Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Just an ordinary day (10UP edition)

by J-d-H - Jam Entry

You play just an ordinary day in the life of a saleswoman and a poor husband.

Can you please both of them?


Play with WASD123 and mouse click for advancing dialogues
ESC opens a small menu to change language if you aren't satisfied with your first choice...

WARNING: This game is highly connected
We tried hard to eliminate bugs. But the amount of connections is just overwhelming.
I apreciate any comments about inconsistencies or bugs related to the connection of the 'worlds'.

[BUG WARNING FOR NEW PLAYERS WITH MINOR SPOILER]:
There is one known breaking bug: If you manage to get the clerk loosing dialog after successfully playing the husband and after having successfully played the clerk before playing the successful husband, the game will not continue after start of the loosing dialogue (ESC-menu should still work though).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#58Humor(Jam)3.63
#270Innovation(Jam)3.22
#284Theme(Jam)3.38
#295Graphics(Jam)3.58
#376Mood(Jam)3.10
#417Fun(Jam)2.97
#504Overall(Jam)3.03
#620Audio(Jam)1.93

Comments

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:47am

I ENJOYED THIS. that old man in the back cracked me up haha, I just went to see what was back there and he gets out a machine gun and gats me???! hahaha
Also, localization in a game jam? That's awesome!

ivanhlb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:30am

Well it's more of a visual novel/adventure, but the lack of sound doesn't really help.

Good effort on the graphics and branching story thou.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:35am

Interesting interpretation of the theme and funny story, audio would have been nice though.

Makio64 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41am

Lot of humor, was fun ! In the control if we can switch to the next dialogue by putting any key instead of clicking it will be great :)

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41am

Nice graphics.

Not sure why all the controls are on the keyboard in a way that makes you have both hands on there, but then you still need to use the mouse to advance dialogue.

J-d-H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17am

Sorry, no time left for improving controls. And of curse, besides time, playing all the development tests with wasd and 12 on the left hand the mouse in the other didn't let me think about just adding something like space for advancing dialogues...

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:32pm

I liked it :D
Nice interpretation, and the clerk is always f****d xD

Polona says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Great game. I cannot stop laughing. After playing the english version i had to see also the german one. This was even funnier.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Hi there. Strange game! Liked the art and story. Shame had to click mouse to advance story dialogue.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:37am

Really interesting interpretation of the theme. I liked that my choice effected me in the next character I played. I'd love to see a longer version of this game.

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:43am

I enjoyed it and replayed to see how the alternate connections went. Nice little adventure!

SilverToad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Take me a blaa! +)))

Manou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Good retro feeling.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Great game! I like the graphics and the jokes and it was an interesting interpretation of the theme. I like it.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

[SPOILERS]

Ah! The first time I played this I think I tried every combination of choices, but I'd always die -- (started with the husband, then played as clerk, leaving the coin and expecting the husband to pick it up?). I might not have understood maybe that the game is stateful, or I might have encountered a bug. But the second time through I played as the clerk first and all was well. A neat game with some good humor and graphics. I enjoyed it a lot!

J-d-H says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:17am

Thank for all the replies.
BUG WARNING FOR NEW PLAYERS WITH MINOR SPOILER: There is one known breaking bug: If you manage to get the clerk loosing dialog after successfully playing the man and after having played the clerk before, but without getting the loosing dialog with the clerk after playing the clerk. The game will not continue in this case (ESC-menu should still work though).

Jaucheman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Very nice Game with good humor and graphics!

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I really enjoyed your interpretation of the theme. However this is entirely story based, like a visual novel. There's nothing wrong with that exactly but I'd like to have something more to sink my teeth into.

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Interesting experiment in connected storytelling. I liked it!

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:19am

This was a simple idea, but I really like how it was executed! Excellent graphics and I wouldn't have thought to use "Connected Worlds" in that way! I didn't entirely understand how to get a reward for the good ending though ^_^ Good job!

01101101 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:13am

Great original effort! We'll think about localisation next time too!

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Too bad there isn't sounds

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]