Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

RedBlue Prototype Weapon

by gamedevBear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first entry into Ludum Dare, a bullet hell shmup.

Only bullets of the opposite color can hurt you. Running into bullets that are the same color as you will charge your super weapon. Strategically switch colors to avoid damage.

Gamepad:
A: Shoot
B: Switch World Affinity
X: Use Special Attack

KB/M:
WASD: Move
LMB: Shoot
RMB: Switch World Affinity
Middle MB: Use Special Attack

Engine: Unity
Graphics: Paint.NET
Sound: Bfxr

Edit: Disabled the context menu in the web version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#739Fun2.84
#751Overall3.00
#766Mood2.75
#825Audio2.17
#1029Innovation2.42
#1035Theme2.39
#1076Graphics2.20
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06am

Cool concept - reminded me a lot of Ikaruga.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15am

I like how life bars are shown for each enemy.

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39am

That got pretty overwhelming fast! lol

leondryaso says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Good game, but when I click with RMB in web player, it opens up a context menu, so I can't react quick enough

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Nice concept, but really hard game :(
Thought of Ikaruga as well ;)

gamedevBear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:54am

Disabled the context menu in the web version. Thanks for letting me know :)

For those having difficulty getting to the boss: Stick with red so you can ignore the majority of the bullets, and focus on killing the large blue enemies first. They don't shoot directly in front of them, and you do double damage while red.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:09am

THANK YOU FOR THE CHALLENGING GAME!!! It seems like a lot of the entries this LD have been on the easy side, and this game does not fall into the "boring" category. Best of luck to you!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:35am

Neat! I do think the player's hitbox is a little big for this kind of bullet density, and I found myself staying on red most of the time because using the face buttons made switching awkward.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:59am

Great game, WAY too hard, couldn't get that far.
So I can't really do a proper review... :/

mipi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Nothing happens after the boss has died, that was a bit disappointing. The boss felt pretty epic with all the bullets flying around you.

dusho says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:36pm

waaay too hard, nice idea though

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:50pm

The only thing I found unfairly hard were the bosses fast blue bullets in "phase 1". They killed me more times than I want to admit. On one try there was also an enemy that was so close to the edge of the screen that I couldn't shoot it normally. The player ship is also a tad finicky to my tastes. The shooting sound also got really annoying after a while. Nice little proof-of-concept / Ikaruga-lite anyways!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]