Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Heaven or Hell

by EMAK - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Help St Peter who connect earth and heaven to lead dead peoples! but beware of the devils who wants to invades heaven's sky...they should go in hell!!

Use left and right arrow keys to move St Peter.


Note: this is my firt entry in compo, very hard to manage the time. So I wasn't satisfied of my music that the reason why I decided to remove it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#4Graphics4.65
#103Humor3.33
#110Overall3.76
#178Fun3.55
#229Mood3.41
#239Theme3.68
#468Innovation3.27
#626Audio2.59

Comments

pa3kc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19am

Awesome graphics and fun humor!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:40am

this is fun! :3

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47am

Incredible pixel art! I felt really bad sending good people to hell...

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22am

Wow! Tougher than I anticipated. Gorgeous artwork!

bladderbloat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28am

Very good looking! I felt bad sending the "evil" ones to hell so I sent all the good ones there instead and gave the devil dudes a break in heaven, it did cause me to game over myself though.. Fun!

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23am

Funny game!

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24am

I really enjoyd playing this game. It's really simple, but it plays great. I did miss some background music.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26am

Love the pixel art!

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27am

I'm probably the worst St-Peter ever but I had a lot of fun ! The graphics are awesome, very nicely done !

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28am

Great artwork!

Julgodis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:34am

Has a good balance between challenging while still remaining fair, a great use of the theme and the pixel art is very well made, overall pretty well made

mar3k says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35am

Really nice game and I really like the art work. It would be a great game for mobiles! ;)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:21am

Nice idea, excellent pixel art too. gets difficult in a way that in lots of cases it isn't even possible to save everyone, but the game isn't overly hard. Nice work.

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Amazing!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Nice art !

ittlebit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Excellent Art, Very Polished!

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Impressive art, the game is easy but a bit random. It only need a music on top to be fantastic. Keep up the good work.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Very nice art style and the gameplay were very nice too.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Awesome art!

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Nice idea but on later levels it got quite difficult to juggle all the people coming through. Has fun.

Laralyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Great game! One of my favorites so far. I'd love to see a full version of this where the puzzles evolve and you have to make more challenging evaluations of whether folks should go to heaven or hell. :-)

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Really nice graphics, I like it!

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:08pm

God really needs to figure out a better sorting system! But I digress, this was a hilarious game. Amazing art, good amount of challenge, and fun gameplay.

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I don't know how many good souls I dropped into hell and I still won. If I was a good person all my life and this happened to me, I'd be pretty pissed. My Peter should not have been rewarded for such a poor performance XD

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Gameplay's fairly basic but easy enough to understand. Spritework & visuals are gorgeous :D

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Awesome walkcycles! Love the art, love the idea, but at level 3 I was already the worst St Peter :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:13am

Amazing graphics and gameplay! Very nice interpretation of the theme.

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20am

Great pixel art.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:37am

good artstyle. may have really been better with some good music :)

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:43am

great pixel there

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Very fun to play, perfectly matched for this theme. One thing, I'd make controls less accelerated. I'd play this on my tablet / phone. Congrats for the great entry!

jojocanard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Super mignon et sympa à jouer. Bavo

Carduus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49pm

With a simple mechanic you did a very fun timing based game, it's just awesome !
Wellcome in da real compo hood!
Pixels are great! GG sensei!Wohooo!I' hope you'll kick Nicolas's ass ;)

schizokoa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:36pm

So beautiful!

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:03pm

After first level I was thinking "piece of cake" and them everything was going to hell. Except the bad guy, they were going to heaven :) Anyway, good idea and awesome graphics!

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Good graphics and gameplay. Became rather hard very quickly!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Adorable, so authentic!

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Pretty fun game, actually! Loved the visual style.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Awesome game you got here! Lovely art and interesting concept! Tho I feel like the mechanics are a bit limiting when there are more than one gap, I want that perfect score! ;)

Frump says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:45am

The website seems to be down. I can't download or play the game. It's a shame, it looks pretty cool in the screenshots.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:59am

Can't get it to work for me. :-(

EMAK says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:44am

Sorry for the connection problems it's seemes to be fixed now.
Thanks a lot for all your comments. I'll propose a post compo version with music and more polish graphics.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:58pm

The graphics and theming are really strong, and I like the simplicity. I think the difficulty balance in the character spawning could use work. By level three it was routinely spawning good guys right in a row at such a distance that I literally couldn't support both of them. And devils would overlap with good guys so that supporting one meant supporting the other. Later on it felt like I was just working to mitigate mistakes and push the game towards an average positive gain, which was a slow and sometimes unrewarding process! I think it could benefit from a crowd-control ability, like being able to push good guys back in order to better sync up with a group behind them.
I still really like the game, though.

dylanwolf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:03am

Great concept, and the theme and retro feel are wonderful. It's a simple mechanic, but it's really tricky to master.

DDFranky says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:30am

Awesome game! Also, one of the devil got stuck inside the terrain...does that mean that I just created the Limbo?

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:44am

I loved this! What a great interpretation of the theme!

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Great game! The gameplay is original, simple and fun. The graphics were really cute, too. Love the pixel art!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:29am

Loved the artwork and humor

deepnight says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:54am

The graphics and animations are top notch, good job! *_*
The gameplay is nice, but a little more balancing would be cool: slower soul movements and a way to stop one for a few seconds (like: press SPACE to cast St Peter Battlecry which freezes souls around him for 2 seconds). It would allow a little more strategy :)
Minor bug: I was able get people stuck in the ground (by pushing them with the cloud).

Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Good graphics and fun to play

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:51am

Hah! This is funny and non-traditional game idea =)
Good one!

howkj1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Fun and addictive, yet challenging. High quality graphics with an old-school feel. :)

kyyrma says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Duuuude, you made all these graphics in 48 hours? I am absolutely blown away, really good work.

AlexDJones says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Really great concept for a game, executed well with simple gameplay but a well balanced difficulty. And the art is really well done!

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Very polished. Nicely done.

Pfeyffer says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:32am

A lot of good people went to hell today. Awesome pixel art and fun to play.

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:41pm

The presentation was absolutely superb here. The little animations were charming, I particularly liked the devil's triumphant mugging as it ascends to heaven. Only problem was I was so busy focussing on St P I couldn't appreciate them as much as I'd have liked. The upshot of that also was that I was relying on audio queues for how well I was doing - the fact you managed to get audio in at all with so much art to create is commendable but a couple of different sounds to distinguish 'success' and 'failure' would have helped... Great stuff

greytram says ...
Nov 11, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Very cute graphics and nice sfx! The game idea is simple but funny.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]