tell which flowers I had just teleported from after teleporting (so I sometimes went in the wrong flower multiple times), but it was still puzzly enough to be interesting. The colors you used are nice; I think a lighter blue for the sky would make the contrast between the foreground and background more easy on the eyes. I enjoyed the game, but music would have let me enjoy it more.

ceosol says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:25pm

I was going to rate this game, but I only see the version you released on 8/28/14 on Gamejolt. Could you please put another link with the contest version up? Thanks.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:04am

I thought this was pretty quaint. I love the little girl graphic and i feel like i want to get places. but sometimes my poor feet just get stuck. kind of like getting cold feet, but without the cold. I discovered these beautiful magical sunflowers that took me to amazing places. This was the highlights of my adventures. :-) The cold feet was very hard to deal with. i like the wavy sunflowers.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Ceosol, there should be two files on GameJolt. One called SunnyDays.zip and the other called PostCompo.zip. The SunnyDays.zip is my contest version, it simply says 8/28/14 because that is when I uploaded to GameJolt, originally it was on itch.io.

Sorry for the confusion, but I ensure you it is the contest version.

ShadowStryker says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:26am

Compo version is pretty buggy, but it was a nice game regardless. I love the animation in this, I could have never integrated such smooth animation into my games. Even the little things like the flower movement were great, good job man.

ceosol says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:23pm

The bugs made this almost unplayable. She seemed to be hitting invisible barriers in a bunch of places that delayed her movement. This was a very cute entry. I think the jumping was really neat how she thunked down on the ground. It would make a nice post-comp puzzle platformer. However, I think the link to the LD theme was a little weak.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]