Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Linker

by Stals - Jam Entry

----------------------------------------------------
Note: We are currently making this into a full game, you can follow @StalsKnight on twitter for updates. We changed the name and it is now called Lintrix.
----------------------------------------------------

Living in different worlds,
we should build connections between them to protect our mutual hearts from destruction.
This is the part of our existence.

Made by:
Stas Korotaev
Svetozar the Strong
Alexander Nemov
Alexander Grishanin
Lind Erebros

If you are interested in the design process of the full version of this game -
please subscribe to this blog: "http://letsmakeagame.net/why-playtesting-is-imprortant/"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#30Audio(Jam)4.05
#35Overall(Jam)4.00
#42Graphics(Jam)4.43
#53Innovation(Jam)3.85
#53Fun(Jam)3.76
#69Mood(Jam)3.84
#148Theme(Jam)3.66
#319Humor(Jam)2.54

Comments

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Beat the game, super fun. Nice work!

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:43am

Lovely lovely game! I like the hexels artwork, and the game has a really great concept behind it. the music was good, and I thought it was challenging and fun to play! My only complaint was that the game screen was pretty big. It was too big for my resolution (1280x800) so it was a bit difficult to scroll up and down to properly play the game.

Sharkxx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Nice i liked the art style

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Wow. This is amazingly well-designed and polished. Finished the whole game. Ideas and criticism: a more rewarding end screen would be nice, but that's not a huge complaint. I feel like the right-click mechanic is not necessary since creating a new link will automatically delete existing links. Nice job!

kyyrma says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:55pm

The artstyle is absolutely fantastic, and the gameplay is smart as well. Very polished entry.

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Simple and beautiful art. I love trixels! Solid entry

RookMage says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Awesome levels. Really challenging, yet not annoying. I did encounter a glitch when the last enemy ship destroyed my world, the end screen had the restart and next level buttons overlaying each other.

Jaenis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Great style and very interesting game idea!

Robber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44pm

well developed and polished concept, also innovative and fun to play..excellent job! i assume we will see in the app stores somewhere in the future

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:32am

Very good and beautiful game.

mactinite says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:05am

Wow really cool take on a kind of puzzle/tower defense game. would be really fun on mobile.

Torandi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:28am

Made it to level 8 before I gave up, nice combination of puzzle and challenge.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:56am

oh man! I love the hexels graphics! love everything about it! :D

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Wooah awesome gameplay and concept. Cool graphics also *_* well done :)

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:05pm

super great! nice art style. nice soundtrack. great puzzling :D android version? *hint*

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice game, congrats!

Naytron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Really polished! Great work on all fronts, the game plays really slickly, the visuals are really sharp and vibrant and the music and sfx really help tie it all together. I don't know if maybe a health bar for the base objects would be useful, I couldn't really tell how many more hits I could take. Excellent work, otherwise!

mihaivdev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Great entry, I found it difficult but that's probably because I'm generally bad at defense/tactic games, and if they're combined with need for quick reactions, I'm doomed :). Great game mechanics, great graphics (Hexels?), music, and impressed that you added quite a few levels. Congrats and good luck!

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Graphics are great, kinda hard, but fun. Also controls are basic.

3CGames says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Excellent work, best game I've played so far.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:37am

+overall +graphics

Starts simple, quickly ramps up into instant death difficulty :)

Very good polished finished game :)

lasagnegames says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Very entertaining, couldn't finish it, damn, it becomes hard in the last stages!

creative630 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Fantastic! So nice to see an entry that places so much emphasis on level design! Finally!

Game looks lovey to boot and great to play. Well done!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Looks beautiful! Had this weird bug on level 6 where I won and lost the level at the same time I guess. I got the gameover screen with the "next level" and "restart" buttons on top of each other. (when I clicked on 'm, "restart" unfortunatly won)

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Love the art and music! This game-play feels like it would be great on a mobile device!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Really enjoyed the gameplay a lot as well as the look and feel of the game. Very solid concept and take on the theme. Good Job! I want to play again.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:16am

Oh that nice one! One of the best graphics and stylisation.
Графика правда порадовала %)

LeafThief says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:50am

Made it to Level 6. I have to say i played it on a laptop with a touchpad which might've made it much harder.
However: I found myself really drawn into this strange universe. It was partly because of the few sentences in the description. I loved the phrase "our mutual hearts." It set a tone for the whole game that really helped create a fantastic mood. It was subtle but I imagined populations inside the centerpieces. Millions of hearts sitting there hoping to survive, that nothing goes wrong in the Linking process.
The gameplay was simple but fun and challenging and the music was good. I especially liked the SFX when connecting two nodes.

My feedback or points where I think you could improve:
1) I think it's of utmost importance that you bring some of the setting/sentences in the description in there. I think you could really create a great experience overall if you were able to fuse a subtle story with your gameplay.
Maybe you could draw some inspiration from 'These Robotic Hearts of Mine (http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/585599)

2) Difficulty/Length: Considering that the difficulty ramps up quite quickly I think you could make each of the levels longer, which could also give more of a feeling of accomplishment.

That's all I can think of at the moment. Very well done!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Wow, those were a lot of levels.

Great entry. I got here through a little article on Spiegel Online (one of germanys biggest news magazines), they featured a bunch of games there, including yours.

Loved the Hexel-aesthetics, very rare style to encounter. Gameplay was perfectly excecuted, fits the theme, and was fun. Really really good.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:15pm

That had an amazing amount of polish, the graphics and sound were incredible, and they all fit together very well. My only complaint is that the gameplay itself wasn't very fun. It was mostly a game of trial and error, coupled with "can you click and drag fast enough". That's not my kind of game, so it may just be a preference thing. Either way, it was put together incredibly well.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:50pm

The game had very nice graphics and sounds. It was quick and easy to learn. I think it would make a good mobile game because of the 'tap and drag' mechanic between the worlds.

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:13am

Great entry! Had a blast playing this, but it escalates very quickly. That's part of the fun though, so I wouldn't change that.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Hey! You are on today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R3kmJ2DDWPE

Dissiden7 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:28pm

One of the best games I tried yet. Flawless.

Tom Gardiner says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Nice concept, but I found it a little difficult. I really like the art style and music!

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Great art and and interesting concept. I wish the gameplay went faster.

mechabit says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:00am

fun mechanics and simple to understand, would make a great tablet game. Disconnecting is pretty pointless as making a new connection breaks old ones anyway unless there were friendly units later on which you had to let through. For any game with lines for connections I always prefer swiping across them to disconnect cos it feels like cutting a rope, especially on a touch screen.

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:21am

That's a very cool gameplay hook. Really well executed too - great work guys!

Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Nice use of Hexels! Really slick overall and very well done for Jam. Very easy concept to grasp and nice art/music. Good job. Would maybe speed up the lower rounds so you don't get bored waiting.

SK16Games says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Very innovative gameplay, you should port this for mobile devices, that could be a potential succes! +5 in innovation!

jjhaggar says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:32am

Great music and addictive game :) I would add a health bar or something similar to the base(s), and another end screen a bit more rewarding XD (some more text like "You saved our worlds. Blah blah blah... Thank you for playing!" would do ^_^) Anyway, I liked it a lot! :D

Xanjos says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Really cool gameplay idea which fits the theme very nicely. I actually like how you need to have quick reactions to change your links on the harder levels.

pythong says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:24am

great music, nice defense game!

ReddogStone says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Very tense and fun game with a nice atmospheric sound-track.

runvs says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Nice Game! I really like the art style (great colors) as well as the background music. I could imagine this game great on mobile devices. Difficulty was not an issue for me.

Jod says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Very pretty indeed!

brookman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:18am

5/5. This game is simply great!

tbam says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Pretty fun, really well polished.

panurge says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Hit level 7 before getting repeatedly overwhelmed. :) I'm going to go back for another try in a bit.

Lovely clean graphics and sound with a really smart concept. Addictive and enjoyable to play. Good work!

Nanolotl says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:16am

Really intuitive controls and a great overall feeling. Great job.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:31pm

really polished and smooth, congrats on the great entry! i really love the concept

Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Love the graphics, the game feels really nice. Well done. I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3RN80xyak-c

TaoPhoenix says ...
Sep 23, 2014 @ 4:45pm

I beat the game too. I would def say a touchpad is a handicap because hand coordination is as much as strategy. Really clean design!

People who want my detailed comments can go over to DonationCoder.com! : )

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]