Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Outer Threat

by ypr - Jam Entry

A game where you need to connect worlds to withstand increasing alien threat

Click on planets and drag to make connections
Click again to remove the connection.

When you connect planets, they share their resources. Icy planet produces shields. Arid planet makes weapons. Jungle planet produces food which increases regeneration speed and Urban planet trains skill fighters who can shooot longer.

How long can you sustain the hoards of aliens?


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#95Theme(Jam)3.77
#134Innovation(Jam)3.55
#384Fun(Jam)3.03
#414Overall(Jam)3.18
#463Humor(Jam)2.22
#481Mood(Jam)2.92
#554Audio(Jam)2.44
#604Graphics(Jam)2.83

Comments

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Good concept, however there's not much to do that really affects the gameplay.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Haha nooo I got swarmed :D Pretty good idea and neat execution. It might be better if planets buffed each other a bit more. For example if the jungle planets regeneration buffed faster you could keep going for longer if you could micro properly? As it stands now you have to assign the jungle planets buff and then leave it for quite some time, meaning you don't have anything to do (apart from stare in horror as your other planets get ravaged :P). Still pretty fun game though.

ypr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01pm

well, making healing planet heal is actually a good idea. I think I can update that one.

ypr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Added tutorial screen. I hope now it makes at least some sense

Maek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:07am

Too much text for me... but good game.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:11am

Loved the concept.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

2349, great fun! I found the click areas for the planets to be a bit off sometimes and it was very frustrating that all connections broke when a planet died. But seriously good work, props on the sound effects, made be feel I was 20 years younger :P

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:07am

I really like games like this. Something about setting things up like this and just letting them take their course. Well done.

Zambini says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:37pm

A great resource game. Very well designed. My one gripe is I felt like I needed to be able to do more than just connect the planets, even if it was a simple timed action i could do, like a bomb that I could deploy once every 500 ship kills or something.

Overall, though, very fun! Great pew effect :)

ypr says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:16pm

wow, thanks guys, for your reviews. it's my first-time on ludum dare.

I'm still working on this, and hope to publish a post-compo version soon.

moi93101 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Simple, fast and good good gameplay ! Just the sound can hurt my sens ;)

AmberStorm says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Wow! Pretty tricky at beginning, but really fun :)

kyru says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Interesting game, might need a bit more to keep people interested for a long time, but it was fun for a while.

Lvyn says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Did not understand at first, but then was very entertaining ^^
Great !

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Excellent! 1760 points! When one planet went down the others were quick to follow. Very good metaphor on what happens with interconnected systems. As some said, adding new mechanics or a way to level planets up that also made use of the connections would be good to keep up some more time from being swarmed. I had lots of fun playing your game. Great job!

swich says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Not bad :) My complaint would be that you can't see/feel very well how the numbers affect anything.

doomista says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:20pm

3370.. with more and more ships on screen the connection system got somehow buggy. I was unable to make a path from one planet to another, it constantly tracked another planets as triggered.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]