Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Light In The Darkness

by TobiasW - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a cooperative drop-in/drop-out online multiplayer game. You are flame bearers, braving the darkness, carrying letters and escorting travellers through the eternal darkness between the mountains to the south and sea kingdom to the north.

Are you alone? Maybe press Space and wait for somebody before picking up the torch. The game will beep if somebody else joins, so you can keep it in the background while you wait (F2 turns off music). Or give the link to a friend - it'll only take a few minutes to win.

If you really want to, you can play alone. It's a bit hard, though.

Controls:
- Arrow keys: Move
- Move on item: Pick up item
- Ctrl: Drop item

Type text to chat.
Press Return for new line.

Push against stone to dig.
Push against water to make a bridge.

Go north. Ignore sounds in the dark. Don't let the flame die.

-----------------------------------------------------------

Font Credits:
- Candela Bold by La Tipomatika: http://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/Candela
- You Murderer BB by Nate Piekos: http://www.1001fonts.com/youmurderer-bb-font.html

You'll need to add 2D Toolkit to compile the code: http://www.unikronsoftware.com/2dtoolkit

-----------------------------------------------------------

Changelog:
- 25.08: Fixed a one-line bug with the user ID generation that prevented people from joining games.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#26Innovation4.19
#87Mood3.69
#127Overall3.72
#131Fun3.64
#226Humor2.95
#249Audio3.26
#534Theme3.29
#607Graphics3.03

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53am

It sure is about darkness ;P

Nice idea! Music fits weirdly well.

alvarop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56am

This is a really cool idea and it worked well during the stream. It is pretty short, but it's all about having a nice coop experience with other people!

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:03am

Another topnotch game by TobiasW

Wertle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:16am

Well done on creating a networked multiplayer game in 48 hours! I thought this was really a clever way to force people to co-operate and it was intuitive to figure out what the limits were pretty quickly. It gave me fond memories of crystal chronicles :)

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:20am

Wonderful idea for coop.
Was the only person playing at this moment but it was still kind of fun, switching between torch and digging.
I like the theme of torch bearers in dark caves.

ratking says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Awesome idea!

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:33am

Ahh, this is so hard ;O. Anyway, I like it ;p.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Hi there. Not sure how far one person can get, very hardcore to be so feeble can only hold torch about 5 seconds ;) Great graphics and music, as far as I could get...

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:31am

man, that's a really good idea, well executed also! Great job man! :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:35am

Clap clap clap. Played this one with other people from the stream and it was an awesome experience. I like Multiplayer games that does something different and this one is one of them.

The mechanics really force people to team up and coordinate. There are a lot of text that appears on screen but I guess you could say that it adds to the challenge.

Great work!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:35am

awesome game! I love me some MIDI! Teamwork! \o/

Mapboy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:37am

Such an amazing co-operative game for 48 hours. Fun gameplay - I wish there were more!

Lokiman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:11am

You decided to do coop game for LD48!? Crazy, just crazy for such a short time but hell yeah, it worked great! ;)

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:23am

Once again, I'll never understand how people do networked games in 48 hours. Nice co-op concept and mechanics! I was panicking trying to keep that torch going haha

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:59pm

I was alone during my first test but it remains interesting. I had to deal with the torch, mining and bridging, it was some challenge.
I still have to try it with other persons.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Hehe, we won! :D very nicely done!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

This is really fun and well executed! Slightly annoying when someone runs off with the torch, but this engine has a lot of potential.

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:14am

Online multiplayer in 48 hours is quite remarkable. You nicely implemented a simple, but effect method of encouraging cooperation. No one was on when I played, but I'm going to play through tomorrow with my buddy. I could talk about polish, or more variety, or improving graphics, but I I'm guessing you accomplished what you want to with this entry. Well done sir.

Reyn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Sigh, corporate network is blocking the world, so I'll check and rate your game tonight. I think most of the multiplayer games are suffering from the 'no one is there' issue, yours seem to at least be playable alone. How does some sort of ludum dare multiplayer game matchmaking thang sound? Everyone with a multiplayer game calls a web method when there is an available player. Raters then have a central place to try out multiplayer games and find people to play with... or something.

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:23pm

A very strong entry with beautifully minimalist graphics that perfectly fit the game. And the amount of behind-the-scenes sophistication that must exist to make a multiplayer experience possible pushes this from "cool" to "excellent". The only thing I could possibly hope for is sound effects for the various actions.

Oh, and more levels! ;)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:52pm

At first I was like: this is nice... But then someone else joined and then it was super!

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:01am

Had a blast playing with you on stream!

jimmypaulin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:27pm

That was a really interesting experience, I just wish it wasn't a lonely one! Sadly the solo mission was all that was available to me. It was a melancholy kind of feeling, standing there in the dark, the flames of the torch guttering, wondering if my adventure buddy would ever turn up - alas twas not to be and the torch sputtereth it's last ;) Thanks for the memories!

Pavel says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Nice idea

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:13am

There was no one else when I played but it is quite an achievement to create a multiplayer game under 48 hours. Well done!

pansapiens says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:51am

Great fun - didn't get to try multiplayer, but I was able to beat it reasonably easily solo.

Sascha says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Great game idea! Loved the mood and the mechanics of the torch and digging/briding through the world. Finished it solo, but it's obvious how this would be even more fun with multiple persons. Great job, especially getting the complete multiplayer code together in a 48h entry!

JonathanG says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:51pm

This is great! I have no idea who I just played with, but it was a mini adventure full of companionship and sharing the load. It's a good atmosphere too, and the (apparent?) threat of carrying too much and the torch extinguishing is enough to keep it tense!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]