Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dreamonaut

by hbocao - Jam Entry

Hello there!

I partnered with same guys that I did last LD plus an amazing artist.

After this LD we need to call a shaman or else to bless us. I got sick, and one of my buddies kinda crashed his car (in the garage door) and when he was leaving to go home, the car battery was dead. Lucky us. hehe

This time around we planned to make a simpler game than last LD and I think we got it.
It's a simple story with simple gameplay. We hope you enjoy our game.

The "download" is a little big (around 20MB).

CONTROLS:
Standard input keys (W A S D) to move, and ENTER to shoot.

The game was made with:
- Phaser HTML5 engine
- Typescript
- Visual Studio 2013
- Photoshop
- Sound effects and music from http://www.freesfx.co.uk and Kevin MacLeod (http://incompetech.com)

The Team
- Programmers
* Fernando (fmtoigo@gmail.com)
* Filipe (filipe.scur@gmail.com)
* Henrique (twitter.com/hbocao)
- Artist
* Dyoni (dyonibtol@gmail.com)

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#81Mood(Jam)3.81
#113Graphics(Jam)4.13
#260Audio(Jam)3.33
#280Overall(Jam)3.37
#291Humor(Jam)2.63
#340Theme(Jam)3.25
#450Fun(Jam)2.92
#534Innovation(Jam)2.77

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:19am

Really good graphics. Scary zombies :< I like it :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Always nice to see some shaders applied right!

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:12am

Nice graphics! I would like to see a bullet sprite though, so you can gauge the shots more easily.

Kep says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:12am

Just finished. I enjoyed it, well done!

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:12am

great atmosphere. great graphics.

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:06am

The graphics were very pretty, I found the shader a bit distracting at such low pixel density. I liked the cut scenes quite a bit. The game mechanics could definitely use some polishing. Seeing where you throw would have helped. I was hoping there would be a bit more variety to the gameplay. Mood was great, and the game's message was quite nice.

psychonull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:11am

Great entry! I feel this game would be far better with some improvements in the game mechanics / controls.

Ossi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:23am

Loved the atmosphere and the message behind it! Great art too! Amazing!

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:04am

A really nice story with a sweet ending. Gentle and effective. The art style was great and the action segments worked well. I'd love to see it expanded to give them a little more variety. Good work!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:01am

I loved the story telling.
At start I miss to see the projectiles I fire, but after the zombies, you get used to it, and it makes sense since it's in a dream.
You did a nice job with the three different backgrounds and I appreciate the selection of music and sounds, the whole atmosphere is pleasant.

TautNerve says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:01am

I really liked the visuals and mood, I wish I could have
more precise idea of where my shots would land as it was
a little difficult to align it at times.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:29am

Even if the gameplay is quite simple, you made such a great work on mood and story that I felt connected to the game and I was really touched by this little girl situation. I just didn't liked the slow alpha death of enemies, doesn't help to see if you hit them or not. That said, the gameplay is fair in his collisions so it's cool.

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:07am

@All of you

Thank you very much for the feedback, guys (and girls?).

About the gameplay: yeah... it's simple and repetitive. We lost too much time learning the engine and Typescript, which we never ever saw it before Friday (Big mistake - doing the warm up weekend next time! hehe). We planned a few extra things like different attacks, power ups and more enemies, but we ran out of time. It's not an excuse, just a shame we couldn't make it. Maybe next time we can fill this "gap". We're glad that most of you can get past the simple mechanics and enjoy our little short story.
Keep on dreaming! :)

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:41am

nice graphics and audio. shooting is a touch glitchy, but fun overall a very artistic entry.

ripter says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:54am

That was a lot of fun! I couldn't stop playing until I won.

waynaul says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:58am

Great artwork. I like the pixelized style. Well done

gnx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Firstly, very nicely done with the game. It looks and sounds like a game that had more effort than 72hrs put into it. The graphics are a bit disorientating at first, but they do look very cool.

Mechnically I find it is a bit hard to estimate how to dodge projectiles and how to shoot enemies which made the game unnecesserily hard. I think you'd do well fine tuning the combat a little bit post-jam, because otherwise it is great stuff!

barryrowe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:31pm

I love the "high-res pixel" aesthetic. I also like the story, and attention to detail in the cut scenes. The game play in the school was a little tough. Sometimes enemies would spawn already shooting and the projectile was unavoidable. Strong entry!

bentog says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Cool pixel shader, but the aim needs some work. Nice sounds.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:01am

Nice Graphics and challenging game play. The story is simple but it was nice. Well done!

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:44am

Little scary game %)
Greate style and sounds.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:06am

Loved the graphics, and the zombie sounds were very good. My only criticism is that I couldn't see my bullets, but this is an enjoyable, well-presented, well-rounded game.

jahmaican says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:53am

Looks like cross-stitch, very pretty.

But you deserve an award for the worst controls of this compo. Seriously, enter to shoot?

udo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:48am

Very well done! I loved the graphics style! "If you can dream it, you can do it" :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Hey there,
Thanks for all the feedback. We certainly appreciate it! We're here to learn, so keep commenting.

A lot of people wanting to see bullets or some sort of bullet tracing. Should and can we change it?

@jahmaican Our first option was [space], but sometimes, in some browsers, the space would scroll down the page. In a last hours decision, we defined [enter]. I don't think it's that weird, though.

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:07am

Took me a few moments to twig onto the invisible bullets the player fires. Well rounded entry, enjoyed finishing it! :-)

Rehacked says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:38am

GREAT game. Really liked it and the concept.but only one thing there was no designer in your credits!!!!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:14am

Nice concept and execution. Good job.

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:12am

Had some trouble with the shooting mechanics in this game, visible player bullets and targeting reticules would have really helped.

renatopp says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Great visuals, really really good. I wish it had more pixels, but it is good anyway. The gameplay is kinda boring, but the overall is still pretty good.

sephyka says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Woaw, freaking game.
Very original graphics, it's the first time of my life I see this kind of visual!
Great mood with the frightening music!
As ossi, I really like the message behind it!

Ramiel says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:18am

Intersting graphics style.
Nice message. But it would be really helpful to see where you shoot.

davisan says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Great art style, sounds and story! They created a nice mood. The movement is good, just need to add some bullet/lasers to the attack :)

dokidoki says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:48am

I really like the art style, reminded me of cross-stitch too.
Small issue: I would run left, away from the boss while dodging, but twice there was a regular guy left after him so I had to run right to get him to finish the level.
Typo: "schoo"

lkr says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Lovely visual style, and a nice little story. The variety between the different worlds was great.

I wish your own projectiles were visible though.
The bosses were a bit on the easy side when they could be kited to mostly keep them from even shooting projectiles.

Fun game :)

caranha says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Very neat game. The game play is smooth, and the art style is really good.

One nitpick is that the "bang" visual effect clashes with the rest of the art in the game.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:45am

Nice mood. There's some minor issues with "shooting" though: It's hard to hit the targets unless you are pretty much standing on the same pixel row.
I was unable to finish the game (as I was having a hard time hitting the enemies and dodging) but I kinda see where it was going. It's a good entry overall with some nice graphics, audio and music.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:31pm

the pixel effect is really interesting, congrats on another LD!

gillenew says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:48am

A beautiful graphic style we have here, very cool game

Sascha says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Amazing graphics and great mood!

Chris says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:38am

Good use of framing narrative, and these visuals are to die for.

Larzan says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:38pm

fun to play, good gfx, love the idea with the story-cutscenes to connect the different levels, very nice!
Pretty tough the last level ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]