Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

People Manipulation Sim

by NikB - Jam Entry

In Love you obtain
In Hatred you cast away
In Fear you evade
Unless you don't mind


_____________________________________

I really mean you can manipulate those People easily.
Achieve goals. Make things. Enjoy your stay.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Innovation(Jam)4.42
#43Humor(Jam)3.79
#66Overall(Jam)3.83
#108Fun(Jam)3.57
#204Theme(Jam)3.55
#228Mood(Jam)3.37
#440Audio(Jam)2.90
#458Graphics(Jam)3.19

Comments

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19am

Cool idea! Would love to see this expanded upon!

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:29am

Nice one! Although there's too many rules and the fact that all of them are explained at the same time makes it confusing. Good job though!

4xisblack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:31am

Clever! Funny! Compelling! You've got yourself a videogame here.

Rehacked says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43am

Good Job.takes a little time to understand the rules but game was fine after understanding them.

awsumpwner27 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59am

I love this game. It's so clever.

camlang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:13am

Fun game. I think it will be possible to develop further, because the idea is very cool.

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:16am

Really Cool! Would love to see it evolve!

Norgg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:18am

Fun puzzles, enjoyed finding slightly alternative ways of solving them like completing the last level without any killing.

togie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:20am

really good idea

chrupp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:20am

Very nice game! Cool mechanic!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:23am

Great job. This is certainly unique.

Ellian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:41am

Amazing entry.
Took me a while to really understand how it works, but the polish level is insane and it's all working so well...
I had trouble with the last level because I couldn't figure how to kill someone, but I won without it. Wish there was more!
Congrats!

pirate-rob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:29pm

This was very entertaining. Although, sandbox mode I think requires more options, like spawning items and people.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:56pm

That was really interessting. Good work!

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:07am

Hm...Chrome is flagging your .zip as malicious (not uncommon--which happens a lot for LD games--malicious). Not sure what there is to be done about that, but figured I should point it out to you.

NikB says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:47am

@SnoringFrog, Chrome does the same thing in my case. However, you can still save the zip. Or, if it gives you no option for that, try turning off phishing and malware detection:

https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/99020?hl=en

@CoopNasty, @Phaix, @pirate-rob, working on a post-compo version, that features more levels and sandbox achievements.

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:08am

Haha, really nice game. Love it!

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:10am

It's a bit hard to get all the info that is thrown at you at the start, but the game is really fun and interesting when you get it. Nice work!

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:27am

This is a great idea. I love it.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:14pm

the game got flagged on download but i still tried it
The game itself is pretty confusing due to the info overload, but overall a great entry

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Different game, it's cool!
Good job!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:03pm

I really like the idea of this game. Blending feelings to get objectives done. I also found it pretty humorous.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Very cool mechanic, simple yet complex. Would love to see more.

Mallot1 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:39am

I really like this game! Good job! :D

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:14am

Genius. Calculating the steps was a bit difficult, but thank you for showing what the result of the transaction would be.

grillaface says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:32pm

no mac :(

Sunflower says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:16pm

I had to read carefully to understand mechanics, but once I got the hang of them, game was pretty cool. One of more innovative entries, definitely!

kibertoad says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Great idea, but it could really use a better interface. Hope you postjam the hell out of it.

Tosic says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Idea is really nice, I like the way you interpreted the theme, but all those formulas may be hard to remember and sounds can be a little bit annoying, but it is a good game!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:20am

That was really interesting. Although i found the explanation from the tutorial a bit too heavy. You should make it more simple and take a step by step tutorial approach so that it doesn't overwhelm people. Maybe like make the tutorial integrated with each level. Anyhow I enjoyed the game ! nice job

cstudios says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:31am

The puzzle element is very interesting. The social manipulation is more less pure math, but still fun! Realy clever idea, a must play. I sent it to my fiancee to try it out (shes a psychologist). Nice job!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Really nice entry, I see the potential here for a really big, crazy game. With a lot of character development and plot twists xD

dunin says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:27pm

weird but fun game.
litlle hard to understand (I don't play post-jam version for now...)

Pierrec says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Awesome mechanics! Now you should try to explain them little by little rather than before the game start. One of the most innovative entries. Reminded me of Benmergui's Storyteller

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:07am

I found this game fun, but in a different way to most other Ludum Dare games. Good job! Although it does need a bit more before it becomes a 'game', I think.

I would've like a less overdone song, but whatever

Magewalkr says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:19pm

very good take on the theme well done

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Solid entry :)

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Learning how to play was a bit difficult. I would suggest gradually introducing ways to play instead of doing it all at once. Sort of think Super Meat Boy and how they gradually have you learn parts of the game! It's definitely more work, but something to think about in the future. :D Overall great work! It was fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]