Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Constellation

by nxT - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A relaxing strategy game about creating a resource-delivering constellation of stars.

I took the theme literally. Connect the resources together.
There's a length limit for each link, they must fit into the constellation
The game will get probably get difficult quickly.
(Post-Compo Bonus Easy Mode: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/25891120/db2/Constellation%20LD.html)

Controls:
-Arrow keys
-Mouse
-R to regenerate the map / restart
Pay attention to the red 'error messages'; they will help you understand.

Built with HaxeFlixel and nxColor.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#24Audio4.00
#82Theme3.95
#124Mood3.61
#414Innovation3.35
#419Graphics3.30
#618Overall3.15
#934Fun2.60
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07am

Had a very difficult time playing (lots of error messages, I have no idea why), but the art is beautifully simple

nxT says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:18am

Error messages? The red text is there to tell you what to do - hopefully not game issues?

From Smiling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:09am

Sort of difficult to play and maneuver, but a really neat concept! Fun to theorize and I liked the theming! ' v '

Gunn3rboi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:51am

great concept, difficult to play and im not really much of a strategy master but was very interesting and great sound track.

francoisvn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Interesting concept. Would have liked to know how much a connection would cost before doing it. Also, cancelling connections after starting them would be nice. Finally, some more transparency on the mechanics might also be good.

I think it could be really cool to build up a space trading empire this way.

malf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:32pm

It may be due to me having the flash player debugger installed but it gave errors two times (i could continue by clicking in the dismiss all)

Very difficult to play , loved the music

Aglavra says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I get error messages often. They looks like "Error creating link. xxx.xxx required", where xxx.xxx is some numbers (coordinates?). Nice graphics and sound though.

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Great concept! I wish it were a little more balanced (maybe by removing a couple of items?) but I had fun and was able to make a whopping 10.75 a year :D

nxT says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49pm

I was disappointed I didn't have more time to balance it as well :/
Dang, I wish I hadn't gone with the 'starmap' thing because it looks like the red flavour text is getting confused for real errors

juakob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56pm

I think the game has potential, now its really hard to know how to play it right. Music and graphics are excellent

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:06am

I really liked this game after I figured it out. Could be very interesting to develop further. I do wish it didn't pause when the game does not have focus.

I would really like to know more about the rules, and it would be great if the max link distance was greater, but overall a really interesting game.

smizmeal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:44pm

It was a little confusing at first (took a little while to figure out what to do), but it was good after that. Something to check out for is when the planet hover text goes off screen, you could shift it up/over. I like the names of the planets. Nice game!

stvr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:52am

Very neat little trading sim, if it were a bit easier to play, it'd be a hit for sure.

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Never found a way to be profitable, even when I found a group of stars that would provide each others nicely and linked them together I was loosing money.

There is some potential, but I feel like playing with a set of random numbers with no guarantee I can get something out of it.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:01am

The randomly generated universe creates new game each time, but on three tries, it doesn't appear that close planets really want to exchange goods.
Maybe more feedback on what transactions are happening could help prevent loosing all our money.
The music is surely relaxing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]