Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

New World

by LabOne - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Defend your trade routes. Build War Ships or Fast Boats. Earn money and grow cities.

Control.
Select with left mouse button.
Move with right mouse button.
ZoomIn/Out with mouse wheel.

v1.006 AI Blocking bug fixed
v1.005 movement bug fixed
v 1.0

Anyway, you can destroy ships with Delete.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#468Graphics3.21
#578Fun3.02
#628Overall3.14
#677Innovation3.00
#687Theme3.07
#694Humor2.13
#776Mood2.74
#936Audio1.76

Comments

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:54am

Happened as I moved the ships around on the first wave, seems like a fun version of like a Tower defense though.
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object objShip:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get 100482.x(0, -1)
at gml_Script_scrShipMoving (line -1) - <unknown source line>
############################################################################################
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
stack frame is
gml_Script_scrShipMoving (line 0)
called from - gml_Script_scrShipStep (line -1) - <unknown source line>
called from - gml_Object_objShip_Step_0 (line -1) - <unknown source line>

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:56am

Nice job! Occasionally a couple ships would get stuck on each other and wouldn't be able to move. I also could buy ships as long as I had any gold, even if it was 1, and my gold count would go into the negatives.

If you continue this, maybe make it so that if all your ships are destroyed, the enemy ships try to destroy your towns.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02am

Awesome! I love strategy games! very fun!

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10am

Awesome, great job!

Krimble says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15am

A few bugs with ship movement but overall a good game. Nice Work :)

LabOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:16am

@DragonMaster21
Thank you. Yes, the Ship can grounding, it is normal for ships. You can delte them with Del key.
Yes, Cities may have a little debt.

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20am

A bit buggy (ran into stuck ships and eventually a crash on the 4th wave). Also, I noticed that I could run towns into negative gold... running a trade deficit, I suppose?

LabOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34am

@hyouko Thank you for 4 wave information.

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36am

You eventually get an error

LabOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:00am

@Skills641
Error fixed, please check again

LabOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:29am

For one who read the comments. Thera cheats in this game ;)
Press W for new Wave, press M for mone, when city selected.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50am

Wow this is a really great game and made fun :) Good Job

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:41am

Aside from some AI blockage issues, a really nice strategy! Well done. :)

Peping says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44am

I love me some strategy games. This one would be awesome, but the ships get stuck all the time. I would really love to play this, but fixed.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Nice, looks really good :)

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Chrome is warning me that the zip and exe downloads are malicious. I ran it from source and it seemed ok.

Ships can get stuck in each other and it really is a shame that there are no sound effects. I don't see how this game fits the theme.

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52pm

It's unclear why you should have ships trading? Or what good building houses does? Unfortunately this game suffers from lots of pathfinding issues.

LabOne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Headmade, laremere, thank you for comments.
I am going to fix pathfinding problems in a couple of days.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:05am

Reminded me of Civilization I in terms of graphics. Game design is well done here. Nice entry!

LabOne says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Friend, i am fixed pathfinding issues... but there are some shaccking ships now... but game play is much better, enjoy.

phi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:39pm

It's quite pleasing to click around and build stuff, but I don't feel like I'm making any progress. This is a good start, but it needs clearer goals.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:47pm

So cool and very well polished. Like it

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Very good game, intuitive and fun

ix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Neat concept. Ship motion was pretty frustrating, though.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Seemed good, but I didn't really figure it out. I found some of the text hard to read. The graphics were nice.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:05am

had a couple of stuck ships here and there, couldn't quite understand how to play it either...

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Both issues I found, DragonMaster21 already mentioned. The 'nervous' ships when they try to occupy space close to eachother and the money going in the negatives makes it less intuitive. Works good and looks fine besides that. Plays well.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Interesting ideas, but the AI / ship pathing seems to break too much so it's hard to make things happen. I liked the zoom and the little sprite graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]